We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely Cottage, Nice Host”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Salt

Welcome to Pleasant Bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Pleasant Bay
All Good Things are Down the Red River Road The Old Salt Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Welcome to Pleasant Bay
All Good Things are Down the Red River Road
The Old Salt Cottage
The Old Salt Cottage
Lots of Room in the Living Room
Meals are Easy in the Large Country Kitchen
4 Cozy Bedrooms for Your Family
2 of 4 Cozy Bedrooms for Your Family - This is a Queen Bed
Full Downstairs Bathroom, (Plus Another Half Bath Upstairs Next to the Bedrooms)
Relax on the Covered Front Porch
The View of Robert's Mountain from the Covered Front Porch
The View of Pleasant Bay from Robert's Mountain
Enjoy a Whale Tour
Pilot Whales are Plentiful in Pleasant Bay
Hike the Many Nearby Trails
Shop at Reid's Folk Art Studio
Restock Essentials at the Timmons Store (Get an Ice Cream Too!)
Tour Gampo Abbey  Buddhist Monastery
Sunsets are Spectacular in Pleasant Bay
Beach Comb Red River Beach
Swim at Pleasant Bay Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Pleasant Bay, Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Lei Z
1 review
“lovely Cottage, Nice Host”
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in August 2018

Jeremy and Niki are so warmhearted and considerate. We had three wonderful nights at the lovely and beautiful cottage - BBQ, chatting around the fire and looking up at starry sky... strong recommend this cottage

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2018
Lei,
We are so happy you and your family enjoyed your stay! Kind regards,
Jeremy and Niki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Cla...
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Like a dollhouse!”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in July 2018

I spent three days in this wonderful cottage with my husband, my mom and my brother’s family of four. For seven people, it was perfectly comfortable. The house is not very big, but it is very well furnished, the decoration is simple but lovely, the kitchen well equipped to cook in. Also it is right in the middle of the most beautiful part of the Cabot trail and the Highlands national park. We did some great hikes with the children less than half an hour from the house. We also enjoyed very much the beautiful beach, known only by the locals, that the owners indicated to us along with other fun things to do around the village, like buying fresh lobsters from the fishermen at the wharf. Niki and her husband are great hosts (we met them at the beach) and a truly beautiful couple. I strongly recommend this place for a vacation in Nova Scotia

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2018
Marie-Claude,
It was our pleasure to meet you and your family and we are so glad to hear that you had a great experience-that is what we strive to provide to you and all of our guests! We hope the rest of your summer is filled with joy, and thanks again for choosing to stay with us!
Kind regards,
Jeremy, Niki and Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Lee...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful all the way around!”
Reviewed 1 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Perfect family cottage for exploring Cape Breton Island. Cozy and welcoming. Great whale watching just around the corner. Host family is fantastic; even visited their garden for dinner one night. We honeymooned on the island close to thirty years ago. What a treat to return with our children and explore the special place that is Nova Scotia. Thank you for your warm hospitality. We're already looking forward to our next visit!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2018
Hi Folks

Terribly sorry for the late reply on this-thank you for choosing to send some of your summer vacation at the farmhouse!
We love getting to know our guests and we too very much enjoyed the time we had to get to know each other.Hope you are having a wonderful summer this year!
Kind regards,
Jer, Nik and Kids
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWM_11
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect place in the perfect Location!”
Reviewed 27 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Had a fantastic time in Cape Breton made all the better by staying in this property. It is THE perfect location for exploring all aspects of the National Park and all its trails which we did every day. The property itself has everything we could have asked for and was the perfect place to come back to after a long day out.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2018
We are sorry for the late response, and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay!
Kind regards,
Jeremy,Niki and family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Eve...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very very pleasant stay at Pleasant Bay !”
Reviewed 20 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The Old Salt was a house you could call "home"... We were 4 adults and 3 kids, and everyone had his or her place to relax. The owners are amazing, so helpful and friendly. We had the chance to eat lobster and snow crab bought from the fishermen at the harbour. The National Park all around the house offers many beautiful trails. The beach is very calm, sunsets are wonderful. We felt in love and we hope to visit again !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Lovely cottage and excellent hosts!”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our group of seven stayed at the Old Salt for a week in August and it was wonderful! The location is great - just minutes away from the Cape Breton National Highlands Park, whalewatching tours, beaches, and much more. It is in a quiet area with a view of the green mountains from the porch. The home itself was lovely and quaint, with everything that we needed. It was big enough to fit our large group comfortably.

I would say the best part of staying here were the owners, Niki and Jeremy. They went above and beyond to ensure our stay was pleasant, both before and during our trip. They were responsive, knowledgeable and kind when we were booking the cottage and answered all our questions, gave us great tips on things to do, and provided a detailed welcome package that was very helpful. They even dropped in to make sure things were going well and gave us a lot of great information on things to do! We really appreciated that!

Overall, I would recommend this cottage for the area, the lovely home and most importantly the wonderful hosts! If we were to return to Cape Breton, we'll be sure to stay at the Old Salt again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
Thank you Sepideh to you and your family for choosing to stay with us! We are glad that we could help make your trip to Cape Bretona memorable one and we look forward to your return visit!
Kind regards,
Jeremy and Niki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
graces694
2 reviews
“old salt is an old cottage as the name states.”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

it is an old style cottage, though gear of the house is enough for guest to stay with.
it is close to the pleasant bay, you could walk to the bay and watch the sunset without drive and hike a distance.
we have wonderful snow crabs directly purchase from pleasant bay while crab boat just back. I never taste such fresh crab before.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
Grace we appreciate your business and your feedback. We agree that the Old Salt is a historic home(which has been extensively restored) in the village of Pleasant Bay, and that the character and charm of the home is part of what most of our guests appreciate about their stay. We're sorry that this may not have been something you appreciated about the Old Salt, and again we truly appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards,
Jeremy and Nicole
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing