We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't forget the Dessert!”

Desperados BBQ Tex-Mex Sports Experts
Ranked #14 of 574 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$30
Cuisines: Barbecue, Mexican, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Desperados Tex-Mex BBQ Restaurant Sports Experts, specializes in Sports & Food! We are a family friendly BBQ Tex-Mex Restaurant and Sports Bar. Our menu includes something for everyone, including Homemade Tortilla Soup, Fall Off The Bone BBQ Pork Ribs, Sizzling Tequila Fajitas served on a hot plate, Fried Ice Cream that's freshly fried in the kitchen and decorated with your favorite toppings table side and much more. We have 10 flat screen TV's that you can enjoy your favorite sports on, and YES, we will have your game! Indoor and outdoor dining available, full bar with an extensive Margarita list, free WiFi, and a boutique to purchase your Desperados T Shirt before heading home. Our house Margarita is made with fresh squezzed lime juice from organic limes and the Gran Jurado Tequila, the best Margaritas in Cabo. We have daily Happy Hour Specials 12-5pm like $1 Mimosas. Live music every Tuesday Evening. Reservations accepted daily and walk ins welcome. Make yourself at home at Desperados and bring your friends with you! We look forward to your visit.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Don't forget the Dessert!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We came to Desperados twice! We came during lunch and had the famous nachos. They were plenty for four people and were delicious! Best nachos I've ever had. Then, we came back for some dessert after dinner. We had the banana's foster. It was delicious as well! Great location and good service!

The main eating area can get a little hot, but when we were there, it was unseasonably humid outside.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desperados R, Public Relations Manager at Desperados BBQ Tex-Mex Sports Experts, responded to this review, 30 December 2014
Desperados Ultimate Naches weigh 3.3 lbs with everything on them! Your not the first person to claim that they are the best! The dessert menu includes Banana's Foster, Flaming Pina Colada, Cream Cheese Flan, and Fried Ice Cream, all of which taste delicious enough to talk about! Cabo can be a little warm, but I think that's part of why people come here. Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    559
    166
    68
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Fun, friendly atmosphere - great drinks and food!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We visited Desperados again during a recent visit to Cabo and really enjoyed our meal. Delicious margaritas, loved the mixed grill fajitas and ribs and my husband enjoyed his tortilla soup. Absolutely delicious guacamole and the sopapillas are to die for! They are not on the menu, but order them - they are cooked to order and are pillows of doughy delight covered with cinnamon and sugar and served with ice cream - SO GOOD! Friendly wait staff, fun to watch the football draft (go Seahawks!) on the oversized TV's and we enjoyed the live music the night we went...definitely worth a stop.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandJbusytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desperados R, Public Relations Manager at Desperados BBQ Tex-Mex Sports Experts, responded to this review, 1 January 2017
Thanks for visiting Desperados and for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor online travel community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“excellent restaurant/sports bar”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

awesome place to sit and have a meal, drink and watch your favorite sport. great staff and good service. will come back soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yaros09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina K, Public Relations Manager at Desperados BBQ Tex-Mex Sports Experts, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thanks for letting the title of your review say it all, "Excellent Restaurant/Sports Bar!" I agree with you that's it's an awesome place to sit and meal, drink and watch sports. I also love just hanging out and visiting with my friends and family or maybe surfing the net. I will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“FUN in the SUN”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The portions are humongous and the quality of the food is fresh and well presented. Music and fun atmosphere

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Basia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina K, Public Relations Manager at Desperados BBQ Tex-Mex Sports Experts, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thanks Vancouver Canada for your straight to the point review of Desperados. At Desperados generous portions of food are served, everything is always fresh, and the staff takes extra pride in the presentation. We have a live guitarist every Tues & Thurs night and both the customers and staff are fun and friendly! We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Cabo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great guacamole”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My wife and I tried the margaritas and the guacamole here. The guacamole is made at your table in a large mocajete. The person mixing it at your table will ask you how spicy or hot you want it and you can also let him know to add more or less of a particular item like cilantro or jalapenos. The flavor was excellent and was enough for the two of us. The margaritas were good, but not the best I had while in Cabo San Lucas.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina K, Public Relations Manager at Desperados BBQ Tex-Mex Sports Experts, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thanks for sharing your experiance with the tripadvisor community! Many tourists come to Mexico searching for excellent guacamole. Desperados guacamole is always prepared tableside just how you like it with tomatoes, onions, serrano chili, cilantro, salt and lime . The chips served with it are made fresh daily. Some other dishes that are prepared table side include the fish or shrimp Civiche, Bannanas Foster, Flaming Pina Colada, and our Flaming Mexican Coffee.

Desperados House Margaritas are made with fresh squeezed lime juice from organic limes and the Gran Jurado Tequila. If you would like a different tequila, you pay the price of the tequila and we make the House Margarita for free. Travel safe and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Desperados BBQ Tex-Mex Sports Experts also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Desperados BBQ Tex-Mex Sports Experts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing