We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean cheap hostel with great hosts”
Review of Cabot Trail Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cabot Trail Hostel
Reviewed 22 August 2014

My wife and I recently stayed in the Cabot Trail Hostel and we were really impressed. It is a great value for the money. My wife is very dirt conscious and she was taken aback by how clean the hostel was.
Dawn who runs it is the essence of helpfulness. She gave us insider advice on a number of things that enriched our stay on Cape Breton. She and the owner Dale create a really welcoming atmosphere and they have a lot of little things set up that increase a person's enjoyment of the hostel and help a person get the most out of his or her visit to Cape Breton.

The only people who might be disappointed are people who should not be staying in a hostel in the first place. It is a basic accommodation and not luxury. You also have to share the hostel with the other guests so if you want total privacy this is not for you. However, if you are a down- to- earth person who wants to have a nice safe reasonably priced place to stay and can rough it a bit this is the right place for you.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cobbster49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

Cozy spot, spent two nights there in one of the private rooms. Dinner at the Rusty Anchor up the road a good suggestion. Fiddlin going on everywhere, as this is Celtic country and summer Caelich festivals everywhere. Gorgeous scenery; we made the dive from the causeway all the way to Pleasant Bay, to then chill out and do some hiking. Good spot.

Room Tip: Make reservations, not many options in this area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Great hostel midway on the Cabot Trail. Our host Dawn was the best. We took her advise for dinner at the Rusty Anchor and we weren't disappointed. The co-ed bunk house dorm was comfortable and clean. We would have preferred a private room but all were booked on the day we were there. Next time we will plan earlier and book sooner. Still a great visit to a busy little village

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AlbertaRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is a great place for outdoor loving people who need a affordable place to stay and don't need a fancy place.
The owner is a friendly and welcoming person that shares his experience and even food with his guests. That made our stay even greater and more enjoyable in great cape breton!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felix F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My fiancé and I spent two nights at this hostel. He had stayed before but this was my first hostel experience and I must say it couldn't have been better. The facilities were clean and Shane and Dawn were super friendly and welcoming. We stayed in the bunk house and then, unexpectedly, Shane moved us into the main house in celebration of our engagement - he even picked us fresh flowers for our room!! We will definitely recommend this hostel to anyone travelling on the trail.
Thanks Shane, you went above and beyond to make our stay special. :)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Spotlessly clean, wonderfully congenial and homey atmosphere. Dawn, the manageress is a delight and very helpful in recommending places to see, where to buy groceries and restaurants nearby. The hummingbird feeder on the deck was so interesting - she makes the nectar that attracts multiple ruby-throated hummingbirds at the same time. Will definitely recommend to others and return myself.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank Pal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This cozy little place just radiates warmth and family, which is in no small part thanks to Dawn, who is the heart and soul of the hostel. Super friendly, super helpful and knowledgeable about the region, events, trails, etc. The rooms are spotless as are the bathrooms.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pleasant Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Mountain View Motel & Cottages
0.6 mi away
Highland Breeze Accommodations
0.1 mi away
Gulf Breeze
Gulf Breeze
#6 of 7 in Pleasant Bay
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabot Trail Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabot Trail Hostel

Address: 23349 Cabot Trail, Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia B0E 2P0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Pleasant Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Pleasant Bay
Price Range: £16 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, Friendly, Budget accommodation on the Cabot Trail, surrounded by the Cape Breton Highlands National Park. The Cabot Trail Hostel is within walking distance of beaches, restaurants, whale tour boats, gift shops and the Whale Interpretive center and is an ideal place to stay while exploring the Cape Breton Highlands and surrounding area. We have both co-ed dorm rooms and private rooms. The hostel is well equipped with two kitchens, a bbq, three bathrooms as well as common areas and two newly built decks. A pleasant peaceful place to stay in Cape Breton. Hope to see you soon!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Cabot Trail Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabot Trail Hostel Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing