We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Bay, Pleasant Stay!”
Review of The Poplar B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pleasant Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Poplar B&B
Ranked #1 of 6 Pleasant Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
vancouver
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pleasant Bay, Pleasant Stay!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My Husband and I stayed at this bed and breakfast during our road trip through Cape Breton Island this fall. Situated midway around the Cabot trail, the location is a perfect place to stop and rest. Although the house is located right on the road through town, it is very quiet at night and a good place to catch up on your rest. The bed is very comfortable, and the rooms, although compact, contain all that you need, including a t.v, internet access, and a tiny washroom. Breakfast is included and self-served in a small kitchen area adjoining the two bedrooms. There is also a small living room area where guests can sit and relax. The friendly and pleasant owners live in the back of the home and allow their guests their privacy while checking in on them to make sure that everyone is comfortable. There are two adjoining bedrooms, with very little sound separation between them, so expect to hear the sounds of people up and moving about (mostly in the morning). The house, the decor, the fixtures, and its interior areas are newly renovated and spotless. We enjoyed the homemade muffins, the opportunity to make and serve ourselves breakfast, the pristine cleanliness, and the very interesting reading materials made available in the living room area. An excellent value for the money spent! Definitely a place well worth stopping at if you enjoy a small, homey, cozy, and super clean night on the road.

Room Tip: The back room away from the road might be better if you don't want to hear occasional road sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atigrevlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
65
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is a nice and cozy B&B on the Cabot Trail. The owners are very friendly. They will tell you about where you can eat, and what you can do in the park. Even if the room itself is a little small, we had access to a nice dining and living rooms (which aren't crowded, since there is only 2 bedrooms). The decoration was lovely. There is a good choice of breakfast (with homemade muffins). It is well worth the price we paid to stay there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed here 28th-29th Sept 2013 and found it quiet, clean, welcoming and restful. If you are doing the Cabot Trail it is ideally placed and an excellent stop over point. The landlord knows the area well and can guide you to places of interest, eating stops etc. Also we found it to be good value for money. I would whole heartedly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
237 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The Poplar B&B is a nice, clean stay and the owners are real friendly. The washroom was quite small but clean. We headed over to the Rusty Anchor Restaurant where the host worked as a Manager and not only did we enjoy the sunset from the cliff side, the food and service was even more amazing but we also got a discount for being the Manager’s B&B guests! A self-served breakfast included toast, cereals and home-made muffins that were packed for us for the road trip ahead and which were great. I think this would rank as our best value for money stay for the entire trip in the Maritimes. We were glad that we followed the advice of our hosts to do the old coastal loop off the Cabot trail that starts at Effie's Brook and rejoins the Cabot trail after Neils Harbour; it was a beautiful drive.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

After a long day on the road, it was wonderful to relax and get comfortable in a well thought out and well stocked BnB.
Was my hubby's first experience at a BnB and it passed (surpassed) the test. Everything you need and want and none of what you don't want. Brian and Elizabeth are great hosts with all the knowledge a traveler needs. Bed is very comfortable and really like that you have your own private bathroom. ;).
Just minutes away from whale watching cruises, the shoreline and whale interpretation centre. The Rusty Anchor restaurant up the hill has wonderful food, service and what a view.
Thanks again Brian and Elizabeth for a great stay.
Debra and John

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnotherCanadian47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakdale, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My uncle, cousins, and I just stayed for 3 nights at the Poplar B&B and had a very pleasant stay. The place looked new and was extremely well-kept and clean. The couple that own the place are very nice and were helpful to us in suggesting hikes and local destinations. They set up a "continental breakfast" in a small kitchen area with coffee, tea, a water cooler, cold cereal, instant oatmeal, fruit, homemade muffins (awesome!), bread, bagels, and yogurt. We were able to help ourselves to that food whenever we wanted, not just at breakfast time, which was a big plus. They posted a local trail map in their kitchen which was helpful and convenient for us in choosing hikes. They have two small bedrooms with queen-sized beds and a small sitting area in addition to the kitchen. Each bedroom has a bathroom, a small television, and some drawer space and hooks for clothes. It is located close to a few restaurants (the rusty anchor is the best one) as well as whaling boat tours and a few small shops. Overall, it was a pleasant stay and a good value. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you like clean but do not mind small, this is a good bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JENJAB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Elizabeth and Brian have put in so much care and thought into this most comfortable and charming B & B. It is our go-to place on Pleasant Bay! You will find that the property is well-maintained, clean, well-stocked and perfectly located minutes away from the Highlands, the wharf (go there around 6:30-7am and if you're lucky you will see grey seals playing a few feet from the shore!), the whale tour companies, the Whale Interpretive Centre and a short drive from the unbelievable Gampo Abbey. The B & B is right opposite Roberts Mountain so when you look out the window or step out in the morning the view is simply marvelous!

Continental breakfast is complementary :) Lots to choose from.

I'm writing this review after my second trip to Pleasant Bay just last week and I have no doubt in my mind that I will be returning.

Thank you, Elizabeth, Brian. See you again.

Room Tip: There are two rooms side by side and they are great. There is no issue with noise in either of them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazyforquaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pleasant Bay
22.2 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
14.2 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.5 mi away
Highland Breeze Accommodations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Mountain View Motel & Cottages
22.5 mi away
Skyline Cabins
Skyline Cabins
#4 of 7 in Ingonish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
23.1 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Poplar B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poplar B&B

Property: The Poplar B&B
Address: 23606 Cabot Trail Road, Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia B0E 2P0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Pleasant Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Pleasant Bay
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poplar B&B is located on the world famous Cabot Trail in Pleasant Bay, NS, surrounded by the scenic Cape Breton Highlands National Park. We are located only 45 minutes from the town of Cheticamp and only 60 minutes from the town of Ingonish. We have two rooms, The Mountain Sunrise & The Poplar View. Both rooms have their own en-suite baths, queen bed, satellite, TV and DVD player, and free WIFI. Our B&B offers a continental breakfast with your stay and a sitting room to relax during the evenings. We offer a special rate for families or couples traveling together who would like to book both rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Poplar B&B Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing