We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about which room you get! Pay up or book another place.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at the Pier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn at the Pier
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“It's all about which room you get! Pay up or book another place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We loved Inn at the Pier, but you must be aware of this caveat: Be prepared to book one of the (more expensive) suites. We had originally booked a regular queen room. When we walked in I was SO disappointed. It was dark, not updated, facing the traffic from the road, and worst of all smelled really stale. Our experience on PEI would have been completely different had we stayed there. Luckily, there was a queen suite facing the water available, which, of course, was more expensive, but made all the difference. It was roomy, spotless, inviting, and had a private deck overlooking the water. Whew! The wait staff was very friendly and helpful and the food was convenient, good quality, and pretty reasonably priced. They use local vendors for the seafood and it was tasty. We didn't do the water activities. Pretty expensive. I really liked the location which was just far enough away from the circus of Cavendish itself.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite facing the water or prepare to be very disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubbletone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    24
    11
    5
    6
See reviews for
22
50
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Location was good, close enough to everything yet far enough away from most of the tourists. Beds were very comfortable. Rooms were quite large, same with the bathrooms. continental breakfast was decent and FREE! we didnt do any of the water sports as it was too cold, though not sure if $100 an hour is worth it for a ski-doo rental.

Other than a bit of rudeness when attempting to book over the phone (we ended up booking online instead to get a better deal), the staff was friendly and very helpful. they recommended a lobster restaurant in New Glasgow which wound up being one of the highlights of our trip.

Two issues i had:
- The room we booked advertised itself as a 'water view room'. we thought this was great as we could enjoy the sunsets from our room. however, 'water view' in this case meant across the parking lot, across the highway was a small oyster farm pond. when you book a room on the ocean that advertises itself as water view and this was you end up with... well, we felt a little cheated, seemed like they are intentionally misleading you.
- no fridge in the room, though not a big deal, we just found it odd as most hotels now offer this. had to throw up some leftovers from the previous night

Room Tip: if you want ocean view make sure to ask for ocean view, as water view will get you a view of the par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Logan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

Our time at Inn at the Pier was so wonderful. It was the perfect location for our time in the northern shore of the island. We stayed two nights and I would have stayed a whole week if I could have. The staff we hospitable, the food was delicious (both dinner and breakfast), the sunsets are breathtaking, the views are spectacular, the room was spotless and spacious. We enjoyed several dips in the outdoor pool and a soak in the hot tub, so wonderful.

Don't hesitate, there is nothing else better than Inn at the Pier! Perfect location for touring PEI National park, Cavendish, Green Gables, Summerside, etc.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenGroeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Lacked organization! The place looks wonderful, the lady at the front desk was very welcoming but after having booked the sports package a month prior, they weren't ready. Once all settled, the experience was amazing. We tried the 800' parasailing, with the sea-doo rental and kayak rental. It was just unfortunate that it was limited to the bay and that we couldn't venture out.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed her for two nights in a king suite and I would definitely stay again. It was very clean and spacious. Staff were very friendly and breakfast was included with our room. It was a perfect location and close to everything we usually visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryalayna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Perry, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

The lady at the front desk was wonder, very friendly and accommodating, the room was nothing more than any motel room, rate was a bit expensive. Rooms very clean, but basic . The girl at the front desk also cooks the breakfast (found this odd) if you want a hot meal,( basic bacon and eggs only) .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsJudyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn Valley, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Early June 2013 we spent 3 wonderful nights at Inn at the Pier and highly recommend it for adults and for families. It is set on the water, has summer water activities right at their pier, close to Ann of Green Gables venues, close to golf. It is set in the beautiful countryside of the Cavendish recreational area. Beaches ae closeby. There is also a pool at the Inn which we did not use. The owner Dale and his staff were very welcoming and generous with helpful information. They also have a small restaurant at the Inn which was not yet open but we enjoyed a wonderful continental breakfast there every morning looking at the water. Other restaurants are closeby. Our room was well appointed and kept very clean by a friendly housekeeping staff. We would definitely go back!

Room Tip: We had a room which faced the water and really enjoyed the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pennvalley95946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale L, Owner at Inn at the Pier, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
The spring time is a great time to enjoy the beauty of the area as well as some peace and quite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley Bridge
22.3 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
12.8 mi away
Brackley Beach North Winds
Brackley Beach North Winds
#1 of 2 in Brackley Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
3.8 mi away
Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Dalvay by the Sea Hotel
12.7 mi away
Shaw's Hotel and Cottages
Shaw's Hotel and Cottages
#2 of 2 in Brackley Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gables of PEI Resort
The Gables of PEI Resort
#1 of 4 in Stanley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Pier

Property: Inn at the Pier
Address: 9796 Cavendish Rd, Stanley Bridge, Prince Edward Island C0A 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Stanley Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Stanley Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at the Pier 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at The Pier is a locally owned and operated Prince Edward Island destination striving to exceed our guest expectations.Eighteen guest rooms with several bed configurations (doubles,queens and kings)surely we can find a room for you.The DockSide Family Restaurant serves up great home style meals tweaked your way if you like.The Pier water sports offer para sailing, sea-doo rentals and Kayaking, if that's to much activity how about a tip in the heated outdoor pool? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at the Pier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing