We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice view on the lake of Gruyeres and excellent food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostellerie le Vignier
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very nice view on the lake of Gruyeres and excellent food”
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

The view is wonderful with a nice lake surrounded by mountains and the Fribourg countryside. The gastronomy restaurant is excellent, the service very friendly and the prices reasonnable. Good place where to stop on the road from Fribourg to Bulle if you decide to avoid the highway.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Almoni06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    29
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
16
52
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We were travelling as a family with young kids, travelled to Fribourg for business and stayed just one night so our requirements might really differ from yours. We were visiting this area many many times everytime searching for a good place to stay. We had to overcome crowds, lack of parking, terrible dirty noisy hotels in the center searching for better place. With no results. Untill now.
Why were we granted that good luck? I do not know. But we were happy to find the place.
THE GREAT.
The view. Breathtaking, unbelievable. The lake, the mountains, the fields..this place seems to host some special quiet calming atmosphere...Try to catch the sunset.
It is a very quiet distant location so you enjoy the nature from the hill in full like there is noone else around you. But you can get to the lake and to the village if you want!
Add an excellent restaurant. Everything was so delicious.. And the views are just fabulous. But the fish is over any highest expextations.I would come back for a fish even if Not staying there for night.
The kids playground is right next to the restaurant. Enjoy your meal while kids enjoy their time there!!
Rooms with the lakeview...and a balcony... That made our day! Great start for a good day whether you plan business meetings or leisure!
The team is extremely friendly and attentive!
It is 25 min drive from Fribourg. Through beautiful landscapes!
Will be back!
THE CONCERNS
I would recommend to put some driving directions into the hotel web page as we could not find the house number we needed in our navy and we were brought to a different turn from the highway. Ask the locals - use your hands if you do not speak French! :)

Room Tip: Try to get a lakeview, the other side faces the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varese, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

There are not many restaurants with lakeview in this lake since we drove sometime to look for a nice place at the other side but luckily we found this one.

They have indoor and outdoor lakeview seating... obviously we choose the outdoor which view was spectacular... not a cheap menu in a place like this, but the meals served were really good; we had an "entrecote" (or rib-eye steak) a bit small and trout... both dishes were well presented and delicious...

There was one waiter that knew some English so it went well for us. This is a very nice place to stop to have a meal or a drink if don't want to eat, but a view like this here in this area is worth to enjoy it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tualie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

it's the view that is to die for........and ample space to enjoy it......by the side of the 'highway', overlooking lake gruyere, in a quiet scenic village, this place is a charm. the hotel as such is average - small but sufficient sized clean rooms with basic furniture, mini fridge/bar, phone, internet access and attached bathrooms (the option i went for) - even though the attached restaurant is expensive and apparently nice. some rooms also have a child bed and connecting doors for large families. however, it is the view of the lake, the open patio restaurant and just the scenic surrounding which made me fall for this place. this is a perfect place to explore gruyere and its surrounding, get some peace and quiet and relaxation. there is a swing and slide for kids in front and a car wash/gast station/grocery store nearby. you acn drive to this palce or take the bus which drops you across the road from the hotel. moderately priced, i would come back to this place if ever in this area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alina4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gruyeres, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2010

I'm reviewing the high-end restaurant rather that the hotel, since TripAdvisor does not split them; I was not in the hotel.

We had dinner in the high-end restaurant that features a beautiful view on the lake of Gruyères and on the mountains. The service is rather "wedged" and cold. They speak very quietly and try not to disturb, making the food the star. We were there a few times since the food is excellent but rather expensive. The menu is very limited in size. The last time we were there, my wife chose a hunting menu and could not eat one the main meal as it was smelling far too strong and not cooked through. They cooked it again but the smell was still bad. They did not offer something else and after we split my meal and finished it, the chef-de-service/owner lady asked if my wife did not like it, and after hearing a "no", she told, "I know, it's a strong smelling meat" and that was it. Rather unpleasant this time. I think we will not come here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Runcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avry-devant-Pont
7.3 mi away
Hotel de Gruyeres Wellness & Seminaires
7.2 mi away
La Fleur de Lys
La Fleur de Lys
#2 of 4 in Gruyeres
122 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Rallye
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hostellerie Saint-Georges
5.5 mi away
Hotel Cailler
Hotel Cailler
#1 of 3 in Charmey
372 reviews
5.7 mi away
Le Sapin
Le Sapin
#2 of 3 in Charmey
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie le Vignier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie le Vignier

Property: Hostellerie le Vignier
Address: route de la Gruyere 123, Avry-devant-Pont 1644, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Fribourg > La Gruyere > Avry-devant-Pont
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Avry-devant-Pont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie le Vignier 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hostellerie le Vignier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing