We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks All The Boxes”
Review of New Haven

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Scalpay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
New Haven
Reviewed 8 June 2014

From the moment we pulled up outside New Haven, with its superb views across the water to the harbour, we thought we'd made a good choice. A warm welcome from Mairi and a beautifully appointed and furnished en-suite room reinforced this feeling. The large residents' lounge with its excellent T.V. was a bonus and a carefully prepared full Scottish breakfast was a very satisfying way to start the day. Mairi's kindness in allowing us to festoon the garage with a full range of soaking wet walking gear and her offer to wash (and iron) some clothes for us was greatly appreciated We spent 7 nights and will return to this B & B that we would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for New Haven
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

This was a great find. Mairi so helpful. The rooms are very clean, lovely to stay in. Plenty of room. The cafe in Scalpay is walking distance and the best food. Need to remember to get cash before visiting Island, no card facilities for australian travellers.
I would recommend this B&B to any traveller. Great place to stay to explore both Harris and Lewis.
Thank you very much Mairi
Ali and Dave

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Booked this B&B by accident: had mixed up telephone numbers. What a stroke of luck! This is the finest B&B we have ever visited. Mhari is extremely knowledgeable, very friendly and helpful. The facilities are first class: better than any four star hotel we have visited. The food is first rate. We will certainly be returning in future, It so happens that Scalpay is an excellent location from where to explore the rest of Harris so both the B&B and Island are wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Two couples, 3 Nights B&B in September 2012.

We have finally found a B&B that nearly come up to the best B&B we have ever stayed in (Ingleton). First of all the owners Mairi & Donald are very friendly and cannot do enough for you to make your stay more welcoming. We cannot speak highly enough of making us feel at home and welcome to their modern and very spacious bungalow which appeared to have triple glazing (which was tested one evening there ! !).

It is easy enough to get there, just follow the signs from Tarbet Ferry point to Scalpay (7 miles away), go across the bridge to Scalpay, turn first left and then first right, New Haven is on the left at the bottom of a small hill towards the small Quay. As soon as all of us saw the property, we all said ‘Yesss’ The gardens looked well groomed with a well manicured lawn. The property looks down to the small quay and Loch and across to the village of Scalpay. Mairi was not there when we arrived and Donald came a short time late however they had left adequate provisions to be able to get into the property and to ‘Make ourselves at home’.

As soon as Donald arrived, we all knew we would have a great stay – he was so friendly and welcoming, when Mairi arrived a short time later – she only confirmed our previous assertions were correct. She has a lovely bubbly personality and puts you at ease straight away. She made it plain that we were to make ourselves at home for the three days coming and going as we please in the guest’s part of the property which including a very large sitting room. There is an efficient free Wireless Broadband there.

It is obvious on first arrival that a lot of money and time has been invested in the property, it is spotless throughout and very modern looking without being too pretty if you see what I mean.

The bungalow is a large property with two King sized bed rooms for guests which contained a King Sized bed in each. More than enough cupboard space for everyone who arrives there. Both Bed rooms are en-suite (ours had shower and other had Bath & Shower). More than enough coffee & tea etc were provided for your use. There was a flat screen TV in each. Wife said that the creams and gel in the bathroom were upmarket and very nice!

The sitting room is massive as well which contained a 50” Plasma TV with all the Sky Channels plus Sports, this certainly kept the brother happy. There is a large 3 piece suite which was very comfortable, in fact comfy enough to fall asleep in! ! It also contained a large coffee table to spread out your maps.

Adjacent to the sitting room was the guest’s breakfast room which again welcoming. There is more than enough to eat and drink for breakfast. I do not eat cooked breakfast but was told by the others that it was never greasy. You make your selections the previous evening and what time you required it within reason of course. There is one table in the room and you help yourselves to cereals and juice. I asked one day for the light breakfast of scrambled egg with salmon. Now normally when I ask for this – it usually consists of a muffin or toast with eggs on top and then slivers of salmon on top of them. This is not the case here – all I can say is WOW, what you actually get is toast & scrambled egg with a smoked salmon fillet about 5 inches by 4 inches, I am not kidding here and it was absolutely beautiful to the taste buds, (TIP – do not eat too much cereal before having this). Being Scotland – I asked for porridge one day (without salt), it still seemed salty to me but there again I gave up using salt years ago but it was smooth and ate it all.

As I have said Mairi and Donald were very friendly and so down to earth. It was explained to us that their home was our home for the three days that we were there for. We were not rushed to leave the premises after breakfast at all, not even on the day were left. We all felt at home and totally relaxed.

This is definitely a first class Guest House in a remote place in the Scotland but so worth the trip to get there. It is very good value for what you get. Would we go back there – ‘Without a Shadow of Doubt’

Final thing – the people on Scalpay, Harris and Lewis we met were all very friendly and scenery was astonishing, I never thought that with all the travelling we have done over the last few years would we ever see the ‘Best Beaches’ in the world right on Harris. The place is stunningly beautiful but being the UK as long as you are prepared for the Weather we get here – you will fall not only in love with the Guest House but also the Islands. Oh and we never saw any midges – too windy when we were there in September 2012.

Rhin

Room Tip: For a Bath & Shower grab the front bed room !
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We had a very warm welcome from Mairi and Donald. The room and bed were very comfortable with a glorious view over the bay and harbour. We had use of a very pleasant and comfortable lounge again with the great views. Excellent breakfasts. The setting and the road to Scalpay are wonderful. We hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: Room at the front overlooking the harbour with a large bathroom.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We had to get up very early in the morning to catch the ferry in Tarbert (10-15 minutes from New Haven B & B), but Mairi got up even earlier (at half past 5, i guess) to prepare breakfast! The room & bathroom in this lovely house are very clean and comfortable, with view of the nearby harbour and sea and of a very well-kept garden. Definitively a must on the Isles!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2012_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We spent 3 days in New Haven. Mairi and her husband are very kind and helpful.
We had a very nice and clean room which overlooked the front garden with an exceptional lawn.
The breakfast was very very good. We enjoyed our stay very much,

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silberpfeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to New Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Haven

Address: 15 Ardinashaig, HS4 3XZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Scalpay
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Scalpay
Hotel Class:4 star — New Haven 4*
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing