We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot along the trail!”

Rusty Anchor Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: "Cape Bretons best kept secret"!!! A family friendly restaurant on the World Famous Cabot Trail. Enjoy a wonderful Home cooked meal overlooking the whale filled waters of the Gulf of St Lawrence.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great spot along the trail!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I've been to this restaurant numerous times over the years traveling in Cape Breton. It's one spot that has been great every single time. This most recent trip I had the lobster Roll, which was fabulous. Their roll is simple, the way lobster should be served. A toasted bun with a bit of lettuce and lots of big chunks of fresh lobster and a bit of melted butter poured on top. It was delish! It was served with a generous portion of coleslaw, creamy and tasty. It was $15.00 which is very reasonable for two rolls and slaw. My bf tried 3 types of crab cakes, which he loved. They were served with a home style biscuit. We also tried a seafood dip, I think it was crab. It was okay, nothing to rave about, but nothing to complain about either. I was with a group of 7 and we all loved or food. The restaurant has a great ocean view and a nice patio. The staff have always been very friendly. If you're a fan of iced tea, try it here. It's homemade and it's wonderful.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelPT99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    316
    101
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice place to stop on the road”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The view as nice. I had the lobster roll which was decent. The servers were busy but as attentive as could be. We didn't have high hopes because of the name of this place, but it was enjoyable.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnsonccra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Two different experiences”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We went here two days running and had two different food experiences. Both times the service was friendly and efficient and we felt very we've. The first night we had the lobster and crab special which was just the best. The next night we had Fishcakes which were meant to be fish, crab and salmon. Both of us were disappointed not to be able to identify the difference. The chutney however was great.

Helpful?
Thank djne11026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudsonville, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best place to stop and eat!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Awesome food, awesome atmosphere, and really friendly staff! The fish and chips were the best tasting of our entire 10 day trip to Nova Scotia! It was very busy on a Sunday night but the staff did their best to bring us our meal and fill our drinks well!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank westcoastmichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lobster!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

This was our first meal on the trail and we loved it! Full lobster and a half a crab....soooo delicious. Great value, friendly service, and lobster eating lessons for free :)
This restaurant came highly recommended, for good reason!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rusty Anchor Restaurant also viewed

Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
North Sydney, Cape Breton Island
 
North Sydney, Cape Breton Island
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
 
Pleasant Bay, Cape Breton Island
Mabou, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Rusty Anchor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing