We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay, highly recommended!”
Review of Kentisbury Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kentisbury Grange
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kentisbury
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Booked a last minute stay at the weekend and was not disappointed. Friendly attentive staff on check in, a beautifully appointed room, and enjoyed a fabulous meal at the restaurant in the evening. Highly recommended for anyone wanting to 'recharge the batteries' and to enjoy some serious rest and relaxation! Would definitely come back again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Clare L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjeev L, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hi Clare,
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are delighted that you found the staff to be attentive and your room to be beautiful. We hope your batteries are fully recharged and look forward to seeing you again in future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (605)
There are newer reviews for Kentisbury Grange
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

527 - 533 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Astonished to read the other reviews because the night we ate there, no-one left happy. Sure, the food was really good but with the meticulous presentation it required, either more sous-chefs were required in the kitchen or there should have been someone managing the ordering to avoid everyone in the room having long waits for courses at the same time. The existence of two different menus (one for residents and one for casual diners?) could not have helped. Waiting staff were pleasant but could not answer basic questions about the menu (e.g. how was the fish actually cooked?). A manageress (?) did arrive after the main service but too late to observe, or avoid, any of the problems.
With all the ingredients for a top restaurant (really good chef, stylish surroundings, pleasant staff) it was frustrating to see it let down.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Joan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjeev L, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hello Joan,
Many thanks for taking the time to review your meal at The Coach House Restaurant. We have recently welcomed a new chef to the team and are currently recruiting to cater for the increased demand in the restaurant. We are sorry to hear that you did not find your experience to be up to the high standard we strive for. We hope that you will visit us again in future and find the service to be more speedy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Excellent hotel lovely staff, rooms and food all to the very highest standard, it's a real gem.
Will definitely stay there again, the rooms are newly refurbished to a high standard. Very peaceful area worth visiting if you want a relaxing few days away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0eSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjeev L, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Hi J0eSt,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Kentisbury Grange. We are delighted that you found your meal at The Coach House to be of the very highest standard and your rooms relaxing. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

The luxury room (8), was big luxurious and stunning. It had a roll top bath with beautiful soaps, lotions etc. robes & slippers. The mini bar had a great selection of drinks, both alcoholic and soft. The service was friendly, yet very professional. The food at the restaurant was amazing. The lounge upstairs had sofas for a relaxing drink. In a quiet countryside setting this made an idea luxury but such a relaxing break. Very accommodating. Thank You.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsR18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Hi mrsr323,
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay so much. We pride ourselves on friendly and professional service. We are delighted you dined in The Coach House and found the food to be amazing. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I again had another relaxed and amazing stay at the very lovely Kentisbury Grange. The hotel seems to get better and better, with all of the teething problems out of the way since the hotel opened, it was a really good value and luxury stay. On arrival i was led to my room and am making a concerted effort to try and stay in every room!

Big thank you to all the staff for making my stay superb.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Hi A M,
We were so glad you could join us again and that you enjoyed your stay so much and found Kentisbury Grange to be good value and luxurious. We hope you manage to stay in every room and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The reviews of Kentisbury are very good, but I think it is somewhat generously rated.

The hotel itself is fine: the room ("upgraded") was good but not exceptional.The grounds of the hotel are somewhat wrecked by the large number of (no doubt high quality) wooden huts so the overall ambience is of a world war II internment camp.

The attached restaurant - the Coach House demands separate comment: attentive staff, perhaps over attentive, and a pleasant enough setting, but some of the worst restaurant food I have ever tasted: swimming in oil, salty and over-priced.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Hi Chris,
We were glad to get the opportunity to talk to you on the phone earlier and appreciate your feedback. We are working with our kitchen team on the particular dish in question. We hope that you will get the opportunity to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights in room 5, a "Kentisbury suite", which is a large, light filled room with an excellent and spacious ensuite bathroom. Both were comfortable and stylish, but sound insulation could be better - we were woken at 6 30am by someone taking a long shower in a nearby room.

The restaurant and bar are in a separate building, which has the advantage that any noise from them cannot be heard in the hotel. The food, much locally sourced, is delicious, well cooked and beautifully presented. The staff are all very friendly and charming, although service suffered a bit on our second evening when the restaurant was much busier.

Kentisbury Grange is well positioned for exploring Exmoor and north Devon - don't miss nearby Arlington Court. Pity about the array of self catering lodges that line the drive, but I imagine they are needed from a business perspective. Dinner, bed and breakfast is certainly excellent value and it would be hard to find anywhere better to stay nearby.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KentManKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Hi KentManKent,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us at Kentisbury Grange. We are delighted that you enjoyed our locally sourced food and presentation, and found The Coach House Restaurant to be good value for money. We very much enjoy being so close to stunning places such as Exmoor and are glad you had the opportunity to explore. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kentisbury
4.4 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Martinhoe
966 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
723 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
337 reviews
11.7 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,779 reviews
7.0 mi away
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kentisbury Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kentisbury Grange

Address: Kentisbury, Kentisbury, Exmoor National Park EX31 4NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Kentisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kentisbury
Price Range: £103 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kentisbury Grange 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kentisbury Grange – where classic British heritage embraces contemporary luxuries with style, romance and informal elegance. Beautifully restored to its distinguished best this fine Victorian country house hotel is an inspiring blend of glamour, history, nature and indulgence. Kentisbury Grange is the ultimate chic retreat, romantic getaway and luxury country escape all rolled into one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Kentisbury Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kentisbury Grange Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing