We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very comfortable, deceptively spacious property...”
other travellers have booked this property
The lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The lounge
Main bedroom The side terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
The lounge
Main bedroom
The side terrace
The dining area of the kitchen
Front View
The rear terrace
The lounge 2
Bedroom 2
The snug(living room)
Looking out from the snug over the hills
Our back garden
Falcon range
Front elevation
Lounge newly refurbished
The Hall(splash of of tartan)
The parking area(plenty space for your porsche)
view from the deck over rear garden
the lochside 2miles away
rear garden view down the valley
View from the front garden
our front garden
The lochside 2 miles away.
canoe on the loch
end of another lovely day
Log Burner
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Strachur, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Cathy W
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, deceptively spacious property in quiet yet easily accessable location...”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Spacious with superb furnishings and very comfortable. Loved the balcony which is ideal for sun downers as well as firing up the BBQ. The mosquito eater did a good job of keeping the pests at bay.... Location off the beaten track which forces a change of pace. An easy drive down to picturesque Inver Cottage and Otter Ferry which are both a must... Village shop at Strachur supplies awesome fresh baked bread roles and has reasonable selection of fresh and frozen foods to keep you going. The Lodge seems to be a new property for holiday lets and the owners are very accommodating and very helpful... A lovely holiday cottage which we would really recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The very comformtable furnishings and balcony...
Liked least: Was not made aware of difficult access to the twin room upstairs. Would be impossible for any physically handicap person or dangerous for young children...
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian f
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“outstanding”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I live in the beautiful county of Shropshire, Argyll is equally as beautiful. We had breakfast watching eagles hunting. The scenery was spectacular the lodge was spotless and had everything we required.We enjoyed several long walks and a lovely restaurant a mile down the lane.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Scenery
Liked least: Midges
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LedZep196...
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A beautiful home in stunning Argyllshire”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Strathlachlan lodge with friends and found everything just perfect. The drive (once past Dumbarton) from Glasgow is stunning and shows some of Scotland's scenery at it's best. Passing along the banks of Loch Lomond and up and over the "rest and be thankful" where if you look carefully, you can see Red dear on the mountains. The lodge itself is very large with lots of space inside and out and was spotlessly clean when we arrived. The bedrooms were large and the beds were very comfy. We enjoyed 2 local restaurants during our stay (Creggans & Inver Cottage) but also made use of the large kitchen and dining area and enjoyed some home cooking of our own. Eating breakfast out on the decking with the views along the hillside was so peaceful and relaxing. Being in the heart of Argyll (and the use of a car) you really have a vast choice of areas to visit, including Inveraray and Oban. And for an extended run, with some of the best scenery in the world, the road from Oban to Glencoe via Port Appin is well worth the journey. We are planning our return for next year already and will be looking to stay just that wee bit longer. Thanks again to Mark and his team for a very enjoyable holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having our own cottage in the country
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah c
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A fabulous holiday at a beautiful holiday home!!”
Reviewed 22 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

This is a lovely place to stay - warm, comfortable, beds absolute top quality and the scenery and walks are out of this world.

A lovely big sunny kitchen, top quality cooker - comfy sofas, lovely big log burner - with wood, and even some bikes to borrow if you feel the urge to go for a bike ride.

Magical lochside restaurant within walking distance of the house (Inver Cottage)

Lovely to see hooded crows and wild deer on the mountains and hills behind the house.

A fabulous escape from today's modern and tiresome world.

Hope to return in the future.

Thankyou very very much!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it.
Liked least: coming home!!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fosterlen...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage for a peaceful break.”
Reviewed 4 April 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Strathlachlan Lodge for 7 days with our 2 boys (6 and 9 years). The cottage is lovely, spotless clean and top quality furnishings. I would highly recommend for people looking for a peaceful retreat. For me personally 7 days was too long to be in the 'middle of nowhere' but I knew it's location when I booked it. The owner of the cottage was very helpful and when the sky T.V broke down he sent someone to fix it straight away despite the bad weather (snow) and he also came along with the guy to check everything was ok. The postcode given did not take us directly to the cottage so worth checking this before you set off.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great quality cottage and best beds ever!
Liked least: The location was too remote for me.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard J
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 26 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We found the cottage spacious, clean, well equipped and comfortable, and had a great Christmas there. Arriving to find the lounge had been tastefully decorated for Christmas was an added bonus and very thoughtful.

The cottage is in a hamlet of 5 or 6 dwellings. It is not directly by Loch Fyne but one can easily walk down the road to it. The road is single track and we did not find it to be particularly busy.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris_bak...
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxation, comfort and scenery; all to be had at Strathlachlan Lodge”
Reviewed 12 December 2012 for a stay in October 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Having been one of the first guests to the Lodge in 2010, it was always our intention to return. Nothing from our second visit has altered this view, and we would hope to return within the next two years. The lodge is welcoming, very comfortably furnished, well equipped for those like us who enjoy self catering, relaxing, with a country view to aid the de-stress. For those to whom it is important (like others in our small family group!) the wifi worked well. For those of us who prefered a good book, the warm fire and cosy couch became great end of day friends. Argyll is a magnificent area of Scotland and our Autumn breaks at Strathlachlan Lodge have been precious to family memories.
The added decking area outside the kitchen meant sunny breakfasts whilst the terrace area off the lounge meant g and t's before tea in the late afternoon sunshine - perfect!
Within close proximity there are excellent eating establishments and many areas to explore by foot and car. Bikes provided to borrow stored in the basement. If self catering is prefered it would be advisable to take sufficient provisions as local shops are limited.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of welcome and comfort
Liked least: No cafetiere in 2012!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;