We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly relaxing weekend :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kentisbury Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kentisbury Grange
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kentisbury
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
“Truly relaxing weekend :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We had a really restorative and enjoyable weekend. Arriving late on Friday night, we were shattered after a long week at work. The staff were however extremely friendly and welcomed us to our beautiful room. They showed genuine interest, were particularly personable and nothing was ever too much throughout the whole weekend.
I cannot complement the Kentisbury enough. Our room was beautiful, very clean and luxurious too (only bonus would be bubbles for use in the roll-top bath as I didn't think to pack any!).
The food was also delicious- we ate, on the Saturday night, in their restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julia_f-86-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
We are absolutely delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable weekend with us! We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and luxurious rooms. We will add a note by your name to ensure that there is lots of bubble bath provided for your next visit :-)

So glad that you also enjoyed The Coach House Restaurant! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    52
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
75
353
1
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

There’s only one word that slipped off my tongue in every sentence the whole weekend… BEAUTIFUL.

From the moment we arrived and got greeted in the car park by Sanjeev who dropped everything to greet us, shown personally around the site and our lodge upon check-in by Karen, our stay from start to finish was the most enjoyable break in the most stunning location.
Every thought had been catered for in our waterfront Lodge, from bathrobes in every room, plenty of towels in each bathroom, body lotion and mouthwash to baskets with extra dishwasher tabs & bin liners etc. If we had food we could have locked ourselves away in the lodge without needing a thing for the whole break.

When it comes to food I'd highly recommend dining in The Coach House, the on-site Michelin star restaurant. The food was divine and the staff were all such a delight and a credit to Kentisbury Grange and all were also there to greet us with smiles on their faces for breakfast.

Just down the road we visited Lynton and Lynmouth within the Exmoor National Park noted for its ‘breath taking natural beauty and unspoilt landscape’… I can only agree and didn't want to come home.

I couldn't stop taking photos the whole time… waking up to bright sunshine in February with the on-site peacocks basking in the sunshine in front of our lodge.

Highly recommend for both romantic breaks and family getaways.

Room Tip: All the lodges appeared to be waterfront with stunning views, so you'll never get a lodge that’s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Terri
BEAUTIFUL, thank you for staying with us at Kentisbury Grange and taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Kentisbury Grange soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mere, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We had a fantastic overnight stay at The Grange. Our room was luxurious, tastefully designed and comfortable. My only quibbles, which are more personal preference, were there was no complementary bubble bath to enjoy in the huge roll top bath and I didn't find the pillows particularly comfortable. We dined in the restaurant and the food was exquisite however the tables were a bit too close for comfort. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We will definitely be making a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Klara
Thank you for your Kind words and choosing to stay at Kentisbury Grange. I have added some notes to your details to ensure there is lots of bubble bath in the room and we get some firmer pillows in for your next stay. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grange.
Ivan Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Canarias, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival both my girlfriend and I were mesmorized by the breath taking scenary. From the word go the staff could not have done enough for us. As we parked the car we were immediately greeted by a young man who had stopped what he was doing in order to help carry our luggage. Things from here only seemed to get better and better... The accomdation itself (we stayed in a lodge) was a great balance between, comfort, gizmos and tranquility. There were peacocks and various other animals wondering around the site and our lodge even boasted an outdoor jacuzzi.

Cold, the elements and the usual vacation spoliers didnt even rear their head. Warmth was in abundance, hot water on demand, plenty of pressure (my pet hate) and all the essential tools provided for a weeks stay. Ive been to a few similar types of hotel / lodges that can be some what stingy on the provisions. However this was not the case at kentisbury grange, there was plenty of coffee, tioletries and fresh towels too last.

Overall our stay was a genuine 10 / 10, the wireless was a bit suspect but I think this was subject to our lodge only as everywhere else seemed to be fine. The restaurant itself was also a main highlight but I am going to write a seperate review so they recieve the kudos. I definetly reccomend this place if you looking at a break in and around the Devon area.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank xander82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Hi Xander,
Thank you for your kind words about your stay with us! Our Inspiration Lodges are very well kitted out for self-catering purposes - we are happy to hear that you agree. Looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Devon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

A most enjoyable overnight stay for a birthday treat
Greeted by name on arrival, welcomed, shown around and an unfussy check in
Tastefully renovated, rooms with everything you need with a luxury bathroom
Excellent dinner (keep the chef!) friendly service
strongly recommended

Room Tip: room 5 is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLW78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you found your room to be luxurious and thoroughly enjoyed your birthday with us - that's certainly what we aim for! Our chef really is a keeper. Looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Thoroughly enjoyed the large bathroom with underfloor heating and large roll top bath.
Enjoyed both dinner and breakfast, great food!
Lovely attention to detail.
We only stayed one night, but it was very enjoyable; no complaints.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Hi Charlotte, many thanks for your kind words - the underfloor heating is a hit with many. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bude, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed in a Luxury suite for a Valentines dinner, bed and breakfast deal. Every aspect of the experience was first class - room, restaurant and service. All the staff were helpful friendly and courteous, the food was superb and at this price the room was quite possibly the best room we have ever stayed in anywhere in the world. Uncommonly rare attention to detail. Highly recommended. Deserves to do well - try it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaz-saz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your Valentine's stay. We pride ourselves on our attention to detail and friendly staff. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kentisbury
22.5 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Martinhoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
9.2 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kentisbury Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kentisbury Grange

Property: Kentisbury Grange
Address: Kentisbury, Kentisbury, Exmoor National Park EX31 4NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Kentisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kentisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kentisbury Grange 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kentisbury Grange – where classic British heritage embraces contemporary luxuries with style, romance and informal elegance. Beautifully restored to its distinguished best this fine Victorian country house hotel is an inspiring blend of glamour, history, nature and indulgence. Kentisbury Grange is the ultimate chic retreat, romantic getaway and luxury country escape all rolled into one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kentisbury Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kentisbury Grange Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing