We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Montecristo is the way to go"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito
Ranked #10 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Agoura Hills, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Montecristo is the way to go"”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I recently stayed at the Montecristo villa with my kids and my sister and her kids. I believe that this is the way to go. You have your own 3 bedroom house with a full kitchen , washer /dryer and its very own private pool and jacuzzi. My suggestion is to make your own breakfast in your house, then venture out for the day. Whether it be to the resort pools, or the sister hotels or a trip to Chileano bay, then, come back to your house take a swim then have dinner from your kitchen. Did I mention that the rental comes with your very own concierge? Our concierge was named Raul G. He was awesome. He came by every morning to ask if we needed anything. He made dinner reservations for us, taxi pick ups, airport transfers, even checked the weather for us at Chileano bay. This was a great amenity to have.
Gloria, Salve, and Oscar down at the La nao restaurant treated us like kings. Golf cart drivers were a bit overwhelmed but were very friendly and funny. Spa is always great.
This is a big resort. When you go,,,,,slow down,,, relax. Yes, golf carts take a while but it is such a beautiful place, enjoy it.

Room Tip: ALll of the rooms are ocean view. Cant go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    92
    29
    14
    18
See reviews for
421
160
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The villa is as advertised. Three big bedrooms, and an additional living room and we slept 6 adults and three kids comfortably. Every morning we got up, made our own breakfast and jumped in the pool. There are breezes all day long, plus shade, so the sun was manageable. They spare no expense on the interior, marble floors inside, grill and hot tub outside.

We were able to walk anywhere we wanted on property and did not use the shuttle at all. People complain about it, but I don't see why. We enjoyed the walking, and it was safe on the sidewalks. The beach is pretty hot and only good to use in the early morning for a walk. You cannot swim there. The gym is very small and no AC, so my exercise was walking and swimming.

Everyone working there is super friendly, and especially responsive is you just learn a few spanish words. All the restaurants are fine, but we liked to drive the three miles to town and eat at places more authentic. The driving was very easy, plenty of parking in the street or in the few garages around town. Just head to the marina area.

I suggest gettitng a minivan, get the mexican insurance (you have to), and its easy to drive anywhere. All the golf courses are fantastic.

We did not like the main beach, Medano, as the ledge was very deep , it was hot, and the vendors harass constantly. We drove up to Chileno bay and that was our favorite. It is more of a locals beach, with built in shade huts for free. The beach was calmer, easy for kids to swim, and some of the best snorkling ever! We bought a couple masks and brought them with us. You don't need the flippers, as the fish are everywhere and they call it the living aquarium. It was our favorite part of the trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank michaelsAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, CA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Recently spent a week at Montecristo through Registry. Check-in takes forever...but staff is very friendly. The groceries they offered to have in the villa pre-arrival were never delivered, and no explanation or apology was given. The villa is beautiful, but had an overwhelming odor of fried fish. So, not a great first impression. You would think someone beside me might have noticed PRIOR to my arrival. Housekeeping sprayed room freshener, so the villa then smelled like fish AND lavender. Awesome. Took two days to fade. Concierge continued to refer to me by the wrong last name, even though I corrected it daily. My boss gave me trip, but in spite of changing the last name on the reservation to my own name, repeatedly, they just could not get it fixed. Room service food was mediocre at best, but Cibola was wonderful. Spa is excellent, and offered daily specials which made it very affordable. I would go back, but set my expectations for service much lower.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank PetalumaMamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuebloBonitoResorts, General Manager at Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

We would like to thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review us. All of your reviews are important to us and take immediate action to correct or improve any areas of opportunities we may have. We apologize for any inconveniences you may have encountered during your stay. Rest assure that your comments will be reviewed to insure that we meet all expectations of our owners/clients. We thank you for choosing us as your vacations destination and hope to be at your service in the near future.

Warm regards
Daniel Medina, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Montecristo could be fantastic - space is beautiful, close to town, great amenities, reasonable price. That said, the concierge service was seriously lacking. Started with them being non-responsive when I emailed to arrange things ahead of time. After the property manager contacting them, they finally responded and seemed helpful in terms of booking restuarant on property, arranging pre-stocked groceries, etc. When we arrived, however, there were no prestocked groceries. After calling, they went and got some, but it took nearly 2 hours, during which we didn't even have bottled water, nor the beer/snacks we ordered so we didn't have to go to the store for groceries our first day. They apologized, but there was no make good offer. Upon checkin, they were more interested in selling the timeshare breakfast than telling us things about the property we needed to know (like fact the sky pool was closed one day during out stay - the day we intended to go - didn't find out until we called for the shuttle). We moved ahead and then had more problems - taxis/shuttles ordered that didn't show up, including causing us to miss the main shuttle to Pueblo Bonito for our beach day, and nearly miss our dinner reservation in town. If we hadn't had a car, we would've missed two reservations and our beach day (and had to have one of us refrain from drinking due to the fact we'd been forced to drive - a bummer when in Cabo). It was extremely frustrating because they would say they couldn't take the reservation before a certain time, or, they had the reservation and would schedule it, and then when we'd call back they'd have no record of it. It happened at least 3x. We talked to management about this our second to last day and were told they would adjust our spa treatments as compensation, but when we went to the spa the last morning, there was no compensation. We talked with them again upon departure and were credited $150 but considering a $2500 stay plus meals, etc, and the supposed caliber of this resort, were disappointed. It could've really been amazing, and was instead, frustrating. We had hoped to make it an annual girls trip, but don't know now if we'd return. (That said, spa, restaurants, pools were spectacular).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travllovr521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuebloBonitoResorts, General Manager at Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review us, we are very happy to hear you had a wonderful time during your stay with us, however we apologize for any inconvenience that we may have caused you, will make sure to take your comments into consideration for any future matters. We truly hope you come back to Montecristo Estates.

Warm Regards,
Daniel Medina, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

just spent a week there with family and friends, the villas are beautiful and magnificent. with the exception of our first nights check in, our stay was truly wonderful. food, bar, shuttle, and concierge service outstanding. hats off to Raul for making our stay wonderful. there is not a better place to stay in Cabo for three couples. villas have three master bedrooms, full kitchen, two living areas, large deck and infinity pool!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuebloBonitoResorts, General Manager at Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Joe M,

We would like to thank you for your comments on our concierge staff Raul, we hope you come back soon, please don't hesitate to contact us for your next visit!

Warm Regards,
Daniel Medina, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The view, accommodations, service and food was excellent. Sunset Beach and Pueblo Bonita sister hotels on the Sea of Cortez were top notch. Our waiters became like family, accommodating and attentive. The house keeping staff always had a nice surprise with tropical flower arrangements when we returned to our villa. We participated in the beach dinner parties and took advantage of the pools, (loved the sky pool) and fitness center. Food service wasn't the fastest, but it forced us to wind down and relax! All meals were excellent.

Can't wait to plan another trip.

Room Tip: We had a villa, 3 BR, plenty of space for 6-8 adults
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuebloBonitoResorts, General Manager at Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Jeff M,

Thank you for appreciating our maids hard work, they truly love their jobs and thank our guest's comments, we feel very happy to hear that your experience with us was amazing. We hope you return back soon!

Sincerely,
Daniel Medina, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Want a vacation resort that is super in every respect, try the MonteCristo in Cabo. Your own pool, can sleep 10, own hot tub, over-looking the Pacific Ocean. Full maid service everyday and transportation provided to other sister resorts. Concierge is outstanding. Full kitchen and even Chef service if you want. Location is super-away from all the loud hotels/resorts. Suggestion-don't buy your food at deli on the resort. Totally over-priced at 5 to 6 times the normal price downtown. It pays to take a taxi and go downtown to Mega/Costco, etc.

Room Tip: All villas are outstanding and super views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColMel86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuebloBonitoResorts, General Manager at Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind remarks about our resort, every day me make our best so our guests like you can have an outstanding stay with us!

Warm Regards,
Daniel Medina, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
5.1 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,190 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
847 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#7 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
1.7 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito

Property: Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito
Address: Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Montecristo Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing