We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel, amazing location, friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandrock Holiday Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandrock Holiday Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Cookstown, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hostel, amazing location, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

The hostel is great, the owners Rodney and Margaret are really helpful and friendly, good with communication before the stay. The location is fantastic, isolated and beautiful, the view from the living room is great. Cosy space, fire in the living room, plenty of comfortable chairs, great kitchen set up. The dorms are clean and tidy, comfortable beds, good bathroom facilities. There's a wee en-suite private room which sleeps 3 if you don't fancy a dorm. Really enjoyed our stay there, I would recommend it to anyone and everyone and I will def be back!

Room Tip: The dorm at the front has got views of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
10
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bohemia, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Sandrock Hostel is a beautiful place to stay, the area is stunning, owners are most helpful and welcoming. After a night there me and my friend decided to add another one, we love the place and definitely want to come back again. I recomend it to anybody, it is a great place to relax or go for walks, there are beautiful beaches near by, sea views, etc. 100% excellent!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TerezaNici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We had an excellent time in the Sandrock Hostel. The Owners couldn't of being any more helpful. There was 20 of us in total and everybody was very happy. The location also was great with a pier right beside the Hostel, perfect for launching boats. We'll be back again next year hopefully

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ucdscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

What can I say but this is the best hostel on the planet and I've stayed in many. The location is amazing, it's spotless. The stuff are friendly and so helpful. You get a nice cuppa when you arrive and Rodney gets out the book and goes through everything to do in the area. I would 1000000% recommend this place.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Carmel123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saint-nazaire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

I regret only one thing: that we had only booked to nights and had to leave! The location is stunning with amazing views from the dining room and some of the rooms. We were supposed to stay in a private room but there was a mix-up in the reservation and the owner gave us the entire dorm at our private disposal instead with two bathrooms! It's a very peaceful and quiet place. The owner gives you a lot of valuable information and tips about the area and lends you musical instruments. There is a particularly nice atmosphere in this hostel and we enjoyed a great evening there with a Dutch musician. Hope to be able to come back soon. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne-sophie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

I stayed 6 days in malin head, it is a beautiful spot... i felt as being home in the sandrock hostel. Rodney and his wife have been wonderful hosts!! The 2 10 bed dorms are really big and have each 2 bathrooms en suite. one of them gives you the view on the Bay.i loved to fall asleep while listening to the waves.
The big Kitchen has everything you need and you'll love the living room with its view on the Ocean while sitting in the cosy armchairs and couches. You don't want to go home anymore ;)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

The location is excellent. The hosts were great. My family of three (9 year old) had a private, cozy room (bunk bed: one up, two down, and private bathroom) which was clean and well-provided for. The common room has a killer view and the kitchen is nice. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JA_PRUFR0CK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malin Head
5.8 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
6.0 mi away
Malin Hotel
Malin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
9.2 mi away
McGrory's Hotel
McGrory's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Culdaff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
16.7 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 5 in Buncrana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ballyliffin Hotel
Ballyliffin Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ballyliffin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandrock Holiday Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandrock Holiday Hostel

Property: Sandrock Holiday Hostel
Address: Port Ronan Pier, Malin Head, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Malin Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Malin Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandrock Holiday Hostel is situated at 'Ireland's Most Northerly Point' in Malin Head Donegal above the small fishing pier at Port Ronan. From within the hostel there are ever changing breathtaking spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean [White Strand Bay], the headlands of Inishowen and Fanad Peninsulas and the Highlands of Donegal. These ever changing seascapes and landscapes including spectacular sunsets/sunrises at Malin Head are especially very popular with photographers and artists. The hostel at Malin Head is at a premier scenic rural location, which is a perfect base for touring, walking or cycling. Descriptive circular routes in various languages are available at the hostel. These routes highlight the local points of interest and facilities including: where to collect semi-precious stones, places of historical interest; where to buy or catch local fish including salmon [when in season] lobsters, crabs, mussels and oysters which can all be cooked in the hostel; where to view dolphins, seals and whales; and where to locate rare birds including the corncrakes, all sea birds and various birds of prey. Malin Head has also become extremely popular with divers interested in the numerous wrecks submerged just off the coast because of the unique good visibility underwater here. [Often referred to in diving magazines]. In very recent times they have located long lost wrecks. Also more and more surfers are using Malin Head. This is an unhurried hassle free area, with a welcoming friendly community with bars and shops that do not close until 1am. Bar food and restaurants. Other facilities at hostel include: Cycle hire - at special rates for guests! Musical instruments for loan to hostel guests. Nearby there is horse riding available and a unique Famine Farm attraction. Eating out and socialising in bars is considerably cheaper than in urban areas and local characters, many of whom are storytellers and/or musicians, are just waiting to meet our guests. Free WIFI access available for guests In common with other tourist hostels we provide quality budget holiday accommodation. We can accommodate up to 20 guests in two comfortable en-suite dormitories. Each dormitory has large bunk beds [duvets and pillows are provided] two showers, two wash hand basins and a toilet. There is an additional toilet, shower and wash hand basin for persons with limited mobility. There is a double self-catering kitchen equipped with utensils, hobs, microwave ovens, sinks etc and a solid fuel range with an additional oven and cooking facilities. Utensils and instructions are available for cooking locally caught fish [salmon when in season] lobsters, crabs, mussels and oysters! There are spectacular views available from a comfortable dining and lounge area, shared by all guests. A private car park and cycle shed is available for guests. Cycle hire is also available - at hostel - at special rates for guests! We are Tourist Board Approved and are members of IHH and IHO [Hostel organisations]. We welcome any enquiries and will give advice on other local accommodation [if ours is not suitable] and the daily transport facilities to Malin Head from places like Dublin, Belfast, Letterkenny and Derry. Directions: Long Distance Bus Services: If coming direct to Sandrock Holiday Hostel from Dublin or Galway get the DERRY bus'. Derry has local services to Inishowen.Mondays to Fridays there are bus services, by request thro hostel, to Sandrock Holiday Hostel. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing