We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best food i have ever tasted”

The Coach House By Michael Caines
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Kentisbury
Price range: US$45 - US$58
Cuisines: British, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Michael Caines restaurant, The Coach House by Michael Caines is a culinary experience that will change the way you think about restaurant dining. Located in the majestically landscaped grounds of the Kentisbury Grange Hotel, and surrounded by gently rolling fields, The Coach House by Michael Caines - awarded two AA Rosettes in 2013 - is a masterpiece of contemporary rustic design and innovative yet classic cuisine. This 17th century former coaching house, now a Michael Caines restaurant, boasts a stunning walnut and marble bar as its centrepiece with a glass balustrade oak staircase and handmade artisan furniture helping to complete this elegantly stylish space. The main 50 cover restaurant and bar downstairs has views of the chefs at work lending an element of gastro theatre to the proceedings, whilst upstairs the sumptuous lounge is the perfect setting for pre dinner cocktails or post dinner coffee.
Willand, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply the best food i have ever tasted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

From the moment we drove through the gates at Kentisbury Grange to get to The Coach House Restaurant we knew there was something special about the place. You drive through beautiful grounds, with lodges spread around as you make your way up to the restaurant.
The staff were very welcoming and it was nice to hear that a lot of the food was locally sourced..........this became apparent as we had our meal. My wife and i both had 3 x courses and i can honestly say that every dish was faultless. Presented beautifully, the staff were outstanding and if you can find a better meal than this.......i would like to know where it is.!!
It goes without saying that i will be returning to The Coach House, excellent experience......you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 905MartinL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at The Coach House By Michael Caines, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Hi 905MartinL,
What a fantastic review - thank you for your kind words! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience at the Coach House so much. We strive to be welcoming, professional and provide excellent food. To hear that you found every dish faultless is great news and certainly what we hope for. We very much look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    45
    16
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Visited restaurant as part of business trip and stay in Hotel. The restaurant is beautifully decorated. The service was superb and the food even better!! I would thoroughly recommend!!

Helpful?
Thank Javid56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at The Coach House By Michael Caines, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Hi Javid56,
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Kentisbury Grange and dinner at The Coach House Restaurant. We are delighted to hear that you found the service to be superb and enjoyed the food so much. We hope you have another business trip to the area and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable FOOD,SERVICE,SURROUNDINGS 12 out of 10!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

As someone who enjoys cooking a lot I wanted to take my long suffering wife for a 'Special Meal' in our area. I'd heard the Restaurant was good,but HEY, this is better than good.

We now need to celebrate the birth of our Grand Daughter so where do you think we're going, yes its special, so its the Grange

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at The Coach House By Michael Caines, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
HI Michael,
We are delighted to hear that your wife enjoyed her special meal!! Looking forward to your next visit - congratulations on the birth of your Grand Daughter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“visit to Kentisbury”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We went to this restaurant as one of my brothers had very much enjoyed a lunch there.
The food was delicious but we waited and waited and waited ... for it. Apparently some sort of 'incident' (never explained) in the kitchen caused the delay.

We did feel that despite the good food we should have had some sort of acknowledgement of the delay - a drink, free pudding, something off the bill ? This restaurant is way out in the country and we had to take a long and expensive taxi ride there and back to get there, and kept our taxi waiting for the return journey so incurred extra costs, so do feel they need to up their customer awareness/experience ...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rneale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at The Coach House By Michael Caines, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hi rneale,
Many thanks for taking the time to review your experience with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal but are sorry that you felt the wait was too long. The staff would have been more than happy to arrange your return taxi home for you when you had finished your meal, which would have prevented your taxi waiting and any extra costs. We hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, North Devon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best restaurant for miles!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Our 2nd visit here and once again the food and service has been superb. My wife, brother and sister in law and I went here for lunch and had their 3 courses for £20 which is incredible value. I had the celeriac soup to start, pork main and almond sponge with rhubarb and ginger sorbet to end. Others in the group had ham Hock terrine to start and beet root risotto, and cod dishes for their mains. Everyone else had clean plates and a smile on their face and were thoroughly impressed! The Marlbrough Sav Blanc was absolutely delicious too.
The decor and ambience here is wonderful and I can not recommend it enough! A North Devon treasure for sure!

Helpful?
Thank ab3b4y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at The Coach House By Michael Caines, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hi ab3b4y,
We are delighted to hear that your second meal with us was as good as the first and that you found lunch with us to be good value for money. We love clean plates and smiling faces! We look forward to your third visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coach House By Michael Caines also viewed

Challacombe, Exmoor National Park
 
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
Kentisbury, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Wootton Courtenay, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Coach House By Michael Caines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing