We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandrock Holiday Hostel
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful place!”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I stayed 6 days in malin head, it is a beautiful spot... i felt as being home in the sandrock hostel. Rodney and his wife have been wonderful hosts!! The 2 10 bed dorms are really big and have each 2 bathrooms en suite. one of them gives you the view on the Bay.i loved to fall asleep while listening to the waves.
The big Kitchen has everything you need and you'll love the living room with its view on the Ocean while sitting in the cosy armchairs and couches. You don't want to go home anymore ;)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
10
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The location is excellent. The hosts were great. My family of three (9 year old) had a private, cozy room (bunk bed: one up, two down, and private bathroom) which was clean and well-provided for. The common room has a killer view and the kitchen is nice. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JA_PRUFR0CK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Rodney en Margaret the owners of this hostel are the best hostesses you can imagine. Not only friendly or hospitable. They give you the feeling to be at home. Rodney takes at least half an hour to informe you about everything you can do in the neighbourhood. He informes you about the aggressive bull or the biting Shetland ponies you will find on your way. He has this printed map he is already using for twenty years and he is pointing down and describing everything on this map. The hostel has two dormetories and one private room.
The hostel itself is clean, welldecorated and has a big kitchen where you can cook your own meal viewing the see and meeting other friendly guests.
The view is overwhelming and dramatic. The see in front of you gives you the possibility to see basker sharks, killer wales and of course dolphins. Sandrock hostel is on the most northerly point of Ireland and when you visit it you will never forget you have being there.
Take your change on this unforgettable experience for only € 12 a night. We recommend this hostel to everyone that is looking for the once in a lifetime experience.

Donegal, the region, where the hostel is situated, is a perfect region for people that are looking for the real Irish feeling. The pubs with the singing Irish people and dramatic scenery.

Sandrock hostel, you don't know what you have missed until you open the door to Rodney's and Margarets place.

Room Tip: There is only a little to pick. There is nothing for Meditarian boatcruisers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

As you descend the slope to this hostel, the view just gets better and better. Finally, you can't believe that you will be staying in such a stunning location where you can eat outside and take full advantage of the view. The hostel itself is well-appointed with a wealth of information and excellent walk suggestions, which the owner will run through for you as if by rote (he has obviously done this hundreds of times before). I can't recommend the walk round Malin Head highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed here for one night, but within hours of arriving my fiancée was asking if we can come back again soon. The owners were wonderful and the hostel itself is one of the most charming we've ever stayed in - the kitchen is well-stocked, there's a wood-burning stove in the living room, the view from the sofa is unbeatable, and the walls are covered in all sorts of great photos, newspaper clippings, maps, etc. We had a great time seeing the sights, collecting stones at the raised beach (my fiancée is a jeweler and should be putting them to great use!), drinking and meeting the locals at the great nearby pubs, and having to borrow cash from our friends to buy all we could possibly carry home from the Curiosity Shop (which had some of the porcelain liquor decanters we'd been unsuccessfully searching for in antique shops literally all over Ireland, among a lot of other great finds). Rodney made sure that all of it went smoothly by providing us with a hand-drawn map and directions to everything there is to do in the area as soon as we arrived.

We will certainly be returning in the summer for some scuba diving sometime soon, and we'll be staying at Sandrock again when we do.

Room Tip: The dorm next to the common area has a great view of the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Sandrock is quite simply my favourite place in the world. I've been there 4 or 5 times in the last 8 years and every time I leave I can't wait to return. The place itself, the location, Rodney, Margaret & Katie the dog are just brilliant.
The cosy living room with the wood-fired stove is a great place to hang out, cook, socialise or read all the local newspaper clippings on the walls. The chairs in the bay window overlooking the ocean are my favourite spot to write. There are two large dorms with 5 bunk beds and bathroom each and outdoor tables for those sunny days. (Malin Head is often the sunniest place in Ireland!)
Sandrock is located right by the ocean and within walking distance of a few pubs, supermarket and the quirky Curiosity Shop. You'll find a range of great walks and all the peace and quiet you can wish for. (Rodney will tell you about the highlights while Margaret makes you a cuppa upon arrival.)
There's not one fault with this hostel - every time I stayed I felt so at home I didn't want to leave (and I have postponed flights before to stay longer).
I've been around a bit but have never found a place that comes close to this. I'll definitely be back, even though I live in NZ now.
Thanks to Rodney and Margaret for some unforgettable stays!

Room Tip: If you like an ocean view, ask for a bed in the dorm next to the living room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoAsTheLocalsDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

During my travel through Ireland with my boyfriend I slept two nights at the Sandrock Hostel in Malin Head!
We were on the way by bus and had problems to get from Buncrana to Malin Head, because it was weekend and the buses came irregular. I rang the Hostel and Rodney helped me to find a way to get to Malin Head at the same day!
The Hosts are VERY (!) helpful and nice and you can see that the interior of the Hostel is decorated heartly! Everything is clean there and the view of the sitting room is stunning!

Malin Head was the last point of our journey and we will definately come back. When we left the Hostel we were quite sad that we had no more time to stay there.

We are still very exited of our stay there because it was, as we think, the best organized Hostel on our whole (!) tour through Ireland!

Thumb up!! See you next time! :)

Cheers,

Andrea (and Ulf)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waschbaerpfote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malin Head
16.7 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
876 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
6.0 mi away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Malin Hotel
Malin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malin
205 reviews
9.2 mi away
McGrory's Hotel
McGrory's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Culdaff
186 reviews
1.4 mi away
Malin Head View B&B
Malin Head View B&B
#3 of 3 in Malin Head
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandrock Holiday Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandrock Holiday Hostel

Property: Sandrock Holiday Hostel
Address: Port Ronan Pier, Malin Head, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Malin Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Malin Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandrock Holiday Hostel is situated at 'Ireland's Most Northerly Point' in Malin Head Donegal above the small fishing pier at Port Ronan. From within the hostel there are ever changing breathtaking spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean [White Strand Bay], the headlands of Inishowen and Fanad Peninsulas and the Highlands of Donegal. These ever changing seascapes and landscapes including spectacular sunsets/sunrises at Malin Head are especially very popular with photographers and artists. The hostel at Malin Head is at a premier scenic rural location, which is a perfect base for touring, walking or cycling. Descriptive circular routes in various languages are available at the hostel. These routes highlight the local points of interest and facilities including: where to collect semi-precious stones, places of historical interest; where to buy or catch local fish including salmon [when in season] lobsters, crabs, mussels and oysters which can all be cooked in the hostel; where to view dolphins, seals and whales; and where to locate rare birds including the corncrakes, all sea birds and various birds of prey. Malin Head has also become extremely popular with divers interested in the numerous wrecks submerged just off the coast because of the unique good visibility underwater here. [Often referred to in diving magazines]. In very recent times they have located long lost wrecks. Also more and more surfers are using Malin Head. This is an unhurried hassle free area, with a welcoming friendly community with bars and shops that do not close until 1am. Bar food and restaurants. Other facilities at hostel include: Cycle hire - at special rates for guests! Musical instruments for loan to hostel guests. Nearby there is horse riding available and a unique Famine Farm attraction. Eating out and socialising in bars is considerably cheaper than in urban areas and local characters, many of whom are storytellers and/or musicians, are just waiting to meet our guests. Free WIFI access available for guests In common with other tourist hostels we provide quality budget holiday accommodation. We can accommodate up to 20 guests in two comfortable en-suite dormitories. Each dormitory has large bunk beds [duvets and pillows are provided] two showers, two wash hand basins and a toilet. There is an additional toilet, shower and wash hand basin for persons with limited mobility. There is a double self-catering kitchen equipped with utensils, hobs, microwave ovens, sinks etc and a solid fuel range with an additional oven and cooking facilities. Utensils and instructions are available for cooking locally caught fish [salmon when in season] lobsters, crabs, mussels and oysters! There are spectacular views available from a comfortable dining and lounge area, shared by all guests. A private car park and cycle shed is available for guests. Cycle hire is also available - at hostel - at special rates for guests! We are Tourist Board Approved and are members of IHH and IHO [Hostel organisations]. We welcome any enquiries and will give advice on other local accommodation [if ours is not suitable] and the daily transport facilities to Malin Head from places like Dublin, Belfast, Letterkenny and Derry. Directions: Long Distance Bus Services: If coming direct to Sandrock Holiday Hostel from Dublin or Galway get the DERRY bus'. Derry has local services to Inishowen.Mondays to Fridays there are bus services, by request thro hostel, to Sandrock Holiday Hostel. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing