We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food at Pocho's”
Review of Pocho's Restaurant

Pocho's Restaurant
Ranked #95 of 560 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$40
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, View
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food at Pocho's”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Accommodating. Describe what you want to eat and they'll make it for you. Like most restaurants in Cabo, better to go in the fall during fishing season when the fish is plentiful and you just order the catch of the day.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jao0427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    66
    19
    4
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
120 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“In Plain Sight”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

When walking through the marina in Cabo San Lucas, one side by the entrance is occupied by about 6 restaurants right next to each other, each with outdoor and indoor seating. They each have a crew of promoters out front showing off their daily specials in clear wrapped platters. Each one telling you why you should choose them over their immediate neighbor. It is a stretch where we normally took a deep breath and plowed forth like an NFL fullback breaking through the line. The prices advertised by the "hook men" are very inexpensive for the platters advertised. We always said "one of these days we should try one of them." Last night we did. We chose Pochos. No real reason other than the special dinner for two looked irresistible. Lobster, filet mignon, mahi-mahi, shrimp and vegetables for two for $50. We thought, "what did we have to lose?" Instead we came out winners. We started by sharing a Seafood soup, which had we each ordered one, would have been a full meal. It was filled with crab, shrimp, clams, etc. and was exquisitely spicy. Our special was served cooked to order. Our waiter, David, kept our wine and beer glasses cold and filled. The meal, a third of which we carried out, was topped with a flaming Mexican Coffee, prepared tableside. All good as was our view of the marina while we dined. Next time we will not be in such a hurry to rush through this area. I can highly recommend Pocho's.

Helpful?
Thank theredwiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Dinner in Cabo”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We had another awesome experience! This is OFFICIALLY our favorite restaurant in Cabo. Located on the Marina, Pocho's provides limited seating so reservations are recommended. Table side Caesars salad is perfection. Although no longer on the menu, tonight the chef made us the Camerones a la Diabla which is AMAZING!! So much heat with so much flavor. For those who can't handle the heat, try the Camerones Chipotle.....still has some heat but won't leave you asking for more water! Margaritas were excellent! Most of the food is prepared and cooked table side. Wait staff is very attentive and service is faster than a Mexican "minute"! Only downside is the number of mariachi bands who walk thru! People watching from your seat is a great source of entertainment!

Helpful?
Thank ScottAmbrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Better and Cheaper Authentic Mexican Food In Tucson”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Went parasailing in Cabo and asked where to eat. We were told to go to Pocho's. We were told it was where the locals go and it was inexpensive. Got there and nothing really me or the kids wanted to eat as we really wanted hard crunchy tacos. So the guy says he can make them for us no problem. So we ordered one carne asada tacos (came with three soft tacos, rice and beans, two orders of cruchy carne asada tacos and told it came with rice and beans, "we will make it special" since technically it wasn't on the menu, and an order of enchiladas. We ordered two iced teas and a coke. Food was ok, there was a two dollar taco stand we saw on the walk over that looked a lot better and I wish we had actually gone to. However, the real surprise came when we got the bill. SEVENTY DOLLARS AMERICAN!! Yes, $70 for a family of four (two adults and two children) to eat and only got 3 drinks and no alcohol!! This did NOT include the tip people!! This was only for the food. When I called the guy over he said that we ordered "a special order so you pay more". I live in Tucson, where authentic Mexican food is plentiful and I have never paid that much money for a family of four to eat. Very disappointed. It cost less for me to have two kids go parasailing than it did for this meal. If you like paying outrageous prices for food that is only ok then I recommend going to Pocho's Restaurant. I am sure there are many more restaurants in Cabo San Lucas that have much better food and don't try and rip you off.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcia143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boothbay, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Might be the best in the Marina”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

There are a mind-boggling number of restuarants that line the marina and Pochos stands out. Great staff, fun tableside prep of Ceasar salad, bananas foster, various meats, etc. At night it's romantic, loads of action everywhere you look. Small, so hard to get a table during peak times, but worth waiting for.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank justhavingfun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pocho's Restaurant also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Pocho's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing