We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Class”
Review of The Creggans Inn

The Creggans Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Strachur
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Loch Fyne Dining Room, with its five picture windows overlooking the hotel garden and the loch beyond, is a room of cool elegance. The classic light pistachio walls, hung with fine antique prints, creates the perfect backdrop for the beautifully presented fine dining food created by our award-winning kitchen brigade. Our 2 AA Rosette menus use only the finest seasonal local produce delivered daily into out kitchen where the magic takes place. The freshest seafood, the choicest meats and game are cooked and prepared with imagination and flair for you to savour. In summertime posies of home grown flowers decorate the linen dressed tables. In wintertime the real log fire and candlelit tables create intimacy, even on the busiest nights. The baby grand piano lies open, inviting guests to play.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“1st Class”
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

Just had a fabulous meal in the Creggans last night. Will definitely visit again and reccomend to others

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    72
    33
    28
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fish dishes lovely chips a letdown”
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

visited here on bank holiday Monday mussels,cullen skink,sea bass and haddock all lovely burger lacked seasoning chips poor. If you are serving chips on a menu beats me why you cannot use real potato and make them home made !! Not hard lots of Glesga housewives can manage this simple task,if not take them off the menu. Service very good white wine ropey good sav blanc and pinot g can't be hard to find. Resident dog cute and bill reasonable. With some tweeking could be very good

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggiefoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glen
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely!!”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Had dinner at The Creggans Inn last night with family. I had the courgette and chickpea burger which was very yummy and then I had the dark chocolate tear drop with apricot biscotti for dessert which was gorgeous too. Nice to see good vegetarian options on the menu compared to other places which don't have much choice. Everyone at the table thoroughly enjoyed their meal too. Gill, Linda and Marby looked after us well :-) will be back again, thank you :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EllGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Such a lovely hotel in a beautiful area”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We come to Dunoon regularly for the unspoilt views over the lochs. On going to Loch Fyne, we stopped with relatives from London at 'The Creggans' and had a lovely lunch. The bright dining area was lovely and so was lunch. Would definitely revisit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roberta1330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice place, excellent food - Creggans has it all.”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Staying nearby for Easter, phoned reservation through to Creggans Restaurant. Last booking at 8.30pm? (common for this area), I don't think they know that Mrs Millbrook is normally only at the midway point of the shower / dress / make-up experience by 9pm. Her routine will never be the same now ...shame.
We entered the restaurant via the traditional pub that was packed with 'locals' and visitors, bars like this have long since disappeared where we live. The restaurant was very welcoming and we were greeted and seated in a two table alcove, which had a really warm cosy feeling. Between the 4 of us, we drank white wine, lager and a local beer, not in any order and more than a couple. Very nice.
The 'specials' board drew me to ordering the fish soup starter, Mrs Millbrook the scallops, I thought my soup was the 'find' of the course, it was excellent. Main of Guinea Fowl was without comparison, I really enjoyed it all.
I would not have ordered the 'cheeseboard' had I have know, but it wasn't up to much ...a pity. Special mention the waitress 'Claire', by her own admission, she can talk for Scotland (and many other places I would think), she gave good advice about 'what's hot' and what's not. Thanks. Overall, cannot wait to go back, (but open a wee bit later).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Millbrook_Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Creggans Inn also viewed

Strachur, Argyll and Bute
 
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Creggans Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing