We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short of average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mountain View Motel & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 6 Pleasant Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 September 2012

This is a motel out of the 60s and it needs updating. The first cottage we were given was not clean - toothpaste on the mirror, bugs and hair on the bathroom floor. There were big chips in the paint on the walls. We asked for another cottage and the second one was clean. However all the mattresses needed to be replaced. The staff was very helpful. This is a case of overdue upgrades that are desperately needed to make this a place you would want to stay in.

Room Tip: The one bedroom cottage was much better than the two bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sensorydeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2012

Quaint hotel,everything we needed for a comfortable stay. It is also in a great location, especially if you are planning on traveling around the Highlands of Northern Cape Breton. The beds were comfortable and the room is big enough for four adults. It also had Wifi (great for teenagers)We ate at the restaurant, I had fish and chips which was very tasty.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MnW123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I've dined at the restaurant a few times. Always good. Hotel is getting old. The mattress most of all. The bathroom was newer and clean.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guicide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We did not stay at the motel but ate in the restaurant. It was surprisingly good. Seafood chowder was excellent. There are not many places to eat in Pleasant Bay. This is a reasonable choice.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank PuslinchGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

This was a no frills motel so no: telephones in the room (pay phone ooutside), shampoo, hairdryers, coffee maker, etc.

It was a rural motel so no cell phone reception (I only got cell phone by using the motels wi-fi), and there will be the occasional beetle or spider in your room.

There is a decent restaurant, satellite TV, and the beds are comfortable.

The heat was not on in the room and it was an unseasonably cold October night when we arrived.

The room cost $60 + taxes.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tshep42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We came across this motel by accident at the end of a long day's travel and spent two nights here. The little restaurant attached to the motel is a gem. We ate Snow Crabs- a dish that requires assistance in working your way through the crab's claws. The assistance was first rate, and we can safely say that this was the best meal we ate in the whole of Nova Scotia!.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jeremy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We stayed two nights at Mountain View. The rooms are basic rooms, nothing fancy, but they are spotless, and you have freshly hung sheets on the bed that smell like the wonderful mountain air.The view of the mountains was beautiful. We were going to go whale watching, but the water was too rough. We ate at the restaurant, breakfast, dinner, and supper. The food is wonderful, lots of it, and very well prepared. The staff is more than willing to help you with anything you need, all you need to do is ask. They were friendly, curtious, and down to earth people. If you are looking for a motel and restaurant for the value for your money, Mountain View is that motel and restaurant. They were recommended to us by my grandfather, who stays there whenever he goes over the trail. So now, I am recommending to anyone who wants a pleasant stay and your belly full to book here, you will be glad you did.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pleasant Bay
36.8 mi away
Margaree Riverview Inn
Margaree Riverview Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Forks
171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Highland Breeze Accommodations
30.8 mi away
Duck Cove Inn
Duck Cove Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Harbour
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
20.4 mi away
Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel
Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel
#1 of 1 in Bay St. Lawrence
152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cabot Trail Hostel
Cabot Trail Hostel
#1 of 1 in Pleasant Bay
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain View Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain View Motel & Cottages

Address: 23659 Cabot Trail Rd, Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia B0E 2PO, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Pleasant Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Pleasant Bay
Price Range: £62 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mountain View Motel & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Mountain View Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountain View Motel & Cottages Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing