We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting”
Review of Cocina del Mar

Cocina del Mar
Ranked #68 of 615 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$50
Cuisines: Latin, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Cocina del Mar is known for its exquisite variety of fresh fish and seafood specialties. It utilizes only the freshest possible ingredients offered by La Baja, offering a light, simple, casual and progressive menu. We would call Baja, coastal, seafood restaurant concept. Is the best place for guests, owners and local visitors to celebrate life, love and friendship in a unique seating that maximizes views of the Sea of Cortez. Cocina del Mar embodies the simplicity and elegance of natural & fresh dining, the restaurant focuses on the pure essence of taste, with a genuine passion for providing an opportunity to slow down and indulge in a dining experience carefully crafted for the mind, body, and soul. Featuring local fare presented in a vibrant ─ bare style, such as tuna crudo ─ jicama taquitos or perfectly ripe heirloom tomatoes with tomatillo salsa. Along the menu a selection of local, seasonal, sustainable and organic ingredients; such as simple grilled grouper with a ripe-raw tomato sauce or small progressive bites offered directly at the table, create a freshly and wholesome concept. CDM cuisine is based on the product of the coast of Baja California, where Cortez Sea local ingredients are the stars along with seasonal fresh organic vegetables from Cabo’s near small towns. This Cuisine is highly inspired by Mexican flavors. A menu inspired in seasonal and locally grown ingredients full of Mexican flavors with some Mediterranean hints. A selection of appetizers from an Abalone with green tomatillo sauce, to fresh oysters with passion fruit ─ light spicy cocktail sauce. The Chef highlights the wide selection of La Baja ingredients, resulting dishes such as roasted octopus with peppers, avocado and toasted white corn or al pastor totoaba with annatto seed sauce and grilled pineapple. Cocina del Mar is already known for showing a real empathy with those vegetarian trend healthy eaters who can enjoy an oven beet salad with hibiscus vinaigrette or a pan roasted eggplant with pico de gallo and cilantro.
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I loved sitting on the terraces watching the waves crash against the walls. They light it up and it's very dramatic. The fireworks are awesome, too.

Thank Tristan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COCINAdelMAR, Director of Food & Beverage at Cocina del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Joan C,

Thank you for taking the time of sharing your experience with others.
I have meet with our Chef to review you food description comment and to the proper corrections and be more clear on our menu description.

Thank you once again, looking forward to see you soon at Cocina del Mar.

Sincerely,

Diego Weiss
Director of Food & Beverage
Esperanza An Auberge Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 296 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

Can't beat the view,atomopshere and service! Food was presented beautifully. However, food wasn't exactly as described on menu and steaks were overlooked.
Surprise fireworks display clinched the evening :) will go again!

Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COCINAdelMAR, Director of Food & Beverage at Cocina del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Joan C,

Thank you for taking the time of sharing your experience with others.
I have meet with our Chef to review you food description comment and to the proper corrections and be more clear on our menu description.

Thank you once again, looking forward to see you soon at Cocina del Mar.

Sincerely,

Diego Weiss
Director of Food & Beverage
Esperanza An Auberge Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Loved eating here with my wife for our anniversary! The 3 course meal was delightful and high-class.

Thank WhitecapsBrewCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COCINAdelMAR, Director of Food & Beverage at Cocina del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Chris K,

Happy anniversary!!!!

Thank you for choosing us for this such an important event!!! We feel really honored when people choose Cocina del Mar to celebrate special ocations... thank you much appreciated!!!!!!!!

Looking forward to see you soon.

Warmest regards,

Diego Weiss
Director of Food & Beverage
Esperanza An Auberge Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Dont miss this if your with your significant other.
The views and the food were un-real. What you see in movies!

Thank Gabriel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COCINAdelMAR, Director of Food & Beverage at Cocina del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Gabriel C,

Regards from sunny Esperanza!
We are glad you and your significant other have enjoyed your experience at our place!
Thank you for taking the time to share it with others, much appreciated!

Warmest regards,

Diego Weiss
Director of Food & Beverage
Esperanza An Auberge Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Best meal I've had in a long time. Excellent food, service and locale. The view is spectacular and well worth every penny spent.

1  Thank Guilherme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COCINAdelMAR, Director of Food & Beverage at Cocina del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guilherme S,

Thank you so much for taking the time of sharing your experience with other. We are pleased you have enjoyed your dinner at our place.

Looking forward to see you soon one more time at Cocina del Mar.

Sincerely,

Diego Weiss
Director of Food & Beverage
Esperanza An Auberge Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cocina del Mar also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Cocina del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing