We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and helpful owner, Elizabeth”
Review of The Poplar B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pleasant Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Poplar B&B
Ranked #1 of 6 Pleasant Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here in May 2014. The room was small but very nice. It had been well-thought out and had everything we could have wanted. Very quiet. The owner, Elizabeth, suggested several trails and other sights to see on our trip. Would recommend this B&B to others

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

A perfect retreat, home away from home. The small common area with kitchen, table and lounge is perfect. Just like you are at home having morning breakfast planning and getting ready for you day. Elizabeth is an amazing host. She won;t bombard you with information unless you ask. Exactly as we like it. But make sure you ask for the local hot spots. We followed her direction for our drive from Pleasant bay to the east coast and hit a bunch of spots we would never of found.

Visited in June on our whirl wind 13 day east coast adventure. Check out our whole tour here to get an idea of what we are comparing to.
http://pavinski-travel.blogspot.ca/2013_06_01_archive.html

This place is on our come back for a week list.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the personalized tourists information from Elizabeth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pavinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed 4 nights in June 2013 (it seems original review rejected - probably too complimentary!) Elizabeth and Brian were very welcoming, helpful throughout and gave us a lot of information about the area. This facility is excellent in every respect - we could not fault it. It is also situated in a beautiful coastal village set in magnificent countryside. Follow the hosts' recommendation to eat at the Rusty Anchor - superb food and very reasonable pricing. Whale-watching from the harbour (Captain Mark's) was an incredible experience - a lot of close encounters and some fantastic views of the coastline. We enjoyed this stay so much, we really hope to be able to return in the fall of 2014.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cliffedge509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My Husband and I stayed at this bed and breakfast during our road trip through Cape Breton Island this fall. Situated midway around the Cabot trail, the location is a perfect place to stop and rest. Although the house is located right on the road through town, it is very quiet at night and a good place to catch up on your rest. The bed is very comfortable, and the rooms, although compact, contain all that you need, including a t.v, internet access, and a tiny washroom. Breakfast is included and self-served in a small kitchen area adjoining the two bedrooms. There is also a small living room area where guests can sit and relax. The friendly and pleasant owners live in the back of the home and allow their guests their privacy while checking in on them to make sure that everyone is comfortable. There are two adjoining bedrooms, with very little sound separation between them, so expect to hear the sounds of people up and moving about (mostly in the morning). The house, the decor, the fixtures, and its interior areas are newly renovated and spotless. We enjoyed the homemade muffins, the opportunity to make and serve ourselves breakfast, the pristine cleanliness, and the very interesting reading materials made available in the living room area. An excellent value for the money spent! Definitely a place well worth stopping at if you enjoy a small, homey, cozy, and super clean night on the road.

Room Tip: The back room away from the road might be better if you don't want to hear occasional road sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atigrevlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is a nice and cozy B&B on the Cabot Trail. The owners are very friendly. They will tell you about where you can eat, and what you can do in the park. Even if the room itself is a little small, we had access to a nice dining and living rooms (which aren't crowded, since there is only 2 bedrooms). The decoration was lovely. There is a good choice of breakfast (with homemade muffins). It is well worth the price we paid to stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed here 28th-29th Sept 2013 and found it quiet, clean, welcoming and restful. If you are doing the Cabot Trail it is ideally placed and an excellent stop over point. The landlord knows the area well and can guide you to places of interest, eating stops etc. Also we found it to be good value for money. I would whole heartedly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The Poplar B&B is a nice, clean stay and the owners are real friendly. The washroom was quite small but clean. We headed over to the Rusty Anchor Restaurant where the host worked as a Manager and not only did we enjoy the sunset from the cliff side, the food and service was even more amazing but we also got a discount for being the Manager’s B&B guests! A self-served breakfast included toast, cereals and home-made muffins that were packed for us for the road trip ahead and which were great. I think this would rank as our best value for money stay for the entire trip in the Maritimes. We were glad that we followed the advice of our hosts to do the old coastal loop off the Cabot trail that starts at Effie's Brook and rejoins the Cabot trail after Neils Harbour; it was a beautiful drive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pleasant Bay
22.2 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
0.5 mi away
Highland Breeze Accommodations
14.2 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cabot Trail Hostel
Cabot Trail Hostel
#1 of 1 in Pleasant Bay
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mountain View Motel & Cottages
15.7 mi away
Ocean View Motel & Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Poplar B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poplar B&B

Address: 23606 Cabot Trail Road, Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia B0E 2P0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Pleasant Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Pleasant Bay
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poplar B&B is located on the world famous Cabot Trail in Pleasant Bay, NS, surrounded by the scenic Cape Breton Highlands National Park. We are located only 45 minutes from the town of Cheticamp and only 60 minutes from the town of Ingonish. We have two rooms, The Mountain Sunrise & The Poplar View. Both rooms have their own en-suite baths, queen bed, satellite, TV and DVD player, and free WIFI. Our B&B offers a continental breakfast with your stay and a sitting room to relax during the evenings. We offer a special rate for families or couples traveling together who would like to book both rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Poplar B&B Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing