We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent romantic getaway”
Review of Kentisbury Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kentisbury Grange
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kentisbury
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Canarias, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent romantic getaway”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival both my girlfriend and I were mesmorized by the breath taking scenary. From the word go the staff could not have done enough for us. As we parked the car we were immediately greeted by a young man who had stopped what he was doing in order to help carry our luggage. Things from here only seemed to get better and better... The accomdation itself (we stayed in a lodge) was a great balance between, comfort, gizmos and tranquility. There were peacocks and various other animals wondering around the site and our lodge even boasted an outdoor jacuzzi.

Cold, the elements and the usual vacation spoliers didnt even rear their head. Warmth was in abundance, hot water on demand, plenty of pressure (my pet hate) and all the essential tools provided for a weeks stay. Ive been to a few similar types of hotel / lodges that can be some what stingy on the provisions. However this was not the case at kentisbury grange, there was plenty of coffee, tioletries and fresh towels too last.

Overall our stay was a genuine 10 / 10, the wireless was a bit suspect but I think this was subject to our lodge only as everywhere else seemed to be fine. The restaurant itself was also a main highlight but I am going to write a seperate review so they recieve the kudos. I definetly reccomend this place if you looking at a break in and around the Devon area.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank xander82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Hi Xander,
Thank you for your kind words about your stay with us! Our Inspiration Lodges are very well kitted out for self-catering purposes - we are happy to hear that you agree. Looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    63
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
89
407
1
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Devon
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

A most enjoyable overnight stay for a birthday treat
Greeted by name on arrival, welcomed, shown around and an unfussy check in
Tastefully renovated, rooms with everything you need with a luxury bathroom
Excellent dinner (keep the chef!) friendly service
strongly recommended

Room Tip: room 5 is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLW78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you found your room to be luxurious and thoroughly enjoyed your birthday with us - that's certainly what we aim for! Our chef really is a keeper. Looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Thoroughly enjoyed the large bathroom with underfloor heating and large roll top bath.
Enjoyed both dinner and breakfast, great food!
Lovely attention to detail.
We only stayed one night, but it was very enjoyable; no complaints.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Hi Charlotte, many thanks for your kind words - the underfloor heating is a hit with many. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bude, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed in a Luxury suite for a Valentines dinner, bed and breakfast deal. Every aspect of the experience was first class - room, restaurant and service. All the staff were helpful friendly and courteous, the food was superb and at this price the room was quite possibly the best room we have ever stayed in anywhere in the world. Uncommonly rare attention to detail. Highly recommended. Deserves to do well - try it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaz-saz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your Valentine's stay. We pride ourselves on our attention to detail and friendly staff. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

From the moment we arrived the service level we received was outstanding. Each department went out of their way look after my children (18 months & 3 years old) my parents (aged) and myself. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they acted immediately if we needed anything.

We stayed in the lodge over looking the lake and it was beautiful inside and very clean. Filled with everything you need for a family stay. My MIL spent two nights in the hotel and that was beautiful too!

We would like to personally thank Sanjeev and Beverly for going over and above their duties to look after us. We are just sorry we never got to say goodbye to you :(

I would not hesitate to recommend Kentisbury Grange as a place to stay.

Room Tip: All their rooms are beautifully decorated and the service is just amazing. It would be hard to find...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twolittleos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear that your family enjoyed your stay in one of our Inspiration Lodges. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed in one of the Lodges, overlooking the Lake. First class service from the staff .... Could not fault their attention to detail and willingness to help. Housekeeping staff are friendly and efficient. The Lodges boast all sorts of gadgets, mood lighting indoors and out, and are really cosy despite their size. Will definitely return!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytourist2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Lodges. We pride ourselves on our customer service and hope that our Lodges provide everything a family would need for a self-catering holiday. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

we arrived at hotel aprox 6pm after long drive ,the staff were very helpful ,we did not want to stay up until midnight ,as I had early start .We had wonderfull meal .We intended to go back
this week ,but they are closed !

Room Tip: They are not Battle Ships on drive ,they are holiday homes
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david9080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hi David,
It was a shame you couldn't stay up and celebrate with us, but we understood that you were tired and hope you found your room relaxing. Hopefully you will get a chance to stay with us again and you can make the most of the Coach House restaurant, bar and lounge area. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful meal and look forward to your next visit. Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kentisbury
22.5 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
714 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
329 reviews
19.0 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,764 reviews
9.2 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
141 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kentisbury Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kentisbury Grange

Property: Kentisbury Grange
Address: Kentisbury, Kentisbury, Exmoor National Park EX31 4NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Kentisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kentisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kentisbury Grange 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kentisbury Grange – where classic British heritage embraces contemporary luxuries with style, romance and informal elegance. Beautifully restored to its distinguished best this fine Victorian country house hotel is an inspiring blend of glamour, history, nature and indulgence. Kentisbury Grange is the ultimate chic retreat, romantic getaway and luxury country escape all rolled into one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kentisbury Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kentisbury Grange Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing