We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Montecristo is the Perfect Vacation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito
Ranked #10 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Redwood City, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Montecristo is the Perfect Vacation.”
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We just came back from a 2 week vacation at the Montecristo Estates at Pueblo Bonito Resort Sunset Beach. This is our third stay at Montecristo, but our first as fractional owners. When we purchased fractional ownership a year and half ago, we knew Montecristo was our dream vacation home. What's not to like at Montecristo? You get a gorgeous 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom plus 2 half bath home with your own infinity pool. Did I mention the views? All the homes have unobstructed views of the Pacific Ocean. There's also a computer in each home so you can keep in touch with friends back home or surf the Internet. There's a clubhouse for Montecristo Estates that has a gym, pool, lobby/registration and sports bar. Right now, they are putting the finishing touches on a spa and deli in the clubhouse. If you get tired of these amenities, you are free to use any of the pools at any of the other Pueblo Bonito Resorts in Los Cabos. Since the Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach resort is the closest, we tended to frequent it the most. La Frida Restaurant at Sunset Beach is excellent! The Bistro at Sunset Beach is great for everyday meals and have a nice variety on the menu (everything from Asian, Italian to Mexican). Wonderful food and service. Forgot to mention that Montecristo homes also have a personal concierge. If you need anything, you can call your personal concierge to help you. When you are at Montecristo, you can charge all of your restaurant, spa, and pool charges at any of the Pueblo Bonito resort to your villa/home. My family loves our home away from home and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CAVacationGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    89
    27
    13
    18
See reviews for
399
159
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Let's start off with the good stuff: all of the villas are the size of a house, with three bedrooms, 3 baths, and 2 1/2 baths, along with a nice-size pool, and a fully-functional kitchen. The Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Resort is convenient and close by, easily accessible by either the private Montecristo shuttle, or the foot mobile (walking). The view is absolutely gorgeous, and the villas have a stupendous view of either the sunrise or sunset, depending on which way the villa is facing. The maid service is wonderful, and the food is great at the pools and restaurants at the Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Resort.

And now the bad stuff. Luckily, there's really only one thing; the seemingly steroid-injected bugs. I, like most teenage girls (and people), have a reasonable fear of any type of bug. Unfortunately, many of the bugs that I saw in my room were HUGE. I saw 2 tarantula-sized spiders; I think that they were brown recluses, which are not deadly, but I've heard that they pack quite a punch with their bite. I call them invinci-spiders, because the things WOULD NOT DIE, even though my dad hit the larger one with a mop several times. It eventually died, though. There are many moths around, and large ants, as well as some gigantic cockroaches. There are also large beetles and dragonflies... I think the scariest thing that I found was a scorpion. I wasn't sure what type it was (and I wasn't about to get close enough to inspect it), but I think that it was an Arizona bark scorpion, judging from the descriptions on the internet. Supposedly, they aren't supposed to be deadly to an adult, but if a child is bitten, it is recommended that they be taken to the hospital for treatment because of the neurotoxins in the sting. My dad was able to trap the scorion with a cup and cardboard; unfortunately, he cut off one of it's claws in the process.

All in all, the stay was very relaxing, and the view was gorgeous. It's a great family place; it's spacious enough that the kids won't have to complain about being in each other's space, and there are many recreational things to do such as riding ATV's, going on the zipline tour, and riding waverunners on the beach. The hotel can set up many of those activities for you.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrimsonXBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamo, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Montecristo is a collection of luxury villas on the hill high above the Pueblo Bonito Sunset and Pacifica resorts. I believe they are all two story, three bedroom units with sleeper sofas upstairs and down. The finishes are all top notch and each has its own mini-infinity edge swimming pool plus a hot tub. Room service is available from the Sunset Beach Resort. Spa treatments at these resorts are available but are very expensive even by American resort standards.

Daily maid service, gated entry and great views of the Pacific made this truly a memorable week in paradise. They offer shuttle service (every 20 minutes) down to the resorts where you can use their facilities and once an hour to their sister resort in Cabo (we didn't use that as we had a car). The facilities at Monte Cristo are limited to a gym, a very pleasant pool area and a sports bar.

I had read somewhere that golf was available at these resorts. It is not as the course construction in behind schedule (hey, it is Mexico) and the course is now scheduled to open in 2013 as an 18 hole layout, not the 36 as originally planned. There are two phases to Montecristo, the newer phase is lower on the hill, making it closer to the resorts but also providing a less dramatic view. Any of these units will create a vacation that you will remember for ever.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We just returned from a week in Villa 31 and had a wonderful time! The villas are beautiful and well thought out and having our own pool as well as access to the other PB properties was amazing.

They've recently opened a new clubhouse with a seamless check in area, sports bar, pool, and great fitness center. Our other villa stays we're at Esperanza and Wailea Beach Villas, both of which run over $2500/nt, so we did our best not to compare Monte Cristo to these properties as we found the villa online for $1800/wk. As expected, the details fell short of these properties (linens, bbq, kitchen appointments, etc.) but it was still very nice and we would definitely return.

We rented a car for the week which is the only way to go. You can rent a nice car for about $150/wk online which I'm not sure would cover even the airport transfers, so not only was it a great convenience but also saved us quite a bit of money over the course of the week and eliminated the hassle of the golf carts.

Our only complaint about the MC would be the roach problem... I realize that we're in the tropics and finding a dead roach or two during your stay is to be expected, but we found over a dozen dead in our villa including 6 one day! I talked to management and they seemed shocked but apparently did nothing as the problem persisted and they offered us nothing for our trouble. By the end of the trip I would get up and scour the house and clear the dead bodies before my wife ventured out of the bed. Again, details that would have been addressed at other properties.

All in all, a wonderful property and a great value.

Room Tip: Scour the internet for deals as vacancy is high!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdxlovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY/NJ
Level Contributor
67 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We have stayed at 6 resorts in Cabo (Las Ventanas, Sunset Beach, The Pacifica, the Melia, The Blanco, and Montecristo)

The villas at Montecristo are Exceptional. They are spacious with private pools and breathtaking views of the Pacific. You will enjoy the constant breeze. Housekeeping does a great job keeping it clean, especially given the size of the villas.

Getting around is a bit tough, as it is set up on a mountainside. I often walked to Pacifica for spa services or to the other pools at Sunset Beach, because I didn't want to wait for a cart. They arranged for us to be picked up from the airport in two large Suburbans. They have an Avis on the property, so we rented a Suburban for the day to go to Todos Santos.

I recommend taking the day to use the zip lines. Montecristo will set up activities for you.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMKC08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2011

Just returned from our first stay at MonteCristo. We have owned at Sunset for several years and have loved it, and just upgraded to MonteCristo Phase 2. We brought along another family, for a total of 4 adults and 4 children, and there was plenty of room. The weather was picture -perfect, though the nights were chillier on the mountain than below at Sunset. We had an awesome time, and our only complaint was that there was construction going on below, so if we stayed at home during the day, it was noisy. Since we had 8-11 yr olds, we spent most of the time at the pools at Sunset, anda few days at Rose and Blanco, so the noise wasn't a huge issue, but if we had opted to stay in the home the whole time, we would have asked to be moved (which they were willing to do). We never had a problem getting 8 chairs at the pools, except for the main pool which fills up pretty quickly. We also found that having a car was almost a necessity, and more cost effective than a taxi. Best value for food was at Walmart which was a short drive downtown, and saved us a bundle since in previous years we ate out every night. We have already booked our trip for next year--can't wait!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaboloverNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

We had a great time in Cabo. Monticristo did not have our reservation and blamed it on Registry Collection who said it was Monticristo's fault - they tend to be a little "flexible" in their responses. The villa was great, although it needed some updated (as compared to Monticristo II). We took a friend with us and she really enjoyed the downstairs to herself.
Unfortunatly, we left our swimsuits in the dryer and called back the same day we checked out. I've called a few times and sent emails but no luck.

We would definitely go back!!

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank tracyl472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
5.1 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,158 reviews
2.1 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#7 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
2.2 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,540 reviews
1.7 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito

Property: Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito
Address: Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Montecristo Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing