We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My pleasant bay angels...”
Review of Cabot Trail Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cabot Trail Hostel
1 review
“My pleasant bay angels...”
Reviewed 20 July 2011

I was biking the Cabot Trail and was forced to stop earlier than I planned in Pleasant Bay BC of the wind and rain (and only lasting about 3 hours in it!). I was more than impressed with the warm welcome I received, the clean and quaint hostel and the excellent service provided by Dawn and Pam, my Pleasant Bay angels. It a lovely setting to get to know other travelers, take a warm shower, rest from the road or get good tips on the interesting points of Pleasant Bay and the Cabot Trail. I would recommend this hostel to anyone, and urge people to make a special stop to see how pleasant it is to stay in Pleasant Bay!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LClarkebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    21
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
16
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
east lasning, mi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Traveling Cabot Trail and never stayed at a hostel. Hostel was very nice and clean and easy to find. Pam and Dawn very friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome and at home. Nice experience chatting with other guests. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobEastLasning_Mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2011

The manager and owner are exceptionally friendly and warm towards all guests and ensure everyone is comfortable and enjoy their vacation. They provide great conversations and tips and keep the property clean. It is also easy to make friends with other guests due to cheerful, relaxed atmosphere. Location wise it is great - a quiet and cosy retreat inside the National Park on the Cabot Trail - close to Cheticamp and Ingonish e.g. both east and west sides and to west side trails.

For those who do not sleep too early, stay should be fine. The facility suits all types of budget travelers - Families with kids, friends, couples and lonely planet travelers..

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BudetTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiel, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We spent 1 night at the Cabot Trail hostel and absolutely loved it. Dawn was extremely helpful and instantly made us feel at home. Wouldn't hestitate to come back here again if ever I was to have another opportunity to visit this region. Hostel is clean and fresh and decently priced.

2 traveling Dutchies

Room Tip: any of the private rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Hostel is easy to find. If Dawn is not there, enter living room and phone number posted at desk. She will beam herself in, momentarily. Hostel is very clean and has a choice of baths and kitchens. It is very quiet. There is a nearby path to the beach, although we drove to the harbour. We watched the sunset from the beach, sitting in a driftwood hut built by local kids for their beach parties and bonfires. Wesley's Whale Tour was fabulous. We saw dozens of whales cavorting beside the boat for the duration of the 1 1/2 hour tour. Several hiking trails are close by, although we only walked four of them. Dawn has excellent knowledge of the local area and is eager to point out interesting things to do in the area. The Rusty Anchor restaurant is about 1 km south and has a great menu. There is a small grocery.store in town, but it is a good idea to bring food and drink with you, if you are passing through a larger town before arriving. The Whale Interpretive Centre at the harbour is excellent. We only stayed two days and regret not staying longer; it is a beautiful and interesting place to visit. We will definitely return soon and stay longer. WiFi worked well.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeniorHiker111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Accommodations and management were excellent! Shared great information on the area and extremely accommodating! Wesley's Whale Watching, sunsets at the beach and lobster availability was the best! Excellent hiking trails and fantastic vistas! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ontheroadagain05080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantes, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2011

I stayed at the Cabot Trail hostel as part of a tour organised by Salty Bear Adventures. The room was clean and pleasant and the open spaces in which guests could cook, read and chill out, were fantastic, boasting an eclectic donated library that went from Danielle Steele to Ulysses. As part of a tour group I didn't spend that much time on site, but there's some fantastic activities in the local area and the staff were always friendly and willing to talk; more people ought to come here.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pleasant Bay
22.8 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
0.6 mi away
Highland Breeze Accommodations
0.5 mi away
The Mountain View Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
174 reviews
22.8 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
0.1 mi away
Gulf Breeze
Gulf Breeze
#8 of 8 in Cheticamp
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabot Trail Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabot Trail Hostel

Property: Cabot Trail Hostel
Address: 23349 Cabot Trail, Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia B0E 2P0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Pleasant Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Pleasant Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, Friendly, Budget accommodation on the Cabot Trail, surrounded by the Cape Breton Highlands National Park. The Cabot Trail Hostel is within walking distance of beaches, restaurants, whale tour boats, gift shops and the Whale Interpretive center and is an ideal place to stay while exploring the Cape Breton Highlands and surrounding area. We have both co-ed dorm rooms and private rooms. The hostel is well equipped with two kitchens, a bbq, three bathrooms as well as common areas and two newly built decks. A pleasant peaceful place to stay in Cape Breton. Hope to see you soon!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Cabot Trail Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabot Trail Hostel Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing