We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Quiet, Comfortable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pleasant Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
MidTrail Motel & Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Pleasant Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This is a clean, quiet, comfortable motel at Pleasant Bay, on the northwest perimeter of the Cabot Trail. Our only complaint was it was a little pricey for what we got, however, it was the August tourist season. The motels dining room had some good regional dishes., and the staff were efficient and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thekoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stopped here for a late lunch after going on a whale watching tour. The food was mediocre at best. As noted in another review, the fish & chips had soggy batter. The seafood chowder had a lot of fish, but I actually had to salt it and I don't salt anything! Our kids seemed to enjoy their chicken quesadilla and steak sub, but overall I would not recommend this place - especially if you are looking for seafood. Expected much better. Also, the staff were not friendly at all, didn't even greet us when we walked in and the lady how served us was a bit of a sour puss - so I also agree that the down home hospitality was lacking here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank weistk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Although this is a nice little spot in a beautiful area off a fabulous route (Cabot Trail), our stay was not great. The term "ocean view", which is what we asked for, is not necessarily what one expects. We have a "view", but only from the corner of our room, and/or if we sat on the nice little deck off our room. Don't expect full on panoramic view is what I'm saying. Also, the screen in the sliding door onto the deck was damaged, and so we told the front desk when we checked in to avoid being charged. So it was that we weren't able to use the screen and enjoy the breeze because we didn't want any more of the tiny black flies in our room. The management suggested we try to make the best of it, but I forgot to pack duct tape. She'd also mentioned something about her husband being able to fix it, but he must have had other things, as it was not done. In addition, the rooms are advertised as "fully renovated", and although some probably were, our's was not (maybe if you book the "family" room, you don't get "fully renovated" for fear it won't remain so). The bathroom was, but the decor wasn't, and the springs in our two queen/double beds pretty much squeaked (loudly) if you even breathed. The owner had offered to refund us our money, but given that there are little of any alternatives any where close/convenient, you have no choice but to stay. I recommend that you don't get a room on the main floor of the 2 story part of the motel, unless you enjoy listening to your upstairs neighbor every move. We paid $143 Cdn fyi.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We were generally disappointed with our accommodation at Mid Trail Motel and Inn. The location is stunning, but there is not much to the rooms, even if you pay extra for "ocean view", as we did. For $125, one should not expect luxury accommodation, but this did not seem reasonable for the quality. Our family room had two double beds, a futon and a good sized bathroom. The beds were of fairly poor quality, almost trampoline-like. For the rate, they could have included breakfast to make up for this. We opted for breakfast once, and that was enough.
Although staff were not rude, they could hardly be described as friendly. If you really want to stay in Pleasant Bay, there are not many accommodation choices, but i would have a hard time recommending this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleBeaulieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed in room 4 at the units near the entrance. This particular unit had two new comfortable beds and was fully renovated.... new bathroom, paint and the whole works. The air conditioner worked well, but we were able to sleep with the patio door open as the evening air got cooler.
We went on a whale watch tour with Captain Marks and saw a continuous pod of whales for about 40 minutes right beside our zodiak! If you go on the first or last tour he offers a 30% reduction in the price. The trip was great.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Stayed one night. The room was very clean and well maintained overlooking at a 200 metre distance the liitle port. Ate in their restaurant an excellent lobster at 22$ and some local white wine. A great evening. Next day took Wesleys Whale Watch and saw more whales than I've ever seen in my life. Great stop. Recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulinVence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

The exterior of the Inn can be deceiving as it looks older; however, don't let that fool you! The rooms have been completely renovated with new floors, paint, bathrooms etc. The rooms are very spacious, bright and comfortable. We stayed in the Mountainview portion of the Inn which had a balcony and a beautiful view of the mountains and water. The staff was very friendly and the food in the restaurant was excellent. I would recommend this location to everyone. We plan to return next year and will definatelly make this a destination to stay for at least one night!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoolCanuckChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pleasant Bay
31.1 mi away
Duck Cove Inn
Duck Cove Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Harbour
53 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Mountain View Motel & Cottages
0.1 mi away
Highland Breeze Accommodations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cabot Trail Hostel
Cabot Trail Hostel
#1 of 1 in Pleasant Bay
84 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gulf Breeze
Gulf Breeze
#6 of 7 in Pleasant Bay
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MidTrail Motel & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MidTrail Motel & Inn

Address: 23475 Cabot Trail, Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia B0E 2P0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Pleasant Bay
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Pleasant Bay
Price Range: £50 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in between the mountains of the Cape Breton Highlands National Park and overlooking the sea, Pleasant Bay & the Midtrail showcase some of the best scenery that the Cabot Trail has to offer. All rooms are fully renovated and the restaurant serves a great selection of tasty dishes including Lobster, Mussels, Snow Crab & Scallops as well as a variety of other choices to accommodate most preferences. World class whale watching is just a short walk away and the hill behind the restaurant or the private beach below serve as amazing places to take in the incredible sunsets as they dip into the sea each night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
MidTrail Motel & Inn Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing