We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd stay. Romance has worn off. But still pretty good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Resort at Pedregal
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“3rd stay. Romance has worn off. But still pretty good”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Ok. 3rd stay. I agree with previous observation. Don Manuel's is lacking and has on every visit. Wrong orders. Waits. We actually ordered orange juice from 5 different waiters and never received once. I don't know if they didn't understand or simply forgot. But the restaurant is like McDonald's drive thru. There is always two or three things missing in the order. Enough on that tho. The hotel is great if you do not want close golf and like to stay close to town. I disagree that this hotel is better than One and Only. Just different is all and depending on what you want out of your vacation you would be ok with both. The restaurant on the coast at the resort is frankly not that good and we have tried three times. View is a ten. Food is a five

If I were never or rarely leaving the hotel I would stay at the one and only. If I was hanging in town a lot definitely this hotel but I would not eat here except maybe breakfast and poolside menu.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ctrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,503
    110
    38
    11
    17
See reviews for
254
1,095
21
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cream Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Words cannot describe how amazing this resort is. I have stayed in many 5 star resorts and the Capella by far is #1. From the beauty of the resort to the wonderful staff this truly was the best stay ever. I cannot mention anyone of the staff in particular since everyone was so gracious and helpful to us. I have never felt so welcomed at any resort. I was very blessed to celebrate my wedding at the Capella. The staff was wonderful and made my day so very special. The food and service was excellent! The room was beautiful with a spectacular view and the infinity pool was incredible. The location of the resort is great. Only a 5 minute walk into the town and marina. A big plus since taxis are very pricy. When you enter the property through a lantern tunnel you will know paradise lies ahead! you will not be disappointed. We will be back each year!

Room Tip: Higher level has better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

The rooms rock, the pools devine, location & view spectacular.

The 2 bed villa makes for a great base for family - loads of space, private pool is great, and from ours great access to the other pools. Full kitchen was a bonus.

House keeping at best average, service generally good but not outstanding.

But in summary, the rooms & location make this a better choice than the zone & only just down the coast

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodykensalrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Jodykensalrise,
Thank you for posting your review and sharing your thoughts about the hotel and its location close to the town of Cabo. I was so pleased to learn that you and your family enjoyed one of our large special suites with private plunge pool.

I have noted your comments on housekeeping service. If you have some specific issues, I would very much appreciate hearing from you so that we can address these needs and ensure that the level of service meets and exceeds your expectations.

Thank you once again for your visit and for sharing your positive comments.

Best regards,

John Volponi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Perfect long weekend in these beautiful resort! All the staff were very nice and friendly. Special thanks to Vanessa, Edith and Nico from the Spa, and Diana front desk. The weather was perfect. We even saw few wales jumping at the ocean! Sunrise and sunset are amazing. There are 2 restaurants, which offer great food. We didnt need to go anywhere else in Cabo. I didnt like downtown area (5 min walking from the hotel), so we just enjoyed spending the day at the resort. We had a private plunge pool in your balcony. This hotel is just perfect for a nice and quiet vacation! Hope to go back again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fons2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear fons2501
Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments with our Trip Advisor community. I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed our spa, location of the resort and even had the caught the site of the whales that have just started migrating by the hotel and will continue to do so for the next few months!

Thank you for choosing Capella Pedregal for your vacation. We look forward to welcoming you back once again in the future.

Best regards,

John Volponi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The property was very beautiful and I loved the room - very spacious bed and bath and balcony with your own private soaking pool. It was nice that we had an "assistant" assigned to us before the trip to help us arrange outings. Typically we handle this ourselves and do not rely on the concierge; however, we were having difficulty with getting any responses made direct to tour companies. We got it together in the end, but response from the "assistant" was also spotty prior to our arrival. The property has three pools, but we spent all of our time by the pool near Don Manuel's restaurant/bar. Service was spotty out there as well - often had to flag down one of the guys to come serve us since they spent a lot of time chatting under the shade of the bar. The chipotle mango margarita is fabulous - need to find that receipe. We did not get a chance to book a spa appointment, but we did tour the spa and it looked absolutely fabulous. We did make it El Farallon for dinner. The restaurant has a beautiful/romantic view/feel and the food was good, but not fantastic and really too much to eat and quite expensive. I would have rather had more of a traditional menu then so many starters and extras with the added cost. Overall, this resort is really great - which is why I rated it "Excellent". My benchmark for ultimate luxury is the Four Seasons Maui, however, and Capella was just as expensive at the end of the day without the full level of service and luxury as my benchmark. We also spoke to a few people at the resort who also chose Capella based on TA rating and had also stayed at other places in Cabo and they felt it was overated based on their other experiences. So, I will probably try another resort, just to see, if I make it back to Cabo again. That being said, overall I thought Cabo was super expensive for Mexico (restaurants, transportation, hotel, etc.) albeit it is way nicer than the resorts in the Mexican Riviera, but not as nice as Hawaii. The location of Capella was also nice - you can walk into town. Cabo is very spread out. It is also really annoying that you can't get into the ocean at the hotel as the tide is too strong.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TouristaDeTejas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear TouristaDe Tejas,
Thank you for sharing your comments and your review of our hotel. I was pleased to see that our Personal Assistants were able to assist you with your planning and act as your intermediary with some of the local tour companies.

I have taken note of those areas where you felt we fell short, and will review your comments with our team here at the resort as we want to ensure that all of our guests have the experience that so many others have shared and want to strive to meet and exceed our the expectations of those who travel through the tunnel to our resort!

Thank you for your visit to Capella and Cabo, we hope that you will consider returning to our area once again in the future.

Best regards,

John Volponi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed at this beautiful property for my birthday for 5 wonderful days and night in October 2013 along with another couple and their two children. There are no words to explain how lovely this place is, it just feels magical. My birthday dinner on the beach, the bonfire and the somores roasting over the open fire. Perfect!!!! I loved everything about this resort but the most wonderful thing had to be the staff, they go above and beyond the call of duty to make your stay perfect!!! I loved waking up and stepping outside where our butler ran up and asked what he could do for me!!! Wow Thank you Capella, we'll be back!! Soon I hope.

Room Tip: We had a beachfront suite and its was very private, with beautiful décor, comfy bed, heavenly view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Nancy H
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased that you and your family chose to celebrate your birthday here at Capella Pedregal and that you enjoyed the special beach bbq that we were able to set up for you on the beach.

We look forward to welcoming you back once again in the near future. Thank you once again for sharing your wonderful comments.

Best regards,

John Volponi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We just returned from Capella Pedregal and honestly felt it was the best and most romantic resort we have ever visited. The entire resort was very beautiful and relaxing. The heated plunge pools in every room are worth it alone. We were in one of the Ocean Vista suites that are on the top floor that offer more privacy and have wonderful views of the ocean and the entire resort area. Dining at the cliffside restaurant is pricey but worth the experience and view. If you eat at the breakfast buffet in the morning you probably won't even need lunch. All food was excellent and well prepared. The staff throughout the resort were all incredibly helpful and friendly.

Even though you cannot swim at the beach at this resort you can easily take a taxi to the beaches on the Sea of Cortez side. We went to Chileno Beach and, with just a little hike over a few small hills to the right side of the park, found a beach that was completely empty. The snorkeling was also better over there since it was shallower.

We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 343 which was a top floor Vista suite which was very private. It was right over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sejacami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear sejacami

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts and comments on your recent visit to Capella Pedregal. We were delighted to see how much you enjoyed your visit, especially the wonderfully private Ocean Vista rooms on the top floor.

We thank you for your visit, and look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back during your next trip to Cabo.

Best regards,

John Volponi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
4.2 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,158 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#7 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
781 reviews
1.2 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,539 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Pedregal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Pedregal

Property: The Resort at Pedregal
Address: Camino Del Mar 1, Cabo San Lucas 23455, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resort at Pedregal 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your journey begins as you emerge from Dos mares Tunnel, carved through a solid mountain, to discover paradise. The Resort at Pedregal welcomes you with familial Mexican charm. The check-in desk, located below the azure blue sky, illustrates the endless possibilities. 96 rooms and suites, each with a private plunge pool with stunning ocean views, personal assistant service, fireplace, LCD television, iPod docking station and complimentary wireless internet, and complimentary refreshments allow you to rehydrate and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Resort at Pedregal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capella Pedregal Hotel Cabo San Lucas
The Resort At Pedregal Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing