We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Coach House By Michael Caines

The Coach House By Michael Caines
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Kentisbury
Price range: US$44 - US$56
Cuisines: British, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Michael Caines restaurant, The Coach House by Michael Caines is a culinary experience that will change the way you think about restaurant dining. Located in the majestically landscaped grounds of the Kentisbury Grange Hotel, and surrounded by gently rolling fields, The Coach House by Michael Caines - awarded two AA Rosettes in 2013 - is a masterpiece of contemporary rustic design and innovative yet classic cuisine. This 17th century former coaching house, now a Michael Caines restaurant, boasts a stunning walnut and marble bar as its centrepiece with a glass balustrade oak staircase and handmade artisan furniture helping to complete this elegantly stylish space. The main 50 cover restaurant and bar downstairs has views of the chefs at work lending an element of gastro theatre to the proceedings, whilst upstairs the sumptuous lounge is the perfect setting for pre dinner cocktails or post dinner coffee.
Devon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Superb Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was our first visit and it had come highly recommended. We had been told it was special and we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. On arrival we requested a Kir Royale which was served on the garden terrace as it was a beautiful summer evening. The staff brought the menus and wine list and we ordered and then enjoyed an exquisite three course meal. The food was perfection and the atmosphere was first class with just the right sound of background music.
There were two minor criticisms. Firstly, the waitress taking our order had no idea about the fish dishes on offer and had to ask advice from a colleague. It would have been more professional if the chef had given them a pep talk beforehand. Secondly, the waiting staff did not know who had ordered what when it was produced at our table, surely not that difficult when there was only the two of us.
However, we thoroughly enjoyed our evening and will most certainly return and recommend the CH to our friends.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alsaldevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjeev L, General Manager at The Coach House By Michael Caines, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hello alsaldevon,
What a lovely review! We very much enjoyed hearing about how you spent your wedding anniversary and are glad you could enjoy a summer evening on the terrace. Our chef will be very happy to hear that you found his food to be exquisite. At The Coach House our menu changes daily depending upon whatever produce can be freshly sourced, which is perhaps why your waitress was unsure which fish we had available. We also have some new staff working with us that we are training at the moment. However we appreciate the comment and will ensure the chef discusses with the team ahead of service.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    45
    16
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North devon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food, Great Atmosphere & Beautiful Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at The Kentisbury Grange Hotel for the night and took a three course meal at the restaurant as part of our packaged stay.
We are local to the Hotel and so this was a special treat.

Upon arrival in the restaurant we were immediately greeted and shown to our table. The décor is beautiful and very tastefully styled. We were given a booth style table which was comfortable and spacious, affording us a good view of the restaurant and outside.
Our drinks order was promptly taken and we were left to browse the menu.

Our order was taken shortly after when our drinks arrived.
The starters arrived very promptly and were delicious. We both polished off every last morsel.
We did not have to wait too long for the mains, the staff were very attentive to our progress with both drinks and food so empty glasses were removed/refilled without delay and each course arrived with just the right amount of time in between.

The main course was easily the best meal I have ever had and every aspect of it was perfectly executed. Each and every ingredient had its own treatment and nothing was mediocre. Even the humble carrot, which I am not normally a fan of, had a fantastic new flavour and style for me.

Our dessert was in keeping with the rest of the meal so far and took puddings to a new level. Well balanced and beautifully presented.
I would also recommend trying a cocktail or two if you are that way inclined. I had an Appletini......then another........and another - very nice.

The menu offers great value given the obvious work and preparation that goes into every dish. Perhaps £15-£20 for a main, which isn't really far off a pubs top price dish so it shouldn't cost a fortune to treat yourself here.

We also had breakfast in The Coach House and again, all was sublime. My one and only (minor) gripe comes here. Don't call it "Devon Sausages" on the menu and then only serve me one sausage. In fact, in my opinion a Full-English breakfast is a rare treat and should have two of everything for the more burly gentleman. Or at least the option of regular and large cooked breakfast.

My wife and I both enjoyed every aspect of a dining experience at The Coach House and would highly recommend it to anyone that enjoys good food prepared by passionate and talented chefs, served by friendly and attentive hosts.
It is certainly refreshing to see a local restaurant upping the game and diversifying into quality "posh nosh" and a dining experience rather than serving the same pub grub as just about every other eatery in the area. Not that I don't enjoy pub grub but it is great to know we have this added option right on our doorstep.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gonzopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at The Coach House By Michael Caines, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
HI Gonzopete,
Many thanks for your extensive review - we are so glad that even the humble carrot tantalized your tastebuds! We pride ourselves on outstanding flavor, presentation, value for money and service, so it is lovely to hear that you experienced all of those things on your visit!
We will take note of your suggestion of a larger - manlier - breakfast option.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we are delighted that your wife and yourself had such a lovely stay at Kentisbury Grange. We hope to see you again in future for another treat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“New chef and even better food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is the second time I have eaten at this restaurant having stayed at Kentisbury Grange before. The expert staff knew their stuff and have to say my experience topped my last visit. As before I have experienced many restaurants across the globe and I have to say this meal was exceptional. My fish was perfect with a lovely balanced wine (recommended by the staff) and my sorbet topped off a fantastic meal! Thanks again to all the staff and (new) chef for making this particular meal perfect. Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at The Coach House By Michael Caines, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Hi A M,
Thank you for joining us at The Coach House again and for taking the time to write this review. We are glad that you enjoyed your fish and found the food of our new chef to be very good. Looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Combe Martin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Scrummy Food lovely atmosphere definitely recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We visited the grange on Friday and stopped for tea.
The food was lovely, full of flavor, brilliant presentation and would highly recommend the duck and chip started.
The main attraction for me was the amazing cocktails, i do not know anywhere else locally who have a cocktail list made with fresh fruit.
Kentisbury Grange cocktail was my favourite! there was a new bar man there but didn't quite have the knack of it this time!
During our dinner looking out on the beautiful country side and the wildlife, we also had a peacock as a quest who watched on from the window flashing us its beautiful feathers.
Would Highly recommend the The Coach House any day

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at The Coach House By Michael Caines, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi Sophie F,
Thank you for your lovely review! We are glad that you joined us for tea and found your food to be full of flavor. Our new bar man is working hard to perfect the cocktails you love so much. Our peacocks have food envy a lot of the time but it's understandable - foraging in the gardens vs. dining at Coach House Restaurant... :-) We look forward to your next visit and hope your Kentisbury Cocktail will be just how you like it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Over-priced, salty,oily food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The restaurant is characterised by attentive staff, perhaps over attentive, and a pleasant enough setting, but some of the worst restaurant food I have ever tasted: swimming in oil, salty and over-priced. Presentation valued over basic attention to food quality.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at The Coach House By Michael Caines, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi Chris,
We were glad to get the opportunity to talk to you on the phone earlier and appreciate your feedback. We are working with our kitchen team on the particular dish in question. We hope that you will get the opportunity to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coach House By Michael Caines also viewed

Challacombe, Exmoor National Park
 
Kentisbury, Exmoor National Park
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
 
Wootton Courtenay, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Coach House By Michael Caines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing