We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Poplar B&B
Nearby Hotels
Cornerstone Motel(Cheticamp)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel(Bay St. Lawrence)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Duck Cove Inn(Margaree Harbour)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
77
26
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
26
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbagelsshared kitchengreat hostsrusty anchorcabot trailwhale watchingcape bretonwonderful staysitting roomincluding homemadeexcellent place to staybreakfast optionsstayed one nightthe main houseminute drivethe ownerair conditioner
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Elizabeth and Brian were really friendly and helpful with information on local resources and Cabot Trail. Clean room with adequate facilities. Breakfast muffins were delicious. Would have no hesitation in staying again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Probably our favourite place to stay in our time in Nova Scotia and sorry we were only there one night. From the outside The Popular B&B looks charming. The room was small and we had to leave some of our stuff in the car but it was clean and perfectly appointed and the bed was very comfortable. The do it yourself breakfast offered everything we wanted and taking it in the communal kitchen gave us the chance to meet the guests in the other room. Elizabeth was the perfect host, very welcoming and with great advice on places to go. In particular she told us when and where to go to be sure of seeing moose and we were rewarded with multiple close quarter sightings. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights in the month of June at Elizabeth and Brian's cosy Poplar B&B. Excellent value. The room with private shower may seem small, but it has all the comfort needed and is very clean and nicely decorated. Self serve breakfast (with the best home made muffin from Elizabeth) may not be a cooked one, but it has all the trimmings, gets one ready to start the day. The sitting room area is such a nice touch.
Elizabeth and Brian know the area very well and will provide all the insider tips.
Will definitely call upon such wonderful hospitality again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

A most enjoyable place to stay. Fresh muffins were at the ready, as was fresh fruit and all the breakfast items one could want.

The sitting room had back issues of The Cape Breton Magazine, and this was a lovely added touch.

The whole house sparkles with cleanliness, and Elizabeth was wonderfully welcoming and gave tips on various trails and directed us to the Lone Shieling which was a great spot!.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buzzus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Poplar, and had a wonderful time. The town was lovely, Elizabeth was welcoming, friendly and gave us great directions to an unforgettable cliff side hike. Seriously, this lady knows the hidden gems in the area, take the time to really listen to what she has to say. The room was modern, clean and spacious: everything we needed.
Breakfast is continental and self-serve, get up when you want, food is in the fridge. On our first night/morning we were the only guests and it was fantastic. The second night we were aware of another couple in the next room, and became a little self-conscious. Were we making too much noise (too early) as we prepared our breakfast? Would they want coffee, should we make enough for 4? Were they waiting for us to get out of the way before they came out? Any the end of the day, these were small concerns given the comfort and beauty we experience in Pleasant Bay. We would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank addicted2palm_trees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews