We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Poplar B&B
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Pleasant Bay
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Merry's Motel(Cheticamp)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albert's Motel(Cheticamp)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cheticamp Motel(Cheticamp)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel(Bay St. Lawrence)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
77
26
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
26
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbagelsshared kitchengreat hostsrusty anchorb bcabot trailwhale watchingcape bretonwonderful staysitting roomincluding homemadeexcellent place to staybreakfast optionsstayed one nightthe main houseminute drivethe owner
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We found the Poplar B&B almost by chance. We were doing the Cabot trail and heading to White Point and couldn't find a place to stay there. So we decided to find a place at Pleasant Bay and good thing we did. Elizabeth and Brian are very nice hosts and gave us some good tips on hikes to do. They have two rooms, the one we stayed in was nice, with a queen sized bed and TV, nicely decorated. The bathroom was small but very functional, clean and looking new. The bed was comfortable but was making a bit of noise. Elizabeth told us they would check it out right away, so chances are, it's fixed by now(we only stayed one night).
Breakfast was excellent, self-served in a kitchen-like common area, with beagles, bread, cereal, oatmeal, fruit... Basically everything you might want to have for breakfast.
We would definitely stay there again if we took the Cabot trail again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabeau84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here in May 2014. The room was small but very nice. It had been well-thought out and had everything we could have wanted. Very quiet. The owner, Elizabeth, suggested several trails and other sights to see on our trip. Would recommend this B&B to others

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

A perfect retreat, home away from home. The small common area with kitchen, table and lounge is perfect. Just like you are at home having morning breakfast planning and getting ready for you day. Elizabeth is an amazing host. She won;t bombard you with information unless you ask. Exactly as we like it. But make sure you ask for the local hot spots. We followed her direction for our drive from Pleasant bay to the east coast and hit a bunch of spots we would never of found.

Visited in June on our whirl wind 13 day east coast adventure. Check out our whole tour here to get an idea of what we are comparing to.
http://pavinski-travel.blogspot.ca/2013_06_01_archive.html

This place is on our come back for a week list.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the personalized tourists information from Elizabeth.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pavinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed 4 nights in June 2013 (it seems original review rejected - probably too complimentary!) Elizabeth and Brian were very welcoming, helpful throughout and gave us a lot of information about the area. This facility is excellent in every respect - we could not fault it. It is also situated in a beautiful coastal village set in magnificent countryside. Follow the hosts' recommendation to eat at the Rusty Anchor - superb food and very reasonable pricing. Whale-watching from the harbour (Captain Mark's) was an incredible experience - a lot of close encounters and some fantastic views of the coastline. We enjoyed this stay so much, we really hope to be able to return in the fall of 2014.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cliffedge509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My Husband and I stayed at this bed and breakfast during our road trip through Cape Breton Island this fall. Situated midway around the Cabot trail, the location is a perfect place to stop and rest. Although the house is located right on the road through town, it is very quiet at night and a good place to catch up on your rest. The bed is very comfortable, and the rooms, although compact, contain all that you need, including a t.v, internet access, and a tiny washroom. Breakfast is included and self-served in a small kitchen area adjoining the two bedrooms. There is also a small living room area where guests can sit and relax. The friendly and pleasant owners live in the back of the home and allow their guests their privacy while checking in on them to make sure that everyone is comfortable. There are two adjoining bedrooms, with very little sound separation between them, so expect to hear the sounds of people up and moving about (mostly in the morning). The house, the decor, the fixtures, and its interior areas are newly renovated and spotless. We enjoyed the homemade muffins, the opportunity to make and serve ourselves breakfast, the pristine cleanliness, and the very interesting reading materials made available in the living room area. An excellent value for the money spent! Definitely a place well worth stopping at if you enjoy a small, homey, cozy, and super clean night on the road.

Room Tip: The back room away from the road might be better if you don't want to hear occasional road sounds in the morning.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atigrevlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews