We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet country luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kentisbury
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Kentisbury Grange is a breath of fresh air in every sense of the phrase. In the middle of beautiful Devon, it offers excellent accommodation in combination with a refreshing restaurant of taste. The service and politeness of the staff ensured my Special Birthday went off well.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a view but the ones on the front of the main building are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yateman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and meal with us on your birthday. We hope you will visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (651)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

607 - 613 of 651 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

During half term holidays we like to explore new places. Kentisbury Grange was not only new to us but still in its infancy as a hotel. To our surprise the teething problems you would normally expect in a new business simply did not exist - we had a good look around the main hotel which has so tastefully been decorated but on this occasion as a family of 5, we stayed in one of the very contemporary lodges in the grounds. Again, beautifully fitted out (someone with great style and vision has had a strong influence here), but a particular highlight for my children was the flat screen tv in the bathroom or was it the mood changing lighting or perhaps the amazing hot tub on the deck, even in gale force winds!! The Coach House offers fine dining but welcoming for the little ones too. We shall definitely return and look forward to the warm welcome that awaits.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TwoSox241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. We are delighted that you and your little ones enjoyed your stay in on of our Inspiration Lodges. We are proud of the design and attention to detail that has gone into the lodges and the hotel renovation as a whole. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The room was beautiful, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom sumputous. Lovely to have Molton Brown toiletries and underfloor heating. Adequate mini bar, would have liked to have had a slightly wider selection of wine, one bottle of Chardonnay was your lot! It would have been nicer to see milk in a jug for your coffee and tea and a nice touch would have been some home made biscuits, but other than these few very minor niggles this hotel is top class. The staff are quietly attentive and delightful. We ate in the Coach House, wow the food was amazing!!! Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, but the higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Hi Jane,
Many thanks for your review about your stay with us, customer feedback is very important to us as we continually strive to improve our service. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our Molton Brown toiletries and underfloor heating. We are also delighted you had the opportunity to experience the Coach House Restaurant! Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We have eaten at the Coach House many times now but we were really looking forward to this special occasion stay at the Hotel, with some special friends. Well, 9 of stayed this weekend with high expectations and it didn't disappoint. We had been shown the rooms before so knew it was going to be a real treat and we did book the best suites. The rooms are beautifully furnished and the bed was so comfortable, really, with its lovely soft and cosy bedding, it was hard to get up. Fantastic is the word which described our bathroom, I loved the roll top bath and there was the bonus of a large walk in shower as well ! spoilt indeed. The staff couldn't have done more to make our stay a good one. The setting is peaceful with stunning scenery and the location great for getting around. Exmoor is right there, we chose to head for the beach and within a few miles you are spoilt for choice, we settled on Woolacombe, a fantastic beach what ever the weather. A cream tea in the lounge went down a treat after the wet and windy walk. This was a nice experience and the food was great, we will return again many times I hope.

Room Tip: We had room 5 on the first floor. Its large and bright with double aspect and 3 windows, facing sout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Hi Jacqueline,
Many thanks for your kind words. We are very glad that we met your high expectations and that you found the suites to be beautifully furnished and comfortable. We are so close to Exmoor and the coast that there is plenty for everyone to enjoy, and we are glad you experienced Woolacombe beach. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We won a weekend here in a raffle so had no expectations. It turned out to be really lovely. Classic but modern decor, friendly staff, well equipped rooms with a coffee machine and wifi. We stay in a lot of hotels abroad but tend to avoid them in England as the quality is so variable. This was a good one.

Even in gales and pouring rain it was lovely.

Supper was nice, lots of fish dishes on the menu although we thought that the meat dishes marginally had it (which is a big compliment from two confirmed fish eaters.) The wine list was a little eclectic but did the job perfectly.

It was all really lovely.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAMES R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Hi James and congratulations on your lucky raffle win!
We are delighted that you enjoyed your prize stay with us and dinner at the Coach House Restaurant. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and high quality interior design. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Just returned from a weekend visit with the family - 2 rooms for the 5 of us. This is a seriously well spec'd hotel with some very lovely touches. Each of our rooms were delightful and had something special about them. The beds were comfortable, the bathrooms delightful and the greeting from Karen and Sanjeev on arrival was very warm and welcoming. The Coach House is a lovely place to spend the evening - try taking your pre or post prandial drinks upstairs - and the food is highly recommended. We ate there both evenings and indulged in the cocktail menu on the 1st night - that made things go with a buzz! Breakfast was lovely too. All fantastic and we will definitely go back. When they build a pool and/or spa you won't get near the place so get in early while you still can.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Templegrafton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Hello and thank you for your lovely review.
We are delighted you enjoyed the comfort of the beds and bathrooms, and found our staff to be welcoming. We are also glad you had the chance to experience the Coach House Restaurant. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Spent my birthday staying at Kentisbury Grange. Rooms were big and comfortable especially the beds. Bathroom was well stocked with decent toiletries and towels. WiFi available but reception very bad. No mobile phone connection other than through O2. Late check out after breakfast not at issue. Breakfast ended too early on a Sunday morning so made things a little rushed. Staff very accommodating and informative.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Hi Neil,
Many thanks for sharing your experience with us during your birthday weekend. We are glad you enjoyed your suite and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kentisbury
22.5 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
147 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Martinhoe
987 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
203 reviews
9.1 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
150 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kentisbury Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kentisbury Grange Hotel

Address: Kentisbury, Exmoor National Park EX31 4NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Kentisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kentisbury
Price Range: £121 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kentisbury Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kentisbury Grange – where classic British heritage embraces contemporary luxuries with style, romance and informal elegance. Beautifully restored to its distinguished best this fine Victorian country house hotel is an inspiring blend of glamour, history, nature and indulgence. Kentisbury Grange is the ultimate chic retreat, romantic getaway and luxury country escape all rolled into one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kentisbury Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kentisbury Grange Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing