We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Resort at Pedregal
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazingly Awesome!”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed at Capella Pedregal with six couples for a few 50th Birthday celebration's in our group. From the pick up at the airport to the return back to the airport I can't think of one thing that wasn't absolutely perfect!

The location is amazing and the room locations with views are out of this world plus leaving the breakaway door open to hear the ocean waves all night long was so relaxing. The infinity plunge pools (ask them to turn up the heat--they will!), the showers, two person tub, surround sound in room, lighting......I could go on and on how nice the room was at Capella. We had an Ocean View on the top floor which provided great sun to just sit out and relax on your own patio.

They have thought out all the little extras that make you feel like you are their only guest and royalty at that!! Honestly...you are greeted with a Margarita as soon as you pull through the tunnel and get out of your limo from the airport. Upon being escorted to your room you will find beer, chips, and guac as well as peanuts and tequilla!! The mini bar beverages are complimentary which is a bonus as most hotels charge ridiculous prices for this!

There wasn't one thing that we asked for that a staff person didn't smile and say..."yes...absolutely...sure...I will get that for you"! The staff remembers you name and are always smiling and just happy to be helping you have a great experience. We even asked some of the staff about everyone being so happy! They told us that it was a great place to work---how could it not be?! We were also told that as part of the staff orientation they actually stay at the hotel as a guest with their spouse/friend so they can experience what it is like to stay at the hotel. What a great idea...!

The hotel set up golf, kayaking, and a luxury boat cruise for us and it was absolutely fabulous! They work with very high quality vendors so our experiences were just amazing.

It is a super easy (&safe!) walk to town and they will even zip you through the tunnel if you don't feel like walking through it. Lots to do in town and fun restaurants near by although you really don't need to leave the resort because their food is fabulous. We ate (and drank!) at all the restaurants on property and had a fabulous experience at all of them.

As for the spa....Oh my gosh! Make sure you spend a day at the spa and enjoy all the features it has to offer. Given our seasoned traveling group, we all agreed that the spa was
by far the best spa any of us have ever been in! (That's saying a lot!!)

Although there were some families at Capella while we were there I am not sure this is a place I would have brought young kids. Only because it is such a relaxing environment although knowing Capella they would adore kids with open arms! I can't really comment on the services offered for children except I did see their kids pool which included child sized lounge chairs which were so adorable! The beach is NOT safe to swim in nor would I personally play with my kids even at the edge of the beach because the waves are big and dangerous.

Lastly, our group of 12 are very seasoned travels and none of us could think of another hotel around the world that offered the services, accomodations, location and just the extra that Capella offers. We can't wait to try one of the other Capella locations! Definitely worth the extra $$$ to stay here!

Room Tip: High floor, ocean view provides more sun in the afternoon to just hang out on your own patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buckybadger_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,481
    109
    37
    12
    17
See reviews for
248
1,082
20
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

My boyfiend and I spent 4 nights at Capella's Cabo resort and this place is INCREDIBLE!

The food is amazing, staff exceptional, posh room with private plunge pool on the balcony (upgrade to Ocean View), outstanding spa and well designed and appointed grounds/buildings. If you like design, this place is a work of art. No detail was missed.

We ate one night at the cliffside restaurant, El Farrallon. You must reserve in advance and bring a sweater since it gets cool at night. They take you to the chef where you choose from fresh caught fish or steak. The chocolate clams are the best we've ever had!

Walk to the marina and take a water taxi to the famous El Arco. It costs $7/pp for a 45 minute (private) boat ride.

If you fancy Cuban cigars, head to JJ Habanos for the best selection in town. Forget the others as my boyfriend ended up with a bad counterfit $38 cigar.

Capella Pedregal is heaven. We loved it.

Room Tip: Check out the web specials - we got the 4th nght free!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathrynG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Capella thought of everything - from the pick-up at the airport to the pre-ordered margaritas upon arrival. Every person was warm and cordial and English is not a problem for any of them. And even a little bit of Spanish goes a long way. People remembered your name and even your favorite food and drink.

Room was fantastic - complete with private infinity pool. Could sit in there and watch whales swim by the dozens. It was fun to watch all the people on whale-watching boats scurry from one place to another trying to get close to one. We sat in the pool and could see the entire expanse of the route of the whales.

Food was very good and of high quality. The servers were very helpful in food choices and were always asking if a food allergy were a consideration.

We would return to Capella in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Get as close to the water as you can. Leave sliding doors open and listen to the sound of the sea a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWB90212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brie2222
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

My husband and I have been to Capella twice now. We absolutely love it here. The atmosphere could not be better. The place is gorgeous. Everyone that works here is super friendly and wonderful. They even remembered us from our first visit (a year and a half prior). Our basic agenda including relaxing. This place is perfect for this. There are always plenty of loungers, sun and the best margaritas. The breakfast in the morning is amazing. Fresh eggs to your liking, fresh cheeses, tamales and any kind of fresh squeezed juice you can imagine. We took a cooking class with Chef Alex and we learned how to make tamales. We had such a good time and they were delicious. Chef Alex is awesome! We really appreciate how hard everyone works at Capella. Anything they can do to make your experience better, they do. My husbands favorite food here are the the churros that you can order from room service. Worth the calories! Also, whale watching from our infinity pool off of our balcony was a highlight. We love Capella!

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor, amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brie2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We always checked on Tripadvisor before booking any hotel and truly value the input of other reviewers. We just returned from cabo san lucas with family of four for 8 nights/9 days. We stayed 3 nights in Hilton Los Gabos Beach & Golf Resort, 3 nights in Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar, and 2 nights in Capella Pedregal based on TA’s recommendation and would like to share some of our thoughts.

We paid $311/night for Hilton, $278/night for Welk, $750/night for Capella. Based on our experience with these hotels, we would like to rank them as:
#1: Hilton
#2: Welk
#3: Capella

You can go to each hotel and see our reviews of them. But this is what we thought about Capella Pedregal.

We are world travelers and have been to so many places in the world. When we first arrived, we were greeted by our PA ( personal assistance) and margarita drinks. When our PA gave us a quick tour of the resort, we were “WOW” by the beautiful private beach, spectacular infinity pool and the nice looking of the resort. After our PA took us to our room, we felt like in heaven after seeing the fireplace, free drinks in the mini-bar, free nuts, free bottle of Tequilla , espresso machine and the plunge pool. At one point, we started planning our wedding in this place!! That’s how impressed we were about this beautiful resort.

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. With our stay continues, our experience is going downhill day after day. By the time we checked out, we feel like this place only deserves 3 star of rating due to their quality of service and nickel and dime of rediculous charges. For the price you pay, the service you expect is a lot higher than what you get. Unfortunately, Capella failed poorly on that!

The good:
- A truly beautiful resort with nice heated infinity pool, plunge pool and decent food
- Room is nicely decorated, so are the common areas
- Very nice tub and shower in the bathroom with strong water pressure
- Free perks such as soda, apple juice, guacamole and free Corona delivered to the room daily
- Hotel staffs are willing to compromise the guests’ requests and PA is always politely telling you “yes” on everything ( whether or not they can deliver is a different story)

The BAD:
- Maid service sucks in this place. We left our room at 8am in the morning and went zip line. When we returned at 1pm in the afternoon, the room was still not made. We couldn’t take a shower because there was no clean towel around. We could have called the front desk to deliver more towels to our room but it usually takes them a long time to deliver anything and we need to leave at 2pm to another activity in the afternoon. So we decided not to take a shower before our next activity starts. When we left at 2:30pm, the maid still hasn’t come!
- We returned at 6pm that night and the room was finally cleaned. However, the tissue box has 2 pieces of tissues left and the maid didn’t replace it with new tissue. The honey bubble was not refilled and it was completely running out that evening. The big pillows on the bed were gone. We had no idea why they were removed. Our espresso containers were removed together with the room service tray so I had no espresso for the rest of the day. The maid was just NOT observant at all!
- We requested our clothes to be removed from our rental car and delivered to our room, but it never happened. Nor did we get any call informing us what going wrong. We found out that our rental car parked in the wrong spot the next day since the Valet drove the wrong car to us. Could that be the reason that our clothes were never arrived?
- We requested milk to be delivered to the room and it took 2 hours to arrive
- We requested honey bubble to be refilled and it took the maid almost 3 hours to deliver - two hours after we took the shower. When I opened the honey bubble jar, there was thick layer of greenish mold growing on the cork. It was DISGUSTING!!! And am I supposed to bubble bath myself in honey bubble with green mold? NO THANKS! I took a photo of the cork but not sure anyone is willing to see it… it was not pretty!
- We booked Baja Buggies from the hotel and the vendor charged us in their office claiming they were not paid by the hotel. Towards check out, the hotel posted $350 USD charges of this tour again. We have to dispute and showed them the receipt from “Baja Buggies” to have it removed. Miscommunication between the hotel and vendor??
- No beach towel is available after 6pm in the infinity pool so we have to request them from the staff, and tipping them of course.
- We almost had a heart attack when we checked out. We paid $1500(pretax and service fees) for two nights to this hotel. Our check out bill is $1395 additional to the room charge. So two days of stay cost us almost $3000 USD! With the free guacamole, beers and treats in the room, we thought the half gallon milk was free. They charged us $20 USD for half gallon of milk, $16USD for one egg and a glass of milk for my 3-year old. The charge for the milk alone is more than $40 for two days!!! It’s not like we can’t afford $40, hell, we paid almost two thousands for two nights of hotel room. But the mark up is just outrageous!
All in all, we were shocked by these outrageous charges during checkout.

Overall, Capella is a very nice resort but the service is way below a luxury hotel’s standard. If they want to be a luxury hotel and charge guests a high premium, they ought to provide more than adequate services and stop the nickel and dime charges. Also, please make sure when your PA says “yes, we will deliver immediately”, they really mean “immediately”! 2-3 hours of delay after a guest request is not acceptable and quite lame.

One-two star of services but we gave this resort a 3-star rating just to give them some credit about the décor and location of the resort.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Safvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapellaManagement, Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Guest -

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We have looked into every point in detail and we are disappointed to read your comments. Unfortunately we had only one chance to showcase our Housekeeping standards based on the short duration of your stay. It is standard practice for us to remove the large decorative pillows following your arrival and without a requested cleaning time we serviced the room when you were off property. After reviewing your folio, we realized that you consumed over 12 glasses of milk and were charged based on our pricing and your requests. Once again, we are sorry if this did not meet your expectation. Certainly we try to respond quickly to all requests so we will address this concern with our team. We hope to have a chance to improve your impression with future stays. We value all our guests and we apologize once again if you were disappointed.

Sincerely,

Capella Pedregal Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We had a friends rehearsal dinner here and it was awesome!! great location. Rooms looked super high end and expensive, but if you got the money, stay!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllieOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed here in January to look for possible wedding sites. This was one of the properties and one of two that was still available. The villas are spacious and clean. The refrigerator was kept stocked with drinks and every night they would bring chips and guacomole, nice little treat to come back to. They were quick to respond to our requests and very friendly. The things I didn't like was the mani/pedi at the spa, $80.00 for a pedicure alone. I thought, "they must do something spectacular to ask that much". They don't, they had to redo the polish on my hands because it was old and left bubbles. They started my pedicure in the waiting area, $80 bucks!! Really!! ridiculous. When they asked if everything was good I told them, "no, the pedicures were terrible for all three of us". They completely ignored it and charged me full price. I told them I was not going to pay that much for mine so they took $24.00 off. Get your nails done before you go, definitely not worth it. Everything else was great.

Room Tip: The rooms closest to the beach are only one and two bedrooms. Try staying on a top floor because yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FunDaysRMyKindOfDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
4.2 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#7 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
1.2 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Pedregal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Pedregal

Property: The Resort at Pedregal
Address: Camino Del Mar 1, Cabo San Lucas 23455, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resort at Pedregal 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your journey begins as you emerge from Dos mares Tunnel, carved through a solid mountain, to discover paradise. The Resort at Pedregal welcomes you with familial Mexican charm. The check-in desk, located below the azure blue sky, illustrates the endless possibilities. 96 rooms and suites, each with a private plunge pool with stunning ocean views, personal assistant service, fireplace, LCD television, iPod docking station and complimentary wireless internet, and complimentary refreshments allow you to rehydrate and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Resort at Pedregal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capella Pedregal Hotel Cabo San Lucas
The Resort At Pedregal Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing