We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Peace and Great Views.”
Review of The Creggans Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Creggans Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strachur
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“First Class Peace and Great Views.”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Myself and my wife had a Voucher we had been given as a Christmas present,we booked it for 23rd and 24th March,we arrived glorious sunny day to be made very welcome at reception,we were taken to our room which a great sea-view and carefully shown where the bar and restaurant and lounges were, we were delighted with our room was very spacious with a large en-suite attached,we had booked the restaurant for evening meal but because there was only two couples for dinner it was being served in the Bistro, we went for dinner and were presented with an excellent menu ,the service was quick and very efficient we could not fault the food or presentation,the bed was the most comfortable that i have slept in a hotel for many a year,breakfast in the morning was superb great choice of cereals and juices there was plenty to chose from on the hot choices we went for full Scottish and we were not disappointed with what we got,in general it is a superb place to stay for a break and we will back for another break..

Room Tip: Ask Sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kovwirana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    118
    40
    13
    8
See reviews for
62
256
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Robertsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

If you have never been to the West of Scotland before, the experience starts with the glorious drive from Glasgow, along Loch Lomond, up and over the Rest -and- be- thankful on to Strachur with spectacular views all the way. To then be welcomed by Hector the dog and his side kick Boo was a lovely introduction to this friendly and comfortable hotel.
The receptionist took me to my beautifully decorated room which had a fantastic view over the Loch.
After taking a shower, and this was with a view of the sun setting over the Loch, I enjoyed a glass of wine in the Mac Phunn bar before having dinner.
There selection for dinner is extensive and I was delighted with my Halibut cooked and presented beautifully.
The following day my breakfast was not disappointing, banana muffins, fresh fruit the choice was wonderful. They really make an effort to please.

i can' t praise the staff and accommodation too highly, and I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Go for a Loch view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hils4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
120 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Unfortunately when we were there, the Scottish heavens were watering our wonderful hillsides to ensure their greenery!
This however did not detract from the location, the welcome, particularly from Hector (Hotel dog!) and of course, the staff.
We had a very comfortable room overlooking Loch Fyne, and just enjoyed the limited view.
We dined that evening in the Bistro attached to the bar. The scallops were outstanding as was the remainder of the meal.
The staff again were just so pleasant and accommodating and it would seem, all Scottish.
Breakfast was very good, three selections of fish on the varied menu, which to me highlights a certain high standard.
Our only regret was staying one night only but hopefully we can revisit.

Room Tip: A loch view, particularly on a sunny day!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Travelling from Glasgow airport to the eastern shore of Loch Fyne, one is spoilt for choice: either the longer overland route along Loch Lomond and over the awesome pass of Rest-and-be-thankful, or the shorter way via the Gourock-Dunoon Ferry and along Glen Eck. Either drive is spectacular and arrival at the destination does not disappoint either. The Creggans Inn is set in a truly scenic spot on the shores of Loch Fyne with sweeping views all around, of the loch and the mountains. Our bedroom was old-fashioned but comfortable and the location very quiet at night. I would say that the biggest attraction was the upstairs residents' lounge which offered even better views than the garden!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerlindR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Drove to Strachur on a day mixed with sunshine & showers which in no way spoiled the scenery as we saw it in all its moods. We arrived at Creggans to a lovely welcome and shown to a beautiful cosy bedroom with outstanding view across the loch. The bedroom had everything anyone could require with a large warm modern ensuite which boasted a large bath and large separate shower. This bathroom was also a room with a view! The Inn had superb accommodation in the way of lounge areas and a cosy friendly little bar with a welcoming fire. Our evening meal was outstanding in presentation, extensive menu and superb service providing lots of fresh seafood dishes. The cullen skink was to die for. At breakfast, which was served in a very smart dining room where we had a table at the window overlooking the loch, we chose lightly smoked Loch Fyne Haddock and poached egg and it was absolutely delicious. We relaxed there for a while after breakfast with a walk to the village before heading northwards on our winter break with the fondest of memories of our stay at the Creggans Inn. Should mention that all the staff, reception, restaurant etc. were fabulous.

Room Tip: Obvioulsy all the front rooms facing the loch are most desirable and don't be put off by the fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raehutchinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Just returned from Creggans Inn, had a lovely overnight stay in a beautiful room, fabulous food, very welcoming and friendly staff, will definitely return, cant rate highly enough and all of this on a voucher.

Room Tip: Room on the top level, under the eaves, quiet and offering excellent views over the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My husband & I + 2 dogs spent a weekend at this lovely hotel on the shores of Loch Fyne, Ayrshire, Scotland.
We had room 22 (or was it 23?) which was a double with views over the loch. The corridor from our room led to a back stair which took us directly to the outside, which was great for the dogs, as we could towel them down there and take them in and out without going through the main hotel.
The residents lounge was lovely, relaxing and comfy, with a view which would be beautiful whatever the weather.
The walking was great and the food quite amazing.
My only disappointment was that the fire in the lounge next to the dining room had been blocked off and there was an awful electric thing in its place. The fire in the residents' lounge was not lit, but this can almost be forgiven as the focal point was the awesome view from the huge window. The restaurant had a log fire, but we didn't really get the benefit from that.
The rooms were lovely and dogs (amazingly) are allowed in all of them apart from the bridal suite.
It was perhaps a little pricey for February.

Room Tip: If you have dogs, ask for a room near to the back stair corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deborah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strachur
3.4 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
14.0 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Inveraray Inn
The Inveraray Inn
#3 of 3 in Inveraray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
12.1 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kilchrenan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
23.5 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Creggans Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Creggans Inn

Property: The Creggans Inn
Address: Strachur House Loch Fyne | Argyll, Strachur PA27 8BX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Strachur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strachur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Creggans Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creggans Inn is an award-winning, family-run hotel and offers the perfect retreat for the discerning guest. Each of our 14 bedrooms has been individually decorated and has its own disinct character, ideal for relaxing and unwinding in. Many of our rooms feature breathtaking views over Loch Fyne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Creggans Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creggans Hotel Strachur
The Creggans Inn Strachur, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing