We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay-Thank You!”
Review of Kentisbury Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kentisbury Grange
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kentisbury
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Stay-Thank You!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

My partner and I checked in for one night and was welcomed so warmly by all the staff hospitality like no other.

We ate in the Restaurant in beautiful surroundings and was swerved a mouth watering menu in the Coach House.

Exmoor Beef so tender and delicious and the deserts outstanding.

Many thanks to the management and Team for an amazing experience I will certainly be recommending it to all!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Guidecca Mare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjeev L, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hi Guidecca Mare,
Many thanks for taking the time to review your one night stay with us. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed a delicious meal at The Coach House Restaurant and found the Exmoor beef to be perfectly tender. We very much hope to see you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    60
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
83
396
1
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Booked a last minute stay at the weekend and was not disappointed. Friendly attentive staff on check in, a beautifully appointed room, and enjoyed a fabulous meal at the restaurant in the evening. Highly recommended for anyone wanting to 'recharge the batteries' and to enjoy some serious rest and relaxation! Would definitely come back again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clare L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjeev L, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hi Clare,
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are delighted that you found the staff to be attentive and your room to be beautiful. We hope your batteries are fully recharged and look forward to seeing you again in future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Astonished to read the other reviews because the night we ate there, no-one left happy. Sure, the food was really good but with the meticulous presentation it required, either more sous-chefs were required in the kitchen or there should have been someone managing the ordering to avoid everyone in the room having long waits for courses at the same time. The existence of two different menus (one for residents and one for casual diners?) could not have helped. Waiting staff were pleasant but could not answer basic questions about the menu (e.g. how was the fish actually cooked?). A manageress (?) did arrive after the main service but too late to observe, or avoid, any of the problems.
With all the ingredients for a top restaurant (really good chef, stylish surroundings, pleasant staff) it was frustrating to see it let down.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjeev L, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hello Joan,
Many thanks for taking the time to review your meal at The Coach House Restaurant. We have recently welcomed a new chef to the team and are currently recruiting to cater for the increased demand in the restaurant. We are sorry to hear that you did not find your experience to be up to the high standard we strive for. We hope that you will visit us again in future and find the service to be more speedy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Excellent hotel lovely staff, rooms and food all to the very highest standard, it's a real gem.
Will definitely stay there again, the rooms are newly refurbished to a high standard. Very peaceful area worth visiting if you want a relaxing few days away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0eSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjeev L, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi J0eSt,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Kentisbury Grange. We are delighted that you found your meal at The Coach House to be of the very highest standard and your rooms relaxing. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

The luxury room (8), was big luxurious and stunning. It had a roll top bath with beautiful soaps, lotions etc. robes & slippers. The mini bar had a great selection of drinks, both alcoholic and soft. The service was friendly, yet very professional. The food at the restaurant was amazing. The lounge upstairs had sofas for a relaxing drink. In a quiet countryside setting this made an idea luxury but such a relaxing break. Very accommodating. Thank You.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsR18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Hi mrsr323,
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay so much. We pride ourselves on friendly and professional service. We are delighted you dined in The Coach House and found the food to be amazing. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I again had another relaxed and amazing stay at the very lovely Kentisbury Grange. The hotel seems to get better and better, with all of the teething problems out of the way since the hotel opened, it was a really good value and luxury stay. On arrival i was led to my room and am making a concerted effort to try and stay in every room!

Big thank you to all the staff for making my stay superb.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Hi A M,
We were so glad you could join us again and that you enjoyed your stay so much and found Kentisbury Grange to be good value and luxurious. We hope you manage to stay in every room and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The reviews of Kentisbury are very good, but I think it is somewhat generously rated.

The hotel itself is fine: the room ("upgraded") was good but not exceptional.The grounds of the hotel are somewhat wrecked by the large number of (no doubt high quality) wooden huts so the overall ambience is of a world war II internment camp.

The attached restaurant - the Coach House demands separate comment: attentive staff, perhaps over attentive, and a pleasant enough setting, but some of the worst restaurant food I have ever tasted: swimming in oil, salty and over-priced.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi Chris,
We were glad to get the opportunity to talk to you on the phone earlier and appreciate your feedback. We are working with our kitchen team on the particular dish in question. We hope that you will get the opportunity to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kentisbury
22.5 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
694 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
326 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Martinhoe
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
332 reviews
7.0 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
487 reviews
11.7 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kentisbury Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kentisbury Grange

Property: Kentisbury Grange
Address: Kentisbury, Kentisbury, Exmoor National Park EX31 4NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Kentisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kentisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kentisbury Grange 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kentisbury Grange – where classic British heritage embraces contemporary luxuries with style, romance and informal elegance. Beautifully restored to its distinguished best this fine Victorian country house hotel is an inspiring blend of glamour, history, nature and indulgence. Kentisbury Grange is the ultimate chic retreat, romantic getaway and luxury country escape all rolled into one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Kentisbury Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kentisbury Grange Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing