We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mountain View Motel & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 6 Pleasant Bay B&B and Inns
Sydney, Canada
1 review
“Spectacular!”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Over the holiday weekend, we took a family drive over the Cabot trail and stayed at this restaurant and motel. The view was amazing! We booked a cabin for the evening And had supper atbhe restaurant. The cabin was a great size, very relaxing and clean. The turkey dinner was delicious and a great price. The service was very friendly and attentive. We were never searching for our server and they were always making sure we had our coffees hot, which is great after a long day of driving. Overall the prices for the rooms and food are really good and the servers are very polite and friendly. I will definitely be recommending it to family amd friends venturing over the trail as well as returning ourselves the next time we are driving through.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missymoo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    24
    37
    17
    13
See reviews for
31
63
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Glasgow, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at the mountain view and had a fantastic experience. The staff were pleasant and knowledgable about the area. The food was fantastic. The view is spectacular. Overall a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmorrell808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Judging by the other reviews, other people had different experiences than my husband and I. We stayed in room 4 and the bed was firm around the edge but sunken in the middle. There is not a phone in the room. If you need anything like ice, you must walk to the restaurant and ask for it. The TV worked sporadically. My first experience of paying in full up front. And check out time of 10 is another first for us. The one positive comment is that it was clean. Just be aware that you are getting a bed and little else. Just check the condition of the bed!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CypressTX10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pleasant Bay hotels

Radolfzell am Bodensee, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

It was difficult to find accomodation in that area so finally we decided to book here. It was nothing more than a average North American Motel: clean, the bed is okay, but don't expect any comfort. I have never experienced that you have to pay for coffee in a Motel. It's location is excellent but if you plan to visit the Western part of the Cabot Trail you could stay in Cheticamp and drive there, it is not to far. Especially if you plan to walk the Skyline trail you have to drive back from that Motel. Finally the price of nearly 100 CDN is to much in comparison to the B&B opportunities.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icepilot19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed at the motel and found it great. The room was big, bed was extremely comfortable....had the best night sleep of the whole vacation. Price was reasonable.

the homemade soup in the restaurant was excellent and the chef salad was perfect. The only complaint I have is that they use the same pot for coffee and tea, so as a tea drinker, you can taste a bit of co fee in the tea. But otherwise - good value for your $$$.

(and as an added bonus - the cook who was wearing the headbands was really cute!!!)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2013

From my first visit to the Mountain View Motel, I was welcomed like family. My room was clean and spacious and my little dog was thirlled with her new domain. Our meals were fresh and home-cooked style. The servers were very knowledgable about the area and were extremely helpful with advice on where to go and what to do based on our preferences. Pleasant Bay was the absolute ideal location to hang our hat while we took day trips and travelled the highlands. One early evening we were able to see 21 moose and a family of bears rolling rocks on the side of the road to eat grubs. Beautiful trails are never far and just a hop skip and a jump down the road from the motel are whale watching tours. I know that when the leaves change colour, this will be the most beautiful place on earth. Already planning my next trip to Pleasant Bay and sharing with anyone who will listen what a wonderful time I had and if ever they get the chance they should go too.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ends of the motel are quieter in the busy season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 365LynnO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I wasn't able to find the restaurant listed for this on the review list, so I will leave a comment here. I did not stay in the motel so I cannot comment on that.

My friend and I ate at this restaurant on our first night in Pleasant Bay. The place was completely empty, so we had no problem getting a table. Our server was quite slow given how empty the restaurant was. I ordered the hot turkey sandwich, and it was very obvious that the veggies were from a can, and the fries were cooked from frozen. The turkey and gravy were good though, and I made my chocolate milk last as long as possible for the high price and paltry amount that was given. My friend ordered the hamburger platter, and she said it was completely tasteless. She only finished it because we were both so hungry after a day of hiking.

We decided to try our luck with dessert when the waitress asked us if we wanted any, so I ordered the chocolate brownie from the list she told us. It wasn't terrible, but it was cold!!

When I got the bill....whoa! The brownie cost $7!! In total I paid almost $30 for my meal and it wasn't worth it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pleasant Bay
22.3 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
14.2 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Highland Breeze Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Skyline Cabins
Skyline Cabins
#4 of 7 in Ingonish
81 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabot Trail Hostel
Cabot Trail Hostel
#1 of 1 in Pleasant Bay
77 reviews
22.2 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain View Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain View Motel & Cottages

Property: The Mountain View Motel & Cottages
Address: 23659 Cabot Trail Rd, Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia B0E 2PO, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Pleasant Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Pleasant Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mountain View Motel & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Mountain View Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountain View Motel & Cottages Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing