We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for 1 visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scottish Owl Centre

Scottish Owl Centre
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Whitburn
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good for 1 visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Interesting for an hour or 2 but don't think we will be returning for a while. Once you have seen the owls, had a quick play on the slide etc & seen the owl display there really isn't much of interest for a return visit. Expensive for what it is.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    52
    11
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Very enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Went with 2 teenagers. Very interesting and the flying demonstration was fun and informative. Had my finger nibbled by one owl and near collision with another. Staff clearly dedicated and passionate.

Ate well at the cafe too

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 68deniser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Needs Investment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We visited the centre at the weekend and on first impressions we weren't sure. When entering the centre (which in our opinion is expensive for what it is). The point of course is the birds, and they are stunning but can't help but feel the facilities need a lot of investment for the benefit of the birds.

That said my daughter really enjoyed the general placement of the centre. Parking was difficule but that could be said about anywhere. Overall a good day but can be done and dusted in an hour.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Something for everyone!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We visited the Scottish Owl Centre for the first time on a lovely sunny day. We were met by a very friendly and enthusiastic member of the team on reception which started our visit off really well. After lunch at the fantastic restaurant (lovely cakes!) we went in for the flying display. This was a highlight as Trystan is obviously very dedicated to the owls and is full of interesting information, as well as showing off the owls as being amazing and sometimes amusing birds. There are so many owls to see and the rainforest part was great. The Centre is set in Polkemmet Country Park, so afterwards, there is so much for the whole family, with walks, kids stuff and golf. This place is a real find and we shall certainly be back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank sendmeanowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great family day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

This is a great place to take your family out for a day. In Polkemmet Country Park the added attraction of a kids play park and a golf course make for a great setting. The owl centre had some great owls and the flying display was entertaining and educational at the same time!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevfins13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scottish Owl Centre also viewed

West Calder, West Lothian
 
Linlithgow, West Lothian
 

Been to Scottish Owl Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing