We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, clean room, friendly hosts and great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Poplar B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pleasant Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Poplar B&B
Ranked #1 of 6 Pleasant Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
237 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Nice, clean room, friendly hosts and great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

The Poplar B&B is a nice, clean stay and the owners are real friendly. The washroom was quite small but clean. We headed over to the Rusty Anchor Restaurant where the host worked as a Manager and not only did we enjoy the sunset from the cliff side, the food and service was even more amazing but we also got a discount for being the Manager’s B&B guests! A self-served breakfast included toast, cereals and home-made muffins that were packed for us for the road trip ahead and which were great. I think this would rank as our best value for money stay for the entire trip in the Maritimes. We were glad that we followed the advice of our hosts to do the old coastal loop off the Cabot trail that starts at Effie's Brook and rejoins the Cabot trail after Neils Harbour; it was a beautiful drive.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    22
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
64
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

After a long day on the road, it was wonderful to relax and get comfortable in a well thought out and well stocked BnB.
Was my hubby's first experience at a BnB and it passed (surpassed) the test. Everything you need and want and none of what you don't want. Brian and Elizabeth are great hosts with all the knowledge a traveler needs. Bed is very comfortable and really like that you have your own private bathroom. ;).
Just minutes away from whale watching cruises, the shoreline and whale interpretation centre. The Rusty Anchor restaurant up the hill has wonderful food, service and what a view.
Thanks again Brian and Elizabeth for a great stay.
Debra and John

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnotherCanadian47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakdale, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

My uncle, cousins, and I just stayed for 3 nights at the Poplar B&B and had a very pleasant stay. The place looked new and was extremely well-kept and clean. The couple that own the place are very nice and were helpful to us in suggesting hikes and local destinations. They set up a "continental breakfast" in a small kitchen area with coffee, tea, a water cooler, cold cereal, instant oatmeal, fruit, homemade muffins (awesome!), bread, bagels, and yogurt. We were able to help ourselves to that food whenever we wanted, not just at breakfast time, which was a big plus. They posted a local trail map in their kitchen which was helpful and convenient for us in choosing hikes. They have two small bedrooms with queen-sized beds and a small sitting area in addition to the kitchen. Each bedroom has a bathroom, a small television, and some drawer space and hooks for clothes. It is located close to a few restaurants (the rusty anchor is the best one) as well as whaling boat tours and a few small shops. Overall, it was a pleasant stay and a good value. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you like clean but do not mind small, this is a good bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JENJAB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Elizabeth and Brian have put in so much care and thought into this most comfortable and charming B & B. It is our go-to place on Pleasant Bay! You will find that the property is well-maintained, clean, well-stocked and perfectly located minutes away from the Highlands, the wharf (go there around 6:30-7am and if you're lucky you will see grey seals playing a few feet from the shore!), the whale tour companies, the Whale Interpretive Centre and a short drive from the unbelievable Gampo Abbey. The B & B is right opposite Roberts Mountain so when you look out the window or step out in the morning the view is simply marvelous!

Continental breakfast is complementary :) Lots to choose from.

I'm writing this review after my second trip to Pleasant Bay just last week and I have no doubt in my mind that I will be returning.

Thank you, Elizabeth, Brian. See you again.

Room Tip: There are two rooms side by side and they are great. There is no issue with noise in either of them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazyforquaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfville, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed 2 nights with our friends from France. It was just perfect for us. Extremely clean, nice selection of things for breakfast and the owner was very helpful and curteous. It is located in the perfect place to enjoy the Cabot Trail. We are going back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 701Jerry1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

This was my first B & B, and it's been such a great experience.

The place is super clean, as soon as you walk in, it's got that homey clean laundry smell. The host is super nice and warm. And after a long day's drive, it's a great place to crash.

Great wifi connection, en-suite bathroom & shower. Also the host is super nice and generous. So glad we picked this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreasChowstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Unfortunately we only had one night at the Poplar B&B! We enjoyed our stay: The rooms are clean, and despite being right on the Cabot Trail, there is no traffic at night. The ensuite bathrooms were convenient, and the self-serve breakfast a good start to the day. Pleasant Bay has a nice waterfront and various hiking trails nearby.

Room Tip: I think the back room (right room, view of the poplar) is a bit more quiet during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank VanVicky079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pleasant Bay
22.2 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
14.2 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.7 mi away
Highland Breeze Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Mountain View Motel & Cottages
22.5 mi away
Skyline Cabins
Skyline Cabins
#4 of 7 in Ingonish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
23.1 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Poplar B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poplar B&B

Property: The Poplar B&B
Address: 23606 Cabot Trail Road, Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia B0E 2P0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Pleasant Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Pleasant Bay
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poplar B&B is located on the world famous Cabot Trail in Pleasant Bay, NS, surrounded by the scenic Cape Breton Highlands National Park. We are located only 45 minutes from the town of Cheticamp and only 60 minutes from the town of Ingonish. We have two rooms, The Mountain Sunrise & The Poplar View. Both rooms have their own en-suite baths, queen bed, satellite, TV and DVD player, and free WIFI. Our B&B offers a continental breakfast with your stay and a sitting room to relax during the evenings. We offer a special rate for families or couples traveling together who would like to book both rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Poplar B&B Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing