We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home”
Review of Misiones del Cabo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Misiones del Cabo
Ranked #46 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Orangevale, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We loved our stay! We met with our son, wife and 17 month old. Comfortable beds and kid friendly. The condo had everything that we needed and then some! Bring your swim suit and walk to pool or beach. Great pool bar with great food and service. Or dress up and live it up at the Mona Lisa for fine dining or Sunset Point for Pizza. You don't need to leave the resort!
Looking forward to returning soon!
Thank You Greg and Beth for providing such a comfortable place!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theresa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    19
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
291 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We just returned from Cabo, and stayed at Misiones Del Cabo. The property is setup as individual, multi level condos. We stayed in a 2nd Floor Condo, and it was fantastic. The unit number was 5205, and I'd recommend this condo based on the view and location. It is right nearby the pool, nearby the walkway to the beach, and has amazing views on the Sunrise and Ocean. The owner is super nice, and was helpful in suggestions. He also has a fully stocked kitchen, a nice TV with premium channels, a telescope for whale watching, a set of beach chairs and a cooler on wheels (super nice!), and laundry. This was a great stay, and we will hopefully be back as soon as possible. We loved this property and Cabo. We did rent a car, which you will need. Great time

Room Tip: Rent 5205, from Jeff Collins. He is great! VRBO Listing #500152
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wuzed111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

As a Senior & first time visitor to Mexico and Baja ( for health teasons ) I had my reservations about travelling alone.
Serendipity found me in Misiones del Cabo in Building # 6, Condo Unit 6202 right on the Sea of Cortez from mid Jan to mid Mar. The neverending beautiful weather (blue skies, sunny, warm but always accompanied by delightful breezes made every day comfortable ) and the awesome views were the high point of each & every day. Both Sunrise and Sunset views are spectacular but the absolute best part of this place was the daily Whale sightings right from the comfort of our Patio. Dozens would frolic for our viewing pleasure! Second best would be the relaxing sounds of the waves crashing against the shore lulling us to sleep all night long.
The grounds are so lovely and immaculately kept.
The Snorkelling Beach is such a peaceful place to spend the day...either snorkelling , relaxing on beach, playing in the waves, exploring the rocks, tidal pools during low tides, treasure hunting for shells or beach glass. I was told. By many snorkelling aficionados who have travelled the world that the variety of fish right there in that little Bay is quite impressive. The Surfing Beach is also fun to explore and watch the surfers ride the waves.
The review entitled " Great Resort and Getting Better " pretty much describes the Resort to a " T "
I also have to say that Jose at the Reception desk is a real gem as are most of the workers with whom I came into contact....especially Javier, Mario, Daniel........I felt safe and secure knowing these people were watching out for this Canadian Senior!
Taking the bus into town or San Jose del Cabo was very easy and very reasonable ( $1 into & around Cabo; $3 into San Jose del Cabo).
I even managed to take a bus alone into Todos Santos. That little Artisan town, known as Pueblo Magico is a true delight. The views all along the Pacific & the several lush, fertile Oases in the midst of desert was a lovely surprise.
All in all, the Mexican people I encountered in Los Cabos & Todos Santos could not be more helpful, kind and happy. They all went out of their way to deliver that extra service. Rather unusual in today's world.
I would go back there to stay all Winter in a heartbeat. I cannot say enough positive comments about the place, the weather, the views, and, most of all, the Mexican people.
Hope this serves as inspiration to other first time travellers to Baja.

Room Tip: BUILDINGS 1 and 6 right on Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank S L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Renting condo via VRBO & once again, thoroughly enjoying our stay. The day pool remains open with Pepe tending the bar/food area with his son. Grounds are immaculate as always. Misiones is not for the "party" crowd as owners/renters are older/mature, but we have seen some younger couples around. No families with small children this year. Bonus, the afternoon pool (facing Cabo Bay and town) is opened this year, no services at pool but it is nice to have it available. Construction at Monument Beach property has resumed and if renting on side facing Cabo, you may note some noise, but as development is some distance it shouldn't be a problem. Sunrock Hotel next door has expanded operations and you can use there gym/exercise room for $20 week, $50 mth. (look at their website for accommodations as well)They also have small convenience store/food snacks available (nice people there) Most of the same staff at Misiones remain and grounds are immaculate. Very few timeshare people at resort due to problems with developer (it has been going on for years as developer is in financial difficulty). Pool area is quiet, Lots of rentals via VRBo or other sites- look closely as you get what you pay for. A quiet, beautiful spot near Cabo.

Room Tip: Get a condo that has been remodelled Also check that they have internet and if staying longer, must...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My wife and I have stayed here a couple of times over the last few years and have always had good to great experiences! Just to clarify, there are two distinct properties @ Misiones Del Cabo. The privately owned condominiums (some of which are available for rent) and the Hotel / Timeshare property. These share some amenities like the secure gated entry, pools, concierge (Jose is an excellent resource when you need something or want to schedule activities like golf or a dinner cruise!) etc., but they are separate properties. The timeshare vacation rental complex had some difficulty (some of the previous reviews where accurate) but management is currently making very nice progress and this will be a great property (we were inside these and the units themselves are incredible). The Sea of Cortez and Land's End views from both properties are incredible! Both properties are only a 5 -10 minute cab ride (taxi's are always available at the front desk) from Downtown Cabo and cost about $15. You can shop, eat and party all night and for $15, get a cab right back to the front desk. If you want hang around the condo, you have a swim up bar with a grill that serves great taco's, burgers etc. and they make excellent drinks (Wednesday night is Mexican Night and Friday special is fish)! You can also eat at Sunset Da Mona Lisa, which has a more formal restaurant on lower level (best Sea of Cortez and sunset views available) or relax and have drinks, pizza etc. at Sunset Point Wine & Pizza Lounge, the upstairs restaurant. Both are excellent and you can walk there in literally 1 minute! There is also a mini-market and a breakfast and lunch grill just outside the front entrance. If you walk about 5-10 minutes up the Misiones driveway to the main Highway, Puerta Vieja Restaurant & Bar is another excellent place to eat without having to take a ride into Cabo! The Misiones grounds are very nice, well kept and so are the people that work there! There are two pools on the properties. The condominium pool has always been open, clean and there is plenty of furniture / umbrella's etc. I already mentioned the swim-up bar, but it never hurts to repeat this! We spent plenty of time there and met a lot of great people! The timeshare pool has been closed for some time, but we were told that this pool is scheduled to reopen in September 2013. This pool also has a swim up bar and fantastic views of the Sea of Cortez! When you turn off the main highway toward the properties, the entrance road looks rough, almost scary! There has been a fair amount of construction on a new high-end resort property just down the coast from Misiones. There are remodel and road construction plans for the new and improved entrance once this construction is completed. We have also heard that the adjacent property to Misiones may be the new home for an 18 hole (famous golfer designed) golf course. Misiones is a beautiful, quiet and comfortable property that is very nice and getting better every day! You can relax here and in 10 minutes be downtown Cabo for a night of partying you won't forget!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jcollfinsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

4th floor 1 bedroom overlooking the pool and looking northwest, privately owned condo from a gentleman in california. Not the "hotel" building - which seems closed...

The one bedroom unit is clean and spacious. Has all the amenities and accoutrements of home. The balcony is huge and has a great view of the Sea of Cortez but not of the arch (south). It has lounge chairs and a round table and chairs for dining (you could probably have a party with 50 people standing - it's just that big).

The kitchen has everything from a juicer to a blender to all the pots, pans, and utensils to feed those 50 people! U will need to supply styrofoam (no paper to be found), plasticware, and paper towels.

It's air conditioned, has ceiling fans, and a washer & dryer. TV, DVD player and satellite - but 90% of the Chanels are in Spanish...

Enormous shower and spacious bedroom, with tons of storage throughout the unit.

The pool is outside the balcony and bedroom and just an elevator ride away. It can be noisy, but closing the doors cuts it all off. There is a bartender and a cook - for sure Friday, Saturday and Sunday (and now Monday). Margs are $6 us and beers $2. Tacos and quesedillas are ~$2.50.

The pool only has 4 umbrellas, so we came down early each day to snag one (9:00). U can move them from hole to hole - depending on where ur sitting.

The sea is a 3 minute walk away and it has a half dozen or so stationary "hut" type umbrellas on a first come basis. Swimming and snorkeling is to the left of the stairs and big rock - but then u must stay to the far right along the rocky outcropping. The big waves and scary rocks in the middle demand it. Actually, u don't have to go out very far to see fish, so wading with a face mask will work. It's best to go at high tide for all water activities. Otherwise the waves can be treacherous.

Overall, the property is well manicured and maintained. Landscapers are everywhere but never in ur way. It's clean and the mix of owners and vacationers is perfect. The owners and locals are helpful and friendly.

My bad spanish (I call it 101 Spanish verbs Spanish) and the working English of most locals is all u need to get by.

One day we paid $10 US for a taxi to the Walmart - Jose the dude out front - told the driver $10 not $12. But it was $12 back. The driver told us it would be $15 to downtown.

Another day we were brave and caught the bus to DT!! It was about a 30 minute walk to the service road on the other side of the main drag; stick out ur arm or wave ur hat to flag down the myriad of busses. One guy told us they run every 20 mins or so - they have all shapes and forms, from ancient to modern - but they all seem to get u downtown and back.

It was $1.00 US each way. We jumped off at the marina - which is what we confirmed when getting on. So the driver just stopped for us at the "marina stop" - as there are not set stops or stands to get on or off. Seems that u wait wherever and jump off when u need to.

From our place it was exactly an hour from the unit to Maria Jimenez's table - and that was after going into the mall to cool down and use the restoom!! See other reviews for Maria Jimenez's restaurant. It was worth the trip for the seafood combo (lobster, shrimp to die for, and bass - all very fresh) since it and an appetizer and mango water And "house specialty" mint lime water cost us $40 CASH!!! It's a cash only spot.

There was a different kind of bus waiting to take us north and again we mentioned where we were heading - this time to Walmart for a few more groceries. Several others got off in the same "area" and we made our way across the 2 service roads and the Main Drag. That mall also houses several useful stores - including Sams club and Koi sushi - the freshest I've ever had! (I'm not a huge sushi fan but it was all very tasty)

We walked back across the street with 2 cloth grocery bags we bought from home and just waited on the other side of the street for the northbound bus. It took abt 10 mins. This driver didn't know where missiones was but a local spoke up and gave his the landmark. Either way, once we saw it we could have just yelled out "aqui" and he would have stopped.

It was 20 mins downhill with the bags and wasn't bad at all. Just happy the elevator was working at tha time, since it was out the day we arrived...

This place is off the beaten path from the nightlife and hustle and bustle. But if serenity and rest is what u seek, this is the perfect spot!

Oh, Mona Lisa's sunset bar and pizza (or sunset combo thereof) is a 5 min walk and overlooks the part of the sea towards DT and the famous arch. Be sure to walk down to the lower terrace, sit on the couch and take in one of the spectacular sunsets - for free!!!

Adios!!

PS - we have heard good things about Puerto Viaje and their lobster for $19.99. We plan to walk there tomorrow night to see for ourselves! It's located on the main drag at the top of the hill that leads here...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Splive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnwood, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Perfect place for me! Now, that being said this is not a "resort" atmosphere and is merely timeshare condominiums with limited services in the building. However, you cannot beat the view and the proximity to the Marina is about a 5 min drive. There is one open pool, no hot tub (disappointing), you can buy tasty cheap tacos, and quesadillas at the swim up bar. What more do you need? The room rate was incredible! I found the place on the VRBO website.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manswe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
2.1 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#7 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hacienda Beach Club & Residences
Hacienda Beach Club & Residences
#1 of 39 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Medano Beach Villa
Medano Beach Villa
#19 of 39 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marina Cabo Plaza
Marina Cabo Plaza
#10 of 39 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
2.3 mi away
Club Cascadas de Baja
Club Cascadas de Baja
#32 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misiones del Cabo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misiones del Cabo

Property: Misiones del Cabo
Address: Carr. Transpeninsular Km. 5.5, Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Misiones del Cabo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misiones Del Cabo Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Misiones Del Cabo Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing