We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Homey”
Review of The Poplar B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pleasant Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Poplar B&B
Ranked #1 of 6 Pleasant Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very Homey”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

A most enjoyable place to stay. Fresh muffins were at the ready, as was fresh fruit and all the breakfast items one could want.

The sitting room had back issues of The Cape Breton Magazine, and this was a lovely added touch.

The whole house sparkles with cleanliness, and Elizabeth was wonderfully welcoming and gave tips on various trails and directed us to the Lone Shieling which was a great spot!.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzzus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
65
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Poplar, and had a wonderful time. The town was lovely, Elizabeth was welcoming, friendly and gave us great directions to an unforgettable cliff side hike. Seriously, this lady knows the hidden gems in the area, take the time to really listen to what she has to say. The room was modern, clean and spacious: everything we needed.
Breakfast is continental and self-serve, get up when you want, food is in the fridge. On our first night/morning we were the only guests and it was fantastic. The second night we were aware of another couple in the next room, and became a little self-conscious. Were we making too much noise (too early) as we prepared our breakfast? Would they want coffee, should we make enough for 4? Were they waiting for us to get out of the way before they came out? Any the end of the day, these were small concerns given the comfort and beauty we experience in Pleasant Bay. We would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank addicted2palm_trees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We found the Poplar B&B almost by chance. We were doing the Cabot trail and heading to White Point and couldn't find a place to stay there. So we decided to find a place at Pleasant Bay and good thing we did. Elizabeth and Brian are very nice hosts and gave us some good tips on hikes to do. They have two rooms, the one we stayed in was nice, with a queen sized bed and TV, nicely decorated. The bathroom was small but very functional, clean and looking new. The bed was comfortable but was making a bit of noise. Elizabeth told us they would check it out right away, so chances are, it's fixed by now(we only stayed one night).
Breakfast was excellent, self-served in a kitchen-like common area, with beagles, bread, cereal, oatmeal, fruit... Basically everything you might want to have for breakfast.
We would definitely stay there again if we took the Cabot trail again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabeau84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here in May 2014. The room was small but very nice. It had been well-thought out and had everything we could have wanted. Very quiet. The owner, Elizabeth, suggested several trails and other sights to see on our trip. Would recommend this B&B to others

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

A perfect retreat, home away from home. The small common area with kitchen, table and lounge is perfect. Just like you are at home having morning breakfast planning and getting ready for you day. Elizabeth is an amazing host. She won;t bombard you with information unless you ask. Exactly as we like it. But make sure you ask for the local hot spots. We followed her direction for our drive from Pleasant bay to the east coast and hit a bunch of spots we would never of found.

Visited in June on our whirl wind 13 day east coast adventure. Check out our whole tour here to get an idea of what we are comparing to.
http://pavinski-travel.blogspot.ca/2013_06_01_archive.html

This place is on our come back for a week list.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the personalized tourists information from Elizabeth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pavinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed 4 nights in June 2013 (it seems original review rejected - probably too complimentary!) Elizabeth and Brian were very welcoming, helpful throughout and gave us a lot of information about the area. This facility is excellent in every respect - we could not fault it. It is also situated in a beautiful coastal village set in magnificent countryside. Follow the hosts' recommendation to eat at the Rusty Anchor - superb food and very reasonable pricing. Whale-watching from the harbour (Captain Mark's) was an incredible experience - a lot of close encounters and some fantastic views of the coastline. We enjoyed this stay so much, we really hope to be able to return in the fall of 2014.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliffedge509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My Husband and I stayed at this bed and breakfast during our road trip through Cape Breton Island this fall. Situated midway around the Cabot trail, the location is a perfect place to stop and rest. Although the house is located right on the road through town, it is very quiet at night and a good place to catch up on your rest. The bed is very comfortable, and the rooms, although compact, contain all that you need, including a t.v, internet access, and a tiny washroom. Breakfast is included and self-served in a small kitchen area adjoining the two bedrooms. There is also a small living room area where guests can sit and relax. The friendly and pleasant owners live in the back of the home and allow their guests their privacy while checking in on them to make sure that everyone is comfortable. There are two adjoining bedrooms, with very little sound separation between them, so expect to hear the sounds of people up and moving about (mostly in the morning). The house, the decor, the fixtures, and its interior areas are newly renovated and spotless. We enjoyed the homemade muffins, the opportunity to make and serve ourselves breakfast, the pristine cleanliness, and the very interesting reading materials made available in the living room area. An excellent value for the money spent! Definitely a place well worth stopping at if you enjoy a small, homey, cozy, and super clean night on the road.

Room Tip: The back room away from the road might be better if you don't want to hear occasional road sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atigrevlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pleasant Bay
22.2 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
14.2 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Highland Breeze Accommodations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Mountain View Motel & Cottages
0.6 mi away
Cabot Trail Hostel
Cabot Trail Hostel
#1 of 1 in Pleasant Bay
79 reviews
22.1 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Poplar B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poplar B&B

Property: The Poplar B&B
Address: 23606 Cabot Trail Road, Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia B0E 2P0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Pleasant Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Pleasant Bay
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poplar B&B is located on the world famous Cabot Trail in Pleasant Bay, NS, surrounded by the scenic Cape Breton Highlands National Park. We are located only 45 minutes from the town of Cheticamp and only 60 minutes from the town of Ingonish. We have two rooms, The Mountain Sunrise & The Poplar View. Both rooms have their own en-suite baths, queen bed, satellite, TV and DVD player, and free WIFI. Our B&B offers a continental breakfast with your stay and a sitting room to relax during the evenings. We offer a special rate for families or couples traveling together who would like to book both rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Poplar B&B Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing