We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stanley Bridge Country Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stanley Bridge
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed at this resort on our first trip to PEI in early August. The resort is conveniently located very close to Cavendish (10 mins), and not very far from Summerside and Charlettetown either. From the outside, the resort is picturesque, however the rooms, although quite big, are a bit dated. The beds were extremely soft. Other than the pool and hot tub, there isn't much for kids to do, but we spent most of our days away from the hotel. The restaurant at the hotel (Sutherlands) is very good. My wife loved the seafood chowder!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room. Request the family fun package which gives you free tickets to the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NJDFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

I and my brother decided to go to PEI for vacations for 7 days this early August 2013. I was a little iffy about this hotel, because of a relatively low ranking here on Trip Advisor but I decided to give it a try for two days and as it turned out these were my only two days there. Initially, I wanted to book it for five days. First the good things, the hotel is clean, well maintained, you can also rent cottages. It is very close to the historical Avonlea village, PEI National Park and some great local restaurants and eateries, BUT there is an elephant in the room... the problem is their customer service. When we arrived there, the young lady literally asked us what we were looking for in there and told us to sign a document that we are not smokers. Not very friendly, on top of that she did not give us the right information about wi-fi and what page to go to to start using it. Another minor but annoying issue was an old TV with blurry reception and around 20 channels only. Furniture was also old but beautiful enough. It was a quiet resort and beds were very comfortable, yet I simply never managed to feel good in there during my stay. We payed around 280$ for two nights for two people, it is way too expensive for this hotel. The poll and jacuzzi are too small and crowded during the summer season, it is not worth paying extra for this. All in all, this hotel looks great on picture but in practice it is disappointing, again the customer service spoils it. I presume it may be run by a family and that is why people from the tourism industry are not working there. To close this review on a positive side though, the restaurant that is just in front of the hotel has really tasty means. I absolutely adore hamburger with caramelized onions and their amazing oysters. It is not part of the hotel but is just a few meters from it.

Room Tip: Second floor is pretty quiet but you still feel people wandering around outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VictorHawter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My hotel reviews have been always fair as I acknowledge the good service and the quality of the place.
I wrote 2 excellent reviews in 2012 regarding one hotel in Barcelona and another one in Porto.

As we were invited to attend a wedding at Prince Edward Island, we booked a room at Stanley Bridge Country Resort (recommended by the hosts) about 5 weeks before arrival. We were expecting a nice stay based on the reviews posted on Trip Advisor but unfortunately this did not happen.

We arrived at the hotel about 3 hours before the event and were assigned Room 308. When we went to the room, we found that the bed was situated in a confined space between two near walls that is not good for someone having "claustrophopia". We explaind the situation to the receiptionist (i believe she was the front desk manager-no need to mention the name) and asked for another room but she indicated that the hotel was completely booked. We believe that it was true due to the number of guests at the wedding. However, we suggested to switch our room with other guests who have not shown up by that time since guests are not told their room number before arrival but she refused. Her excuse was that differnt guests made different requests but we asked her to change it with a similar description and not trying to change apples with oranges. She could have done but she was not flexible.
Due to the short period before the wedding and there were only a few hotels/motels open at that time in PEI, we had no choice except to stay the night there (she tried to find us another hotel nearby).

After we returned from the wedding reception around 11:30 p.m. we found the toilet was not flushing as the chain was broken. Given that we were tired and were ready to go to bed, we did not ask for someone to fix it but we have to do it manually by inserting our hands in the dirty tank to flush it. Moreover, the room was warm and we decided to turn on the AC but it was quite noisy (too much banging). We prefered to turn it off and sleep in a very uncomfortable atmosphere.

As other guests mentioned, the hotel is outdated but it was not a concern for us as it was a stay for one night only. We were surprised to find no empty glasses in the room. The only good thing at the hotel was the free internet connection that helped me to kill the time when woke up at the middle of the night due to the uncomfortable sleep. The room reasonably clean.

My big disappointment was when we checked out in the morning. When we told the same receptionist our problems with the toilet and the AC, she noted them down in her book but she did not even offer one word of apology. We are puzzled as to why she behalved in as not accommodating and not apologoatic.

The hotel management should provide their staff with workshop on management and communication skills. We stay at hotels very often but have not experienced such poor guest relations.
we will never stay in this place again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank s0ccer2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Having fled a sub-par hotel in Charlottetown, we found Stanley Bridge Country Resort online and had very pleasant one-night stay there. The surroundings were beautiful and the facilities very good. It was a little chilly in the pool although high winds contributed to that. The restaurant was quite nice and the facility staff were pleasant and welcoming. Would recommend this place and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrazenInBarrhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here both in July and then again in late Aug both times we weren't disappointed! Well worth the $$. Five minutes from the Boardwalk in Cavendish. Try the restaurant and be sure to eat outside on the patio if you can! Then later on try the bar and the nice leather chairs by the fireplace

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NSJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Nice large clean room. Nice building in charming, quiet, location. Not far from Cavendish. The staff at the front desk was very kind and wanted our stay to be the best we could have.
We had our breakfast at the adjoining restaurant. Great breakfast, 3 eggs, sausages, ham, toasts, etc. I was good for the day after that ! My only complaint is their coffee was tasteless. It didn't even taste water... I like a strong coffee that taste coffee but it seems to be something rare nowadays in North America.
Next to the resort is a great and beautiful gift shop called Stanley Bridge Studios. Three floors of very nice and various things (craft, arts, clothing, jams, toys, antiques, etc.). The kind and friendly owner has a lot of taste and the shop is spotless clean. It's worth a visit. We ended up buying all our PEI souvenir gifts at this store.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLdesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the cottages for a week and enjoyed our stay. Yes they are older, but clean and well maintained. The cleaning staff were very efficent in bringing clean towels and taking out garbage each day. We really liked the wooden interior and sitting out on the deck. Our friends wedding was during our stay and the gardens were a beautiful setting for their special day.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EricaM15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley Bridge
19.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
12.8 mi away
Brackley Beach North Winds
Brackley Beach North Winds
#1 of 2 in Brackley Beach
189 reviews
22.1 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 24 in Charlottetown
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Shaw's Hotel and Cottages
Shaw's Hotel and Cottages
#2 of 2 in Brackley Beach
109 reviews
17.1 mi away
Loyalist Lakeview Resort Summerside
3.7 mi away
Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Bridge Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Bridge Country Resort

Address: Route 6, Stanley Bridge, Prince Edward Island C0B 1MO, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Stanley Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stanley Bridge
Price Range: £58 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanley Bridge Country Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanley Bridge Country Resort is located only 5 minutes from Cavendish, home of Anne of Green Gables, and centrally located between the cities of Summerside and Charlottetown. You will enjoy spectacular views, a peaceful atmosphere and friendly service when you choose Stanley Bridge Country Resort as your next vacation destination! Surrounded by 12 acres of beautifully landscaped property our property offers 54 accommodations in our hotel, lodge and cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Stanley Bridge Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Bridge Country Hotel Stanley Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing