We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roger's B-Day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Resort at Pedregal
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This is my second time at Capella Pedregal and I can't say enough about this resort. Having stayed at many 5 star resorts, I would rate Capella Pedregal among the best. The staff are frendly, attentive and seem to really enjoy thier work. An unmistakeable sense of pride is apparent in how they care for the guests. I would highly recomend this resort to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nortobor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,801)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,550 - 1,556 of 1,801 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2011

Best trip we ever experienced. We stayed at Villa Olamar with private infinity pool. will advise everybody to stay in this facility. May be little expensive but worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raneem12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

I never write reviews, but I felt compelled to write about the Capella as it was truly a great experience. The location is a 10. The Views are spectacular. The service from the moment you are greeted at the airport to the moment you leave is exceptional. This is how a property is supposed to be managed. If you are on a tight budget then this place is not for you. But if you are looking to have the best dining experience, and most relaxing vacation possible, than the Capella is definitely a winner! Almost all of the rooms are beautifully appointed, and have their own plunge pools. Not a jacuzzi or whirlpool, an actual infinity pool on the balcony with a view of the ocean. Each room has it's own espresso machine with unlimited use included. So while the room rate may seem high, this hotel doesn't nit pick like all of the other hotels. If you stay here, you will not be dissappointed. Just keep in mind the beach is not safe to actually swim in. I didn't care because the pool is so amazing. Thank you Capella, you made our honeymoon memorable. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dfabiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We were greeted by CP staff at the airport and from that moment the staff and service were excellent. Check in was a breeze, we were actually upgraded to a beach casita from an Estrella suite. The casita was fantastic. The resort itself wasnt overrun by a huge crowd of people, no saving your chair by the pool at 6am. Not a gaggle of obnoxious kids in sight.
Spa was great and relaxing. The only disappointing part of our stay was the food at the 2 main restaurants, especially the seafood place, it was ridiculously overpriced and average at best. The other " Mexican" restaurant was fantastic for breakfast but dinner again was average but expensive. The pool bar\grill was terrific however, we had lunch there everyday.
Guacamole and chips every afternoon was a nice touch. We will be back.
Be sure to get breakfast included, it's a must and a great deal.

Room Tip: If you can swing it, casitas are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmhtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Really beautiful property, great service, clean and manicured... but then I expect that @ $750 USD per night (non all-inclusive). With a deal that was fourth night free, I thought it was nice enough place, so we went for it. On the most part it was great except I honestly don't think the value is there. The food is very expensive ($20 for a bottle of sparkling water), but I would overlook all of that if it was not the shocker at checkout. I look at my bill and though it was a mistake but every night there was a $112.50 "Service Charge" AND $82.50 IVA (?) + $22.50 Tax. THIS IS $217.50 FOR EACH NIGHT ON FEES... If you're staying for 5 nights, add another $1,087 to your stay for "fees". My $3,800 became $4,800....

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank TomTraveler74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapellaManagement, Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the overall services that Capella Pedregal offered and confirm with you that 100% of the service charge on the folio is paid directly to the Team on property. As with all other hotels in Cabo and most in Mexico, the service fee and taxes are addition to the room night charge (15% service fee and 14% taxes). This is very clearly stated at the time of reservation and with our email confirmation. It is never our intent to hide any charges and we appreciate you bringing this to the attention of all our valued clients who read this review. If you felt as though you were mislead, we sincerely apologize. We think it is also important to clarify your concern on the sparkling water. The price of our water is strategically set at 40% below our competitive set in the market with the intent to add value to our dining locations the Beach Club,Don Manuels and El Farallon. We charged you for the two bottles of Water consumed for the price you describe above inclusive of tax and service. Once again, we appreciate you staying at the property and we truly hope you choose to return to Capella Pedregal as a valued repeat guest in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Capella Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Finally a true top notch hotel that is actually IN Cabo San Lucas. Capella brings it all together. Beautiful place and a suite with a view that is second to none. Great service. And the privacy you want with none of those pesky beach vendors. And once you are outside of their property you are in Cabo and not 45 minutes away. Thats the best of both worlds right there. It was nice not to have to drive at night down that highway after dinner and drinks.
Of course expect to pay what you would at Palmilla and Esperanza. When comparing the three my wife and I agree they all do it right in their own way. Palmilla has that tropical feel to it. Capella did theirs with the ocean, cliffs and desert in mind. The tunnel entrance through this huge rocky cliff starts it all off and we both smiled like kids on a new adventure.
My wife has the eye for details where I dont. But we both agreed that our suite, the Estrella, was done nicely. We enjoyed our own private plunge pool on the balcony and found that it came in handy when we didnt want to do the poolside thing. Privacy.
There were some minor interruptions when it came to housekeeping. I would have preferred a little consistancy when they came to clean. We hate surpises and interruptions and they had odd clean up times.It wasnt that busy. I also felt their housekeeping staff to be the least friendly part of their support group.
On the other end of the chart the guys at the Fitness Center were more than helpful and friendly. Since we both make the gym part of our daily routines we got to know and appreciate Carlos and Fernando.The place has everything you could want or need, even private training rooms. Not to sound biased, but Carlos is from the States and as a trainer his knowledge was a great asset . Freshly sliced fruit and squeezed OJ was nice too.
We did try all three restaurants and found that by far the breakfast buffet at Don Manuels to be our favorite. Being in a seaside resort you can expect the freshest seafood. The advantage is in the preparation and The Farallon Restaurant really went the extra mile on that one. Great service. Expect the bill to reflect it too. But if we wanted something less we would have stayed somewhere else. Make sure to go when theres a nice evening ocean breeze because it can get warm even at night.
Again my wife and I both agreed that the weekly Managers Cocktail Party is a great idea. We got to meet not only other guests but the General Manager Peter Bowling. Very gracious with his english accent. And because it was at the beginning of our stay we felt very comfortable and familiar with the staff.
Capella is probably the only place if you really wanted to stay within Cabo. There is no other choice, hands down. And do take the sunset cruise from the marina so you can appreciate the location. When you pass by the hotel and see it from the water it offers a peek into what the hotel wanted to achieve...the best of both worlds.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bratpackjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

My husband and I just came back from Capella Pedregal and had an amazing experience! The view is incredible, the rooms are fantastic (complete with your own private plunge pool on your balcony) and the staff is so friendly and kind. All the extras they do really make a great vacation into a vacation you will never forget!

We spent 8 days at Capella and could have stayed 8 more, easy! We really felt at home. Upon arrival we were given a welcome drink of freshly made hibiscus water. We were given a tour of the grounds and explanation of the property. When we arrived in our room, we were welcomed in with a kind, "Welcome home!" A bottle of Don Julio Anejo was left for us complete with salt and limes. The room was incredible. Open area shower with two heads and a view of the ocean, giant bathtub, separate toilet area, double sink, fireplace, tv, iPod docking station and of course, the private patio with plunge pool. Every day at happy hour time, chips, salsa, guacamole and beer was delivered to our room (N/C). Turn down service was provided each night complete with different candies everyday, a candle lit and slippers left out for you.

At the pool, which is incredible (infinity edge pool overlooking the ocean), you never have to go and get a towel from a towel place. Towels are layed out for you and cold bottles of water in ice are given to you as often as needed. There is a swim up pool bar that offers a variety of both alcoholic and fun non-alcoholic drinks (I'm pregnant, so that was nice). Periodically, throughout the day, amenities are pased around the pool area. Items such as fresh watermelon skewers with mint, samples of different margaritas, chocolate covered bananas, sorbet topped with fruit, etc. Nice touch!

One of the most romantic seafood restaurants is located on property. El Farrellon. It overlooks the ocean and water sprays up on the nearby rocks given all diners a show. It's pretty amazing!

Property is located very close to town, so my husband and I walked nearly every day to and from town for dinner. It's also practically right across the street from the marina.

Enjoyed a complimentary Cocktail Party hosted by the GM while on our stay. Met GM and his wife, Food and Beverage Mgr and Spa Mgr. All spoke with us at length and shared fun stories. Very nice! Food and Beverage Mgr even surprised my husband and I with a complimentary fondue desert at El Farrallon. Staff at Capella is really top notch!

We will definitely be coming back and highly recommend it. Although maybe it would be better to keep it hush hush and make it our little secret. :)

Other Capella locations in the works around the world.

Room Tip: Higher the floor the better the view. I think there is only 4 floors, so you want 3rd or 4th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirshsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
4.3 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#3 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,248 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#7 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,002 reviews
1.1 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#14 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
1.5 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
0.6 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Pedregal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Pedregal

Address: Camino Del Mar 1, Cabo San Lucas 23455, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: £572 - £1,764 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resort at Pedregal 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your journey begins as you emerge from Dos mares Tunnel, carved through a solid mountain, to discover paradise. The Resort at Pedregal welcomes you with familial Mexican charm. The check-in desk, located below the azure blue sky, illustrates the endless possibilities. 96 rooms and suites, each with a private plunge pool with stunning ocean views, personal assistant service, fireplace, LCD television, iPod docking station and complimentary wireless internet, and complimentary refreshments allow you to rehydrate and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Resort at Pedregal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capella Pedregal Hotel Cabo San Lucas
The Resort At Pedregal Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing