We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean and wonderful location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of MidTrail Motel & Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pleasant Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
MidTrail Motel & Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Pleasant Bay B&B and Inns
Pictou, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very clean and wonderful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

This property has an amazing rocky beach! The rooms are clean and comfortable. The food in the little restaurant was also very good. There are not any phones in the rooms but they do have a phone for public use and they also have long distance phone cards you can purchase.
This property has lots of green grass area to walk around and you can also go through the field over to the wharf where the whale watching is done. Very relaxing place to stay.

Room Tip: get an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NSAdventureSeekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    62
    30
    9
    5
See reviews for
33
70
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

The hotel is dated but the rooms are spacious and fairly clean. The shower was a hit after dealing with a low pressure shower earlier in the trip.
We were upgraded to an ocean view family room for the same price as for the mountain view room.
The motel has a restaurant area but we didn’t try it as we only stayed for a night and day.
For a one night it was fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MundoLibre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at five different hotel accommodations while in Nova Scotia and this was my least favorite. The motel is very dated. I think I could feel springs coming through the mattress. The shower didn't even work properly. It was not a comfortable stay. Breakfast is not included so there isn't much choice in pleasant bay. Again for what you I thought it was overpriced

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twigtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baddeck, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful evening at the MidTrail. We live on Cape Breton and decided to head out for an anniversary get-a-way night. We live in Baddeck so we headed to Pleasant Bay since it was half way around the Cabot Trail. With the Doers and Dreamers guide in hand, I liked the photos of the MidTrail. I had driven by many a time, but we had never stayed in Pleasant Bay. So we called along the way and booked a queen bed room on the second floor. The room was spacious and clean. Newly renovated bath room. Nice quaint balcony that looked over the harbour and mountains was an added bonus. The bed was comfy as well. We enjoyed relaxing in the adirondack chairs that are perched on a small knoll overlooking the ocean and watched the setting sun. Although we ate dinner down the road at the Rusty Anchor (wonderful meal) we did eat breakfast the MidTrail. It was standard fare with generous portions at great prices. A fresh fruit offering would have been more to my taste, so I opted for a bagel, however my husband enjoyed a large plate of french toast which he said was delicious. We recommend this motel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam1167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Good experience with this motel. It was quiet, convenient and very spacious for young family. We had everything we needed. Nice views in the motel closest to the road. A fire pit also available for bonfires. Restaurant available for breakfast in morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

This motel was a pleasant surprise, very clean and charming. The location was perfect since it was half way through the Cabot Trail. It was located just up the hill from all the whale watching tours and a close walk to an amazing seafood restaurant, the Rusty Anchor.
The staff at the MidTrail was friendly and the view from the motel is breathtaking. Don't expect to be making phone calls from your cell phone because no one in my group was able to get a signal, but there is wifi. Will definitely stay there again given the opportunity.

Room Tip: ocean view room is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nardia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Driving around Cabot trail the Mid Trail motel offered a convenient place to spend the night. Great location both as a natural place to stop and spend the night at top of trail as well as with a great view of Pleasant bay. Nice little beach and small hill with Adirondack chairs to sit and watch the bay. Room was small and basic, but clean with back door and small patio so we could scope the view. But, the "lobby" and "dinning room" are one and the same with kitchen located behind front desk. While checking in we watched the "cook" in the kitchen which was a mess slopping pale brown gravy onto plates with some sort of meat and white bread. Following the slopping she proceeded to lick spilled gravy off here fingers then handled the plates for service. Would not eat anything in that motel even if nothing else available.
Nice place to stay just eat somewhere else.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank travelrads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pleasant Bay
22.5 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
14.5 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Mountain View Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Skyline Cabins
Skyline Cabins
#4 of 7 in Ingonish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabot Trail Hostel
Cabot Trail Hostel
#1 of 1 in Pleasant Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
22.4 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MidTrail Motel & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MidTrail Motel & Inn

Property: MidTrail Motel & Inn
Address: 23475 Cabot Trail, Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia B0E 2P0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Pleasant Bay
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Pleasant Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in between the mountains of the Cape Breton Highlands National Park and overlooking the sea, Pleasant Bay & the Midtrail showcase some of the best scenery that the Cabot Trail has to offer. All rooms are fully renovated and the restaurant serves a great selection of tasty dishes including Lobster, Mussels, Snow Crab & Scallops as well as a variety of other choices to accommodate most preferences. World class whale watching is just a short walk away and the hill behind the restaurant or the private beach below serve as amazing places to take in the incredible sunsets as they dip into the sea each night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
MidTrail Motel & Inn Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing