We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New broom”

The Coach House By Michael Caines
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Kentisbury
Price range: US$46 - US$59
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Michael Caines restaurant, The Coach House by Michael Caines is a culinary experience that will change the way you think about restaurant dining. Located in the majestically landscaped grounds of the Kentisbury Grange Hotel, and surrounded by gently rolling fields, The Coach House by Michael Caines - awarded two AA Rosettes in 2013 - is a masterpiece of contemporary rustic design and innovative yet classic cuisine. This 17th century former coaching house, now a Michael Caines restaurant, boasts a stunning walnut and marble bar as its centrepiece with a glass balustrade oak staircase and handmade artisan furniture helping to complete this elegantly stylish space. The main 50 cover restaurant and bar downstairs has views of the chefs at work lending an element of gastro theatre to the proceedings, whilst upstairs the sumptuous lounge is the perfect setting for pre dinner cocktails or post dinner coffee.
1 review
“New broom”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We have visited the Grange restaurant several times and the kitchen has always given us
excellent well prepared and presented food.
HOWEVER, the service from the reception on entering the restaurant to table sevice has
always been something of a shambles!
On our visit Friday 15th August it was so different, polite attentative staff who knew how to give
good service showing the quality food the respect it deserved.
Well done, we shall continue to visit.
RMK

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, General Manager at The Coach House By Michael Caines, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hi Robert K,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your meal at The Coach House. Customer feedback is very important to us, especially at a time when we have undergone several changes in our restaurant.
We have recently taken on a new restaurant manager who has a great deal of experience in customer service. We have also been joined by several new waiting staff who we have been training to provide the level of customer service we have been striving for at The Coach House.

We are therefore delighted that you found the service to be as you would expect and very much look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    48
    17
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Truro
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Style over substance.”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We ate at the Coach House at the start of August for a birthday celebration. Having previously visited the premises during a day out in the local area I was really looking forward to my special evening in a glamorous location. But it ended up being all style over substance.
We couldn't fault the kitchen for the food (it was fab) but service left much to be desired.
A simple "have you visited us before?" or introduction to the running of service would have been appreciated. There was definite lack of communication between waiters; we were served by no less than 4 people, we received a mis-mash of drinks (mine was actually forgotten), and nobody could remember who had ordered what. There were only 2 tables in at the time (including our table of 6!).
The staff were stuffy & unapproachable, particularly the maitre d'e who was very condescending.
Nobody even came back to check if we were happy with our food! We actually felt quite abandoned and judged, we could sense the staff were talking about us as my mother made certain requests (chips as a starter as she didn't like anything else on the menu; not the worst thing in history! Especially as everyone else in the party ordered a starter from the menu).
It was evident some of the staff were new, this wouldn't have been so much of a problem of they had interacted with us a little. Nobody looked happy or really gave us an explanation of what we were eating. Nobody recommended drinks to compliment our food. Basic up selling and basic customer service.
I have eaten in several Michelin starred/silver service establishments and this place falls far from the mark. It looks great on the outside but the actual experience is poor. We paid well over £200 for our meal and to be honest, it was definitely not worth that. We did not feel like valued customers, and shall not be returning (not that we were told "hope to see you again soon"). Such a shame :(

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NightingaleLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, General Manager at The Coach House By Michael Caines, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hello Nightingale Lane,
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Coach House Restaurant. Customer feedback is very important to us, especially at this time as we have undergone some changes in the restaurant.

Your experience happened at a time when we had a temporary restaurant manager in place. We took on a new restaurant manager last week who brings with him a very high level of service, attention to detail and a great deal of experience.

We are very sorry to hear that our service did not live up to your expectations for your birthday celebration and kindly request that you contact our General manager on gm@kentisburygrange.com to discuss your experience further.

We hope that at some point in future you will have the opportunity to experience the normally high standards of service the team at The Coach House strive to provide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Much improved”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We experienced good service, nice food, nice atmosphere. The menu I felt could have been a bit more imaginative. But overall we felt it was much improved over our last visit, so will go again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clare720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, General Manager at The Coach House By Michael Caines, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Hi Clare 720,
Many thanks for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed good service and a nice atmosphere. Our menu changes frequently, so be sure to check in with us soon and experience our new dishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, service could be improved”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Fairly limited menu but very good quality food. Service was polite but slightly confused. Exactly the same again at breakfast.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, General Manager at The Coach House By Michael Caines, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi Andrew,
We are sorry to hear that you found the service to be confused. We have recently taken on a lot of new staff, including a new restaurant manager. We are striving to provide great service and appreciate the feedback. We hope that you will get the opportunity to visit The Coach House again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“gone off the boil.....”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Hate to say it because I love this place but it's gone off the boil. Upon arrival the new staff were less attentive than our previous visits (I've not done a new review each time), we were not offered an aperitif, staff were unfamiliar with the menu and did not know what the amuse bouches were. there seemed to be a lot of staff bustling about but not really doing an awful lot. Previously we have struggled to choose because everything sounded great, this time we struggled for the opposite reason. Food was okay, but nowhere near as good as the previous chef. Food was not that warm, okay I realise that I probably should have said something, but at no point did anyone bother to ask if everything was okay. We will return but not for a while. I realise that this review goes against the flow of others but having been here several times before and raved about it, this meal was disappointing. I have spoken to other locals who have told me the same thing so hopefully things will return to their previous high standards.

Helpful?
1 Thank DevonEddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, General Manager at The Coach House By Michael Caines, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hi DevonEddy,
We have tried to identify which table you were on using your Tripadvisor name but have been unable to do so.

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience as much as you have done previously. We have several new staff members and are striving to ensure our customer service is of a high standard.

Could you possibly email the General manager directly on gm@kentisburygrange.com and he will be in touch to discuss your experience in more detail.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coach House By Michael Caines also viewed

Challacombe, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Coach House By Michael Caines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing