We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fritton Arms Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Pier Hotel(Gorleston-on-Sea)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waveney Inn(Burgh St Peter)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel(Lowestoft)(Great Value!)
US$98
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$84
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Wherry Hotel(Oulton Broad)(Great Value!)
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Winelodge Hotel(Lowestoft)
US$21
Booking.com
View Deal
All Seasons Lodge Hotel(Gorleston-on-Sea)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Victoria(Great Yarmouth)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveller rating
107
47
23
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
107
47
23
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfritton lakesomerleyton halllarge lakecountry feelprivate estatelambadventure playgroundgin selectiongreat playgroundservice was a little slowgreen lightcowshed productslast sundayopen fireamazing roombirthday breakhuge bathroom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 195 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2009

I have stayed in Fritton house many times and really enjoyed it. The grounds are fabulous and this is a small house converted to a hotel in quiet norfolk. The location is a bit out of the way but well worth a visit. They recently changed management and i am afraid that the charm of the place might have been lost. The manager on duty mentioned that the focus had changed to be a restaurant with rooms rather than the quaint hotel in the country!. How disappointing

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcortes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Recently taken over by Adnams (the beer people from Southwold) we expected high standards as experienced at the Swan and Crown in Southwold and were not disappointed in most areas. We stayed here two nights and had two attic rooms with a lovely bathroom. We had the floor to ourselves - the rooms are very well appointed and to a high standard.

The staff were very friendly and generally the service was very good. The breakfasts were very nice with offers of more toast and coffee etc. The quality of the restaurant food in the evenings was a little disappointing and service slow at times.

The location is superb, very quiet and relaxing in the Somerleyton estate.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graphicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

I stayed in Fritton House for two nights with my girlfriend, and we had a wonderful time.

The room was excellent: spacious and well-furnished, with a great view out over the grounds. It mixed the very modern - e.g. a wall-mounted TV with DVD player - with the old - lovely dark wood furniture. It was a very good price (given how nice the room is, I'd have expected it to be double what it was).

The grounds were beautiful, and I especially enjoyed walking by Fritton Lake. The row boats weren't in use during my stay, but normally they are. There was also a fun playground for children, including a gigantic "inflatable pillow"!

The food at the hotel was spectacular: lots of locally sourced, very tasty dishes, and at good prices! The staff were all very friendly and helpful, from the receptionist to the bar staff.

I recommend a trip to nearby Somerleyton (maybe ten minutes by car), to have a nose round the rather grand Somerleyton Estate, and maybe a quick pint in the Duke's Head. There are also some beautiful round-tower Norman churches dotted around the place, which are worth scouting out.

All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed my weekend stay, and would recommend the hotel to individuals, couples and families who want a relaxing break in the Norfolk countryside (with relatively quick access to Norwich).

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank jma71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2008

We picked Fritton House for a relaxing three-day break and found it to be just the ticket - once we were able to find it. My advice would be stick on the A143 for Gt Yarmouth until you see the big sign on the right for Fritton Lake. Turn sharp right, follow the lane and you are there. It is a lot easier than looking for Church Lane, which is the hotel's address.
No superior room was available when the visit was booked but our standard room was fine, with a beautifully refurbished bathroom. The room itself was not huge and Mrs E's biggest immediate concern was the lack of a wardrobe. But the hooks behind the door were just about sufficient.
Food in the restaurant was excellent - we sampled breakfast and dinner - with a lot of it sourced locally via the Somerleyton Estate, of which the hotel is a part. But one thing we would have liked access to at lunch was a simple sandwich. The hotel and restaurant staff were mostly young and very friendly.
There was no tea-making in the room but we were told we could order it whenever we wanted. It would have been nice also to be told we would be charged for the pleasure. We won't forget the travel kettle should there be a next time.
The hotel is on Fritton Lake, on which you can happily flounder in a rowing boat or take a 20-minute organised trip. There is a huge outdoor play and activity area for children, while we enjoyed two rounds on the excellent nine-hole golf course. Only the numerous worm invasions on the greens slightly spoiled this great facility.
The grounds are wonderful for a good stroll at any time.
Yarmouth and Lowestoft are on the doorstep, while we had a day in Norwich reached by the infrequent train service via nearby Haddiscoe. Try lunch in Norwich in the Norfolk Brasserie and Grill in London Street. before a wander round the Cathedral.
Overall, Fritton House was a fine and quiet little retreat - though it could possibly be noisier in the height of summer. Not cheap but well worth giving a go if you want to push the boat out - in every respect.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EleanorJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2008

just spent two nights here and was very impressed. took our baby daughter and were able to leave her asleep in the room as the monitor range extended as far as the bar and restaurant. the menu and food was very good - seasonal local dishes and enormous cooked to order breakfasts. staff were very friendly. the lake at the back of the hotel and the adventure playground was good for children. we did however take advantage of cheap mid week deals during the low season, which made it good value.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cazandmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews