We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!”
Review of Fritton Arms HOTEL

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fritton Arms HOTEL
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fritton
Certificate of Excellence
Diss, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
611 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We had taken advantage of a Tickles half price offer as it is the only way we could afford to stay in these lovely places and we were not disappointed with this small and intimate hotel. A converted 17th century farmhouse guaranteed a warm and homely feel. A very friendly and helpful Cheryl checked us into our delightful room which had a well stocked hospitality tray, a radiator that you could turn up or down to regulate the heat of the room as you wanted it and an enormous walk in shower! The hotel only has 9 bedrooms so the place will never seem packed which helps make it more of a romantic and intimate stay. We had a cuppa in our room then set off for a walk round the lake which is over 2 miles long. Unfortunately it was wet and windy but we wrapped up and enjoyed a brisk hour long walk through the mature woodland surrounding the lake. One can only image it would be even more wonderful if the weather was warm. Back to our warm room for another cuppa and freshen up before going down to the dining room for a delicious evening meal. My husband and I both had the leek and potato soup for starters; very peppery which suited my husband; then we both had chicken breast with spring greens, mashed potato and a very tasty red wine sauce which complemented the meal favourably. My husband then had a citrus cheesecake and icecream. All courses were very well presented and of a good portion. We retired to our room for a very comfortable night's sleep in the enormous bed. The breakfast included fruit juice, cereal, toast and any amount of cooked breakfast you desired. An absolutely pleasurable stay. Cheryl is certainly a great asset to the establishment and would be able to arrange all your wedding day needs too!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    42
    23
    9
    7
See reviews for
51
81
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We spent one night at Fritton House and really loved it. There was a function going on in the barn the night we were there, but this did not impinge on the peace and quiet of the main hotel. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. We checked in early and went off to explore the area. We enjoyed a walk by the lake and in the evening chilled in the lounge with drinks from the bar.
The bedroom was very comfortable with a large shower room. Breakfast was very good. Great value for money.

Room Tip: Room 4 is a good size and has a large walk in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laudy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Myself and my husband stayed overnight at Fritton House on Thursday 2nd May (for my husband's birthday treat). We used the Tickles half-price deal which included a night's stay and breakfast.
On arrival we were greeted warmly and shown to our room which was very pleasantly sized and characterful, with a lovely view of Fritton grounds and a glimpse of the lake in the distance.
We thoroughly enjoyed spending time walking around Fritton lake and the gardens which are beautiful. It was so quiet and tranquil - the perfect location for our much needed get-away! We felt like we had the whole place to ourselves as we never saw anyone walking around the grounds when we went on walks.
During the afternoon we sat in the bar lounge area where we read a newspaper/magazine whilst enjoyed a cappuccino and hot chocolate - lovely and relaxing.
In the evening we had reserved a table in the restaurant (very pretty) where we had a 3 course meal. My husband had sea-bass for the main (a little on small size). I had the lamb which was fine - could maybe have done with more flavour but the side potatoes were delicious. We were a little disappointed with the dessert - a very long time arriving and my husband's (maple & pecan parfait) was very different to what was described - alternative ingredients had been used, but overall it was tasty. I had ordered the chocolate & hazelnut pastry dessert which unfortunately was very dry - solid rolled dark chocolate with a pastry layer balanced on top.
We had a good night's sleep and hot shower in the morning. Came down for breakfast at 9am. I enjoyed a full English breakfast whilst my husband had the Egg Royale breakfast (poached egg & smoked salmon on muffin) which looked and apparently tasted delicious! We had fresh juice, tea, cappuccino and toast to accompany it.
It was a beautiful sunny day so we had another long walk around the lake and grounds before we left. It really is in a lovely setting.
Overall we had a fantastic night away, were very warmly welcomed and treated by staff and loved relaxing in the atmospheric hotel and stunning grounds.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3 which was quiet with a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starlight2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We visited the hotel as part of a wedding party who had exclusive use of the property for the event. This is a fairly small hotel with two reception rooms off the hallway and a bar and dining room beyond. The rooms are nicely furnished and the design of the ground floor allows for several alternative places to relax and chat and for diners to have a nice cozy area to themselves when not involved in the wedding day itself. The food was really good throughout the couple of days and the wedding breakfast itself very good. The staff were extremely welcoming and efficient, and friendly at all times - nothing was too much trouble and their hard work really contributed to making the event a success. Fritton House is well placed as a base for exploring Norfolk and North Suffolk as it is close to several main routes around the two counties and has access to golf, fishing and horse riding on site which is a bonus. As a wedding venue for around fifty people it is ideal, more would be too much. The only downside for such use is the fact that the really nice flint church a few hundred yards away is run on a strictly locals only basis so anyone wanting to use Fritton as a reception location will have to find a more accommodating management elsewhere and travel. Overall, it was a great place to visit everyone who stayed in the hotel itself was really impressed by the rooms, the service and the food.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viatori-lasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fritton_House_12, General Manager at Fritton Arms HOTEL, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
It was a pleasure looking after Diane and David's special day. Although we can accommodate much larger weddings in our Barn the house was perfect for their size party.

Hope to see you return to Fritton House in the near Future.

Cheryl Beeney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Our group of 19 enjoyed a delicious and generous Christmas lunch at Fritton House. Service was great and we were made to feel like nothing was too much trouble. So nice to see this happening in rural Norfolk, keep up the good work !

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Fourlambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We stayed at Fritton House over Christmas in December 2012. My brother and I and our respective families were 'house guests' although we were joined by our parents, other siblings and their respective families for an 18 strong family Christmas dinner. The accommodation was wonderful (although perhaps a few too many low beams for me!), the rooms extremely comfortable and the way in which staff made us all feel so welcome helped make our stay very special. It was all the little extra touches though that made the difference - the way in which the lounge was decorated, to show that Santa had visited appealed to the children; the lay out in the dining room and even the appearance of the Christmas Day staff in their onesies! Our entire family had been looking forward to this event for a long time. It was meant to be a very special occasion and the staff at Fritton house helped to make sure that it was.
Colin, Kath, Jess and Emily Mutton
Ross on Wye, Herefordshire

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We stayed here on a Sunday night voucher offer. We received a warm welcome on a very cold afternoon and were quickly and personallhy shown to our room. The lady who checked us in, and who seemed to be the only person on that day, was friendly and welcoming. The room was very comfortable, warm and cosy. The heating was great and a nice touch was the fresh milk we found for the tea making facilities in a fridge in the hallway. We had a TV and DVD player and would have brought DVDs to watch if we'd realised before our visit. Our bathroom had an open walk in shower which was lovely. Everything was clean and tidy.

The only two things that we felt could have improved our stay was the information provided and the overall food experience. We were not given any information about what what time meals were or checkout, what we could do locally, walks etc. In view of the hotels location some local information, particularly on walks would be very welcome. We therefore read all the hotel information in the folder in our room, which gave us tantalising expectations for breakfast the next morning. Unfortunately these were to be disappointed as the limited breakfast on offer the following morning did not match what we had found described in our room (full english, eggs benedict, haddock etc). We were offered poached, scrambled or fried eggs on toast and my poached eggs were perfect.

We ate at the hotel the night of our stay and were advised that only the bar menu was available, which we were happy with. The food was ok, although it wouldn't draw us back and the service was a little slow, mainly as one person was doing everything. She did very well, was very friendly and kept track of all drink orders etc, it just meant a bit of a wait for our main courses.

So, in summary we did very much enjoy our stay and would stay again. Our room was very comfortable and we loved it's warmth and the walk in shower. We had a lovely romantic weekend away and the hotel made the perfect overnight stay for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rg00se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fritton
5.4 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Lowestoft
454 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,066 reviews
5.3 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
501 reviews
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
336 reviews
15.6 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fritton Arms HOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fritton Arms HOTEL

Property: Fritton Arms HOTEL
Address: Church Lane, Fritton NR31 9HA, England (Formerly Fritton House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Fritton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fritton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fritton Arms HOTEL 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Fritton Arms HOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fritton House Hotel Fritton
Fritton Hotel Norfolk
Fritton Arms HOTEL Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing