We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Resort at Pedregal
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Five Star Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

The property was very beautiful and I loved the room - very spacious bed and bath and balcony with your own private soaking pool. It was nice that we had an "assistant" assigned to us before the trip to help us arrange outings. Typically we handle this ourselves and do not rely on the concierge; however, we were having difficulty with getting any responses made direct to tour companies. We got it together in the end, but response from the "assistant" was also spotty prior to our arrival. The property has three pools, but we spent all of our time by the pool near Don Manuel's restaurant/bar. Service was spotty out there as well - often had to flag down one of the guys to come serve us since they spent a lot of time chatting under the shade of the bar. The chipotle mango margarita is fabulous - need to find that receipe. We did not get a chance to book a spa appointment, but we did tour the spa and it looked absolutely fabulous. We did make it El Farallon for dinner. The restaurant has a beautiful/romantic view/feel and the food was good, but not fantastic and really too much to eat and quite expensive. I would have rather had more of a traditional menu then so many starters and extras with the added cost. Overall, this resort is really great - which is why I rated it "Excellent". My benchmark for ultimate luxury is the Four Seasons Maui, however, and Capella was just as expensive at the end of the day without the full level of service and luxury as my benchmark. We also spoke to a few people at the resort who also chose Capella based on TA rating and had also stayed at other places in Cabo and they felt it was overated based on their other experiences. So, I will probably try another resort, just to see, if I make it back to Cabo again. That being said, overall I thought Cabo was super expensive for Mexico (restaurants, transportation, hotel, etc.) albeit it is way nicer than the resorts in the Mexican Riviera, but not as nice as Hawaii. The location of Capella was also nice - you can walk into town. Cabo is very spread out. It is also really annoying that you can't get into the ocean at the hotel as the tide is too strong.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TouristaDeTejas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear TouristaDe Tejas,
Thank you for sharing your comments and your review of our hotel. I was pleased to see that our Personal Assistants were able to assist you with your planning and act as your intermediary with some of the local tour companies.

I have taken note of those areas where you felt we fell short, and will review your comments with our team here at the resort as we want to ensure that all of our guests have the experience that so many others have shared and want to strive to meet and exceed our the expectations of those who travel through the tunnel to our resort!

Thank you for your visit to Capella and Cabo, we hope that you will consider returning to our area once again in the future.

Best regards,

John Volponi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,446
    107
    37
    11
    17
See reviews for
240
1,064
20
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed at this beautiful property for my birthday for 5 wonderful days and night in October 2013 along with another couple and their two children. There are no words to explain how lovely this place is, it just feels magical. My birthday dinner on the beach, the bonfire and the somores roasting over the open fire. Perfect!!!! I loved everything about this resort but the most wonderful thing had to be the staff, they go above and beyond the call of duty to make your stay perfect!!! I loved waking up and stepping outside where our butler ran up and asked what he could do for me!!! Wow Thank you Capella, we'll be back!! Soon I hope.

Room Tip: We had a beachfront suite and its was very private, with beautiful décor, comfy bed, heavenly view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Nancy H
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased that you and your family chose to celebrate your birthday here at Capella Pedregal and that you enjoyed the special beach bbq that we were able to set up for you on the beach.

We look forward to welcoming you back once again in the near future. Thank you once again for sharing your wonderful comments.

Best regards,

John Volponi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We just returned from Capella Pedregal and honestly felt it was the best and most romantic resort we have ever visited. The entire resort was very beautiful and relaxing. The heated plunge pools in every room are worth it alone. We were in one of the Ocean Vista suites that are on the top floor that offer more privacy and have wonderful views of the ocean and the entire resort area. Dining at the cliffside restaurant is pricey but worth the experience and view. If you eat at the breakfast buffet in the morning you probably won't even need lunch. All food was excellent and well prepared. The staff throughout the resort were all incredibly helpful and friendly.

Even though you cannot swim at the beach at this resort you can easily take a taxi to the beaches on the Sea of Cortez side. We went to Chileno Beach and, with just a little hike over a few small hills to the right side of the park, found a beach that was completely empty. The snorkeling was also better over there since it was shallower.

We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 343 which was a top floor Vista suite which was very private. It was right over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sejacami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear sejacami

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts and comments on your recent visit to Capella Pedregal. We were delighted to see how much you enjoyed your visit, especially the wonderfully private Ocean Vista rooms on the top floor.

We thank you for your visit, and look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back during your next trip to Cabo.

Best regards,

John Volponi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

My girlfriend and I decided to dine at Capella Pedrgal for our anniversary while in Cabo and boy was it worth the trip! The view, the food, the service, it was all just perfect. I couldn't have asked for a better evening.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Justin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Justin T
Thank you for your kinds words after your visit to our restaurant here at Capella Pedregal. We were so pleased to see that you enjoyed the view, ambiance, and cuisine at our cliffside restaurant, El Farallon. We look forward to welcoming you back once again for another perfect evening in the future.

Best regards,
John Volponi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxborough, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We just returned from our honeymoon and we both miss Capella already. This has to be the best vacation we ever had. The Honeymoon package was well worth it. The staff at Capella is wonderful and they pay attention to every detail. We can't wait to return for our 1st anniversary

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Steve S
Thank you for choosing to spend your honeymoon with us at Capella Pedregal. I am so pleased to learn that we helped to create such a memorable experience for both of you.

Congratulations once again from all of us at Capella Pedregal. We look forward to welcoming you back for your first anniversary!

Best wishes,

John Volponi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We just returned from our third trip this year to Capella Pedregal - and just like the previous trips we were struck by the exceptional service by their entire staff. From the moment you arrive, you realize you have found a peaceful retreat on the Baja Peninsula. We love the private soaking pool on the patio of our room and the homemade guacamole and chips (and cold Coronas!) that magically arrive each day at 4:00. The breakfast buffet is worthy of a magazine spread and the spa is the best we've ever seen. This trip we were treated to a private dinner on the beach - complete with a beautifully set table under a nearly full moon. Capella is well worth a special trip to Cabo.

Room Tip: Try to book a room overlooking the ocean, closest to the rocks (Rooms 121-129)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peggyoneill888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Peggyoneill888
Thank you for once again choosing Capella Pedregal for your vacation in Cabo. We are so pleased that once again we were able to create a positive impression. Thank you for your wonderful and kind comments about the staff. They truly enjoy what they are doing and positive comments such as yours are a real motivation for all of us.

Thank you for your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back for your 4th visit in the near future!

Best regards,

John Volponi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansville, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We planned a special trip for our anniversary and trusted the reviews on Tripadvisor when picking a resort. We were completely delighted from start to finish with everything about the hotel and its staff. The hotel room was beautiful beyond imagining, the staff friendly and accommodating and welcoming without being intrusive. I mentioned our anniversary twice and each time, champagne or a special dessert arrived. Every detail was taken care of, from the welcome margaritas to the cold bottled water and cookies upon departure. We enjoyed it so much we found no reason to leave, and spent every day by the pool being waited on hand and foot by the excellent staff- especially Joaquin. The food was divine, and the spa heavenly. We spent our last morning by the pool plotting our next visit. Worth every penny.

Room Tip: The rooms in the building toward El Farallon- building one- are quiet and the view is gorgeous. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanHines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Susan Hines,
Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review. We were all so pleased to see that you enjoyed the resort and enjoyed so many of the extra touches and surprises that we love to provide. I have taken special note of your comments regarding Joaquin, and have passed along your compliments to him. Thank you for taking the time to recognize his special efforts.

I was pleased to see that you were already plotting your next visit! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

John Volponi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
4.3 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#7 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
1.2 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Pedregal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Pedregal

Property: The Resort at Pedregal
Address: Camino Del Mar 1, Cabo San Lucas 23455, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resort at Pedregal 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your journey begins as you emerge from Dos mares Tunnel, carved through a solid mountain, to discover paradise. The Resort at Pedregal welcomes you with familial Mexican charm. The check-in desk, located below the azure blue sky, illustrates the endless possibilities. 96 rooms and suites, each with a private plunge pool with stunning ocean views, personal assistant service, fireplace, LCD television, iPod docking station and complimentary wireless internet, and complimentary refreshments allow you to rehydrate and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Resort at Pedregal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capella Pedregal Hotel Cabo San Lucas
The Resort At Pedregal Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing