We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely hotel a must.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kentisbury Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kentisbury Grange
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kentisbury
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really lovely hotel a must.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We booked this hotel for new year eve and then decided to stay the night. On arrival to the hotel we were met with very friendly staff. We were surprised by an up gated and stayed in the honeymoon suite. We were very impressed with the size of the room and the bathroom was huge, and very tastefully decorated. We then had a fanatic gala dinner in the coach house. The food was impressive and very very good with a good selection of wines. The whole experience was a delight and will almost certainly. Visit the hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for the honeymoon suite a must .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hello Sue and many thanks for your kind words about your experience with us on New Year's Eve. That was a fantastic night and the staff had an amazing time thanks to the atmosphere and lovely customers! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your upgrade to our Honeymoon Suite and Thomas Carr will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed his food at The Coach House Restaurant. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    52
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
75
356
1
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on New Years Eve. Four of us in two rooms which were upgraded to the best rooms in the hotel.
Positives:
Rooms beautiful, very well designed and luxurious.
Staff very friendly and accommodating.
Food in restaurant was delicious, michelin star standard but realistic prices.
Nice grounds which in summer will be lovely.
Negatives:
Only negative for us was the room was cold when we arrived, the heating system not the best and lots of draughts from the windows. However the staff tried very hard to sort it for us.
Also restaurant not attached to the hotel so we did have to brave the wind and rain in our glad rags!

Overall we loved this place and would definitely recommend anyone to try it. We will be back.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RoseReading_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hello Rose,
Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear that you had such a fantastic time with us on New Years Eve. It was a great night and we are glad you could join us. We strive for good customer service and friendly, professional staff. The Coach House Restaurant is going from strength to strength and it is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your meals so much! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landkey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

On arrival we were met in person in the carpark, which is a refreshing change, and show into the hotel. Without even asking our room was upgraded and even though the staff didn't gain anything from this gesture it says a massive amount with regards to how customers are treated. The hotel itself is beautiful, the rooms are very spacious and the bathroom was huge! We also ate at the Coach House on the premises and the food was outstanding with equally good service from the staff on duty. Highly recommend this hotel to everyone and will most defiantly be staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkManley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hi Mark,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We do try to greet our guests as they arrive in the car park and we are glad you enjoyed your room upgrade. We pride ourselves on our luxurious rooms and chef Thomas Carr will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed dining at The Coach House Restaurant. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We spent one night at Kentisbury Grange between Christmas and New Year as a quick getaway with my parents. The staff were extremely helpful from booking through to check out and made every effort to ensure our stay was enjoyable. The Grange is a beautiful building which has been restored to a very high specification. Both of our rooms were exceptionally comfortable with luxurious bathrooms and lots of extra touches including a Nespresso machine and iPod dock. We ate at the Coach House restaurant which, as the name suggests, is housed in the old coach house, another stunning building. Although the resturant was quiet, there was still a warm and cosy atmosphere and the food was absolutely delicious; more than worthy of the two AA rosettes the restuarant holds. Both the food and wine were well priced given the quality and attention to detail in the presentation. Definitely worth a repeat trip.

Room Tip: Room 9 - dual aspect with a freestanding roll top bath set in an enormous bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hello Holly,
Thank you very much for your kind words about your experience with us. We enjoyed having you stay with us during the festive period and are glad you found your time with us to be the break you needed! Chef Thomas Carr prides himself on his gastronomic creations, and will be very glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal at The Coach House. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We arrived on a very wet and windy evening but the warm welcome given by the friendly and efficient staff made the journey worthwhile. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the room had everything you would expect in a hotel of this high calibre. There was a good variety of dishes on the menu of the Coach House restaurant and a excellent wine list. The food was delicious and well served. We will definitley go again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silverlady2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Hello and thank you for your review!
We are delighted to hear that you found our hotel to be high calibre and enjoyed dining with us in the Coach House Restaurant. We pride ourselves on the variety of high quality dishes we have on the menu. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

A luxury hotel oasis with great food. The hotel rooms are spacious, ours had a huge bath and the under floor heating was a marvel.The staff were a gem always on hand and nothing was a problem, susie in the restaurant deserves a medal. The food was award winning but they don't apper to be about awards just great food and service. I had the duck liver parfait chefs specail recipe apparently(sorry im taking him home) followed by a waytown fillet beef, perfectly cooked and then the tounge cheek pie was a revelation. He had cured trout followed by lundy seabass,the presentation and flavours were unbelievable and we will be returning.we had no room for pudding so we shared the choclate tart with burnt orange.he did'nt get a look in after the first spoon.Back to the hotel the sleep was sumptuousand the silence was such that you did'nt wake up. What a fantastic treat in the lul after a busy xmas. The combination of the staff and serviceand product is spot on. Keep it up and there will be a few awards comimg your way.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoe669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Hello Zoe and thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted that you found our staff to be friendly and professional and enjoyed our spacious suites. Head chef Thomas Carr will be very pleased that you enjoyed his special recipe and waytown beef! We very much hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, Devon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

My wife and I have just returned from two nights at Kentisbury Grange. We took advantage of the Romantic Getaway offer for our anniversary, which was outstanding value (2 nights accommodation + 3 course meal each night + bottle of wine each night also + breakfast) at £280. The whole project is in it's infancy and we were the only people staying there, however you can really see the potential for the place, with lovely and comfortable rooms, and thank you to Sanjeev (sorry if the name is spelt wrongly!) for taking the time give us a bit of background on the place, and showing us around one of the lodges. These self-contained units will be fantastic in the summer and could be a great idea for a New Year's get together for groups of friends and families. We really couldn't fault the restaurant as the food was fabulous, and the decor was very subtle and cosy, with a nice ambience and feel. The Coach House restaurant staff, in particular Susie and Nick were very pleasant and made us feel very welcome, whilst taking the time to talk to us about their plans for the hotel and restaurant. We have eaten in some fine establishments around the world, and I wouldn't be at all surprised to see a Michelin Star arrive here in the next year or so, so get in to the restaurant whilst you can, and before the inevitable price increase which comes with the success....

Room Tip: We stayed in the Kentisbury Suite which was huge, and had a very large bathroom with roll top bath a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. Our Romantic Getaway package is very popular and we are delighted to hear that you found it value for money. We were happy to show you around one of our Lodges and so glad that you liked them! The Coach House Restaurant has gone from strength to strength and head chef Thomas Carr creates some truly special dishes. We pride ourselves on innovative food of a very high standard and our friendly, helpful staff. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kentisbury
22.5 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Martinhoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
9.2 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kentisbury Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kentisbury Grange

Property: Kentisbury Grange
Address: Kentisbury, Kentisbury, Exmoor National Park EX31 4NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Kentisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kentisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kentisbury Grange 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kentisbury Grange – where classic British heritage embraces contemporary luxuries with style, romance and informal elegance. Beautifully restored to its distinguished best this fine Victorian country house hotel is an inspiring blend of glamour, history, nature and indulgence. Kentisbury Grange is the ultimate chic retreat, romantic getaway and luxury country escape all rolled into one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kentisbury Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kentisbury Grange Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing