We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mountain View Motel & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 7 Pleasant Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 October 2012

My husband and I enjoyed the Cabot Trail this past week (October 2012) and when we exited the park one dark rainy evening we were relieved to find the Mountain View Motel. The staff was friendly, especially the waitresses and the food was tasty and good value, particularly dinner.. We returned to our room after eating to find it still icy cold as the baseboard heaters had not come on during our mealtime as we had expected. My husband walked back (in the rain) to get help from the manager who told him, "it should be working". We agreed with that, but it wasn't.. Also the remotes for the TV did not work and we were getting quite chilled so my husband went again and this time the manager came to have a look, then left again. He returned with a space heater which worked though the handle fell off. The TV remotes were exchanged but still did not work. The manager got one channel for us ,Global Winnipeg :-D) The room was clean and neat though nothing has been new for a very looong time. There was a split down the corner of the plastic shower enclosure (more than two feet long) and the tub caulking was missing in many places and mold visible. I did NOT see bugs and am very glad about that. The bathroom door could not be closed. The wall paper was peeling off in several places.There was no phone or microwave or coffee and the tv was very small and cheap (and the one channel). The internet was not working either. The thin old curtains let the light in from the outside fixture which might be something which would keep some persons awake. The mattresses are soft which is another thing which some people would find negative. We think the manager should have moved us to a room where the heaters worked. He also should have offered us a reduction or perhaps a free breakfast, but nothing at all! I would not recommend this place nor return.

Room Tip: By all means, eat in the "Mountain View" dining room where the service is just great and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ermatihor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2012

This is a motel out of the 60s and it needs updating. The first cottage we were given was not clean - toothpaste on the mirror, bugs and hair on the bathroom floor. There were big chips in the paint on the walls. We asked for another cottage and the second one was clean. However all the mattresses needed to be replaced. The staff was very helpful. This is a case of overdue upgrades that are desperately needed to make this a place you would want to stay in.

Room Tip: The one bedroom cottage was much better than the two bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sensorydeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Quaint hotel,everything we needed for a comfortable stay. It is also in a great location, especially if you are planning on traveling around the Highlands of Northern Cape Breton. The beds were comfortable and the room is big enough for four adults. It also had Wifi (great for teenagers)We ate at the restaurant, I had fish and chips which was very tasty.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MnW123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I've dined at the restaurant a few times. Always good. Hotel is getting old. The mattress most of all. The bathroom was newer and clean.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guicide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We did not stay at the motel but ate in the restaurant. It was surprisingly good. Seafood chowder was excellent. There are not many places to eat in Pleasant Bay. This is a reasonable choice.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank PuslinchGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

This was a no frills motel so no: telephones in the room (pay phone ooutside), shampoo, hairdryers, coffee maker, etc.

It was a rural motel so no cell phone reception (I only got cell phone by using the motels wi-fi), and there will be the occasional beetle or spider in your room.

There is a decent restaurant, satellite TV, and the beds are comfortable.

The heat was not on in the room and it was an unseasonably cold October night when we arrived.

The room cost $60 + taxes.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tshep42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We came across this motel by accident at the end of a long day's travel and spent two nights here. The little restaurant attached to the motel is a gem. We ate Snow Crabs- a dish that requires assistance in working your way through the crab's claws. The assistance was first rate, and we can safely say that this was the best meal we ate in the whole of Nova Scotia!.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jeremy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pleasant Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Highland Breeze Accommodations
0.5 mi away
Cabot Trail Hostel
Cabot Trail Hostel
#1 of 1 in Pleasant Bay
84 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gulf Breeze
Gulf Breeze
#6 of 7 in Pleasant Bay
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain View Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain View Motel & Cottages

Address: 23659 Cabot Trail Rd, Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia B0E 2PO, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Pleasant Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Pleasant Bay
Price Range: £63 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mountain View Motel & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and HostelWorld so you can book your The Mountain View Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountain View Motel & Cottages Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing