We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic accommodation, very welcoming, highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caldecott Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fritton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Caldecott Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Fritton B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation, very welcoming, highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Arrived, staff very friendly & professional, showed us to our room, very clean & well equipped. Fantastic breakfast, free use of the spa & gym next door, location was beautiful we couldn't have asked for more, highly recommended ***** taken over recently & has been improved 100% *****

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WickenSturdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    8
    3
    3
    10
See reviews for
10
23
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

After having two bad experiences at very important functions here last year here i was surprised when my father expressed a wish to have fathers day lunch here. It was with caution that we arrived yesterday. I was very surprised to see the redecoration and change of layout of the restaurant. The new owner Mike was a genial host and nothing was too much trouble even the cheeseboard that he put on even though we hadnt ordered desserts. The food was lovely and beautifully presented. We arrived for our lunch at 4.30 and we departed at 8.50 suitably fed and watered. I was very impressed and i wish Mike the best of luck with his new venture. If you have read the old comments please ignore them as you will miss out on a lovely meal with a superb host and staff at a wonderfull venue with beautifull surroundings. My Dad thoroughly enjoyed his Fathers Day.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Just stayed 3 nights on business. Was not sure what to expect due to some of the reviews.
New owner Mike, took over 2 months ago. Could not do enough to make me feel at home.
Food excellent, room spacious and clean. Beautiful grounds.
I would definitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at the beinning of june 2013, previous reviews were not too hot.The Hotel was recently bought and has been refurbished to a very high standard from top to bottom, the location is fabulous and i can't recommend it highly enough. The new owner Mike and his staff enhanced my stay, were very welcoming and couldn't do enough for me, the service was first class. Next time i'm in the area i will be staying at Caldecott and will look forward to the visit, really enjoyed it.

Room Tip: All rooms were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Just come back from the caldecott hotel with my partner, mum and friend, what an amazing experience from start to finish. The hotel is a little gem in this part of the country, beautiful grounds and surroundings, wonderful having the use of the swimming pool, spa and gym. The staff were excellent and the owner michael always went the extra mile, nothing was too much trouble for him, we all felt very comfortable there and will be sure to return in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank collette28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Stayed here last December when under interim management, thank goodness they have gone. Came back to use the Caldecott to run a seminar as I knew the location - very glad I did - I couldn't have been better looked after, nothing was too much trouble: thanks Mike for your efforts. The customer service is to be commended with a special mention for the red haired girl behind the bar serving me G & Ts after work.
Didn't use the spa so can't comment

Room Tip: Not sure if it matters which you book as it is so quiet here you can't help but have a great nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornholme, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

After reading the reviews on here we were a bit worried as to what to expect. On arrival we was greeted by the owner who seemed very pleased to see us who kindly pointed out the amazing facilities that were included in our stay! My favorite being the spa. We booked a family room which was rather larger than expected that was rather warm (you can change the temperature by yourself to suit your needs) The room was clean and tidy with an average size bathroom (shower or bath) and a large bed. we spent most of the time in the Restaurant/Bar room due to bad weather, the bar was quite quaint but after speaking with the staff it will be re-modeled. Overall we had a very good weekend and would recommend staying here. we will be visiting again towards the end of the year and we look forward to seeing the remodeled version.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fritton hotels
0.5 mi away
Fritton Arms HOTEL
Fritton Arms HOTEL
#1 of 1 in Fritton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Decoy Barn
Decoy Barn
#1 of 2 in Fritton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caldecott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caldecott Hotel

Property: Caldecott Hotel
Address: Caldecott Hall Beccles Road, Fritton NR31 9EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Fritton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fritton
Hotel Class:3 star — Caldecott Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 400 acres of rural countryside with easy access to nearby golf course and spa facilities. Set away from the main road. Restaurant and Bar for guests or non residents. All 8 bedrooms are en-suite and all have tea, coffee, biscuits complimentary. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caldecott Hall Hotel Fritton
Caldecott Hotel Fritton, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing