We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Weekend Too Short!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Resort at Pedregal
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Hinsdale, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Long Weekend Too Short!!!”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Recently stayed with my wife and two of our three kids at this beautiful place. My first trip to Cabo ( Wife's 2nd) and this place won me over. We have frequented the Four Season's Punta Mita and found Capella Pedregal equally terrific, if not better due to smaller hotel.
The food, service, room ( Three Bedroom ) and setting were all terrific.
We are looking forward to going back for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmc007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear jmc007
Thank you for your wonderful review and comments. We are all so pleased to learn that you and your family enjoyed your visit to Capella Pedregal.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back once again in the future.

Best regards,

John Volponi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,543
    111
    39
    11
    17
See reviews for
264
1,118
22
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This is a very special hotel which is outstanding in all respects but especially because every single member of staff really seem not to be able to do enough to make your stay enjoyable. The facilities are exceptional even to the point where binoculars are provided in your room to better see the whales going past.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Mark P
Thank you for your visit to Capella Pedregal. We are all so pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit and some of our special touches, such as the binoculars that we place in our rooms. Thank you as well for your very kind comments about the staff. It was a real pleasure to be able to share your compliments with all of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back once again on a future trip to Cabo.

Best regards,

John Volponi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Capella Pedregal is one of the most beautiful Hotels we have ever stayed at!! Yes, it's pricey, but you get what you pay for!! The wonderful service starts from the moment you walk through the airport and meet your driver. Everything from the greeting, to the check-in, rooms, dining, pools, concierge, etc is top service!! Everyone was so pleasant to interact with. We did not want to leave.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicole d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Nicole D
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and your review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and the staff, and particularly thank you for pointing out that you felt that you received value for the money spent.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back once again during a future Cabo getaway.

Best regards,

John Volponi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is a stunning resort from top to bottom. I can't say enough about the service - from the concierge to the maintenance crew, this is clearly a well-trained staff that is well versed in customer service.

The room was larger than expected and had magnificent views of the Pacific while be very quiet and private. It is very difficult to describe the experience of sitting in your plunge pool and watching humpback whales surface in the ocean.

Breakfast is delicious and plentiful. We generally had pool snacks (the tuna dish with mango is amazing) for lunch and ate at El Farallon for dinner every night. Hard to say enough good things about El Farallon. Would suggest eating there every night or at least on most nights of your stay. Unbelievable fresh seafood choices, great staff and delicious accompaniments.

The spa deserves its own mention. This is truly a world class spa that I would recommend to anyone, whether or not you typically use the spa at a resort.

The resort is a bit isolated, which we enjoyed. But if you want to go to the main drag of Cabo, it is a cab ride or a quick shuttle. Or a pretty lengthy walk. We enjoyed the peacefulness and exclusiveness of the resort, but just FYI on location.

The food and drink is pricey. While delicious, you can certainly do better on prices if you head into town. But it's really hard to leave the resort!

The weather was perfect in mid January, and the whale watching was superb. Great time of year to go.

All in all, one of the best resort experience you will ever have. We can't wait to return to Capella Pedregal.

Room Tip: Rooms on a higher level afford better views of the ocean and whale watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ageveret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Ageveret,

Thank you for your wonderful review and sharing your comments and insights with our Trip Advisor readers. I was so pleased to see that you enjoyed El Farallon every night of your visit and was happy to share your wonderful comments with the El Farallon team.

Thank you as well for your comments about the spa. I am glad that you enjoyed this special experience of the Auriga Spa.

Thank you for your visit to Capella Pedregal. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next journey to Cabo.

Best regards,

John Volponi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

From the moment we entered Capella Pedregal for a last minute getaway, we knew we would not want to leave. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a spacious suite thanks to our gracious hostess. The accommodations were first class complete with an outdoor pool on our balcony. The views were stunning. Each evening we would return to the room to discover wonderful appetizers and pre-dinner beverages (even cocktails). Dinner from the restaurant tucked in the cliffs is not to be missed! Be sure to have your hostess make reservations early so you can take in the sunset. The staff is extremely attentive - especially if you are poolside. Try the ceviche! Overall a memorable vacation thanks to the stellar staff and exquisite property.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendydomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Wendy Domin

Thank you for taking the time to post your stellar review. We very much appreciate your kind comments and sharing with our readers your special thoughts on the El Farallon Restaurant, and especially the pool side service and menu.

Thank you for your visit to Capella Pedregal. We look forward to welcoming you back once again in the very near future.

Best regards,

John Volponi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The best way to review a experience like Capella, is your impression when you arrive and depart. For Capella, the experience is truly amazing.

When you first arrive at the resort gate, you are asked what kind of welcome margarita you want. And that service and warmth continues until you depart at the airport, where you are personally guided through check-in, security and then to the VIP room to await your flight.

Our small group stayed at the Presidential Suite for the weekend, and it was incredible. While I have stayed at Capella Cabo in a plunge pool suite, we were even more amazed at the palatial Presidential Suite and service.

Patrick (our concierge) was very thorough in our pre-trip planning and our stay. Our butler in the suite, Ricardo, was prompt, courteous, and attentive to our every need.

The Presidential Suite is the first beachfront villa next to the pool. While there is a privacy wall between the pool area and the villa, anybody walking by the beach has full view access to the plunge pool area. The beach access from the pool area is fairly close to the villa, so expect people to gaze with awe if you're chilling outside the suite. Even with the proximity to the resort pool, the suite is quiet (except for some lounge-chair noise at 5:30-6:30am when they're doing set-up in the morning).

The suite is amazing. It has a large plunge pool - which is temperature controlled and can be almost as hot as a jacuzzi. There is a roped off beach area in front, with lounge chairs, a dining table and bluetooth sound system that you can use for your iPhone playlists. There is a outdoor dining table between the plunge pool and living room in the center, and a separate gas fire pit in front of the ground floor master suite, which is great for relaxing and just listening to the waves. On the one side of the plunge pool is a large couch (Bali bed) and ottomans). On either side of the outdoor plunge pool area are tall privacy walls with agave plants. The decorations inside and out are impeccable and in true Spanish decor.

Inside there is a large living room with dining table, small bar (bottle service is additional fee) and guest half-bathroom. There is a pantry/kitchen with large refrigerator, coffee machine, sink, etc. and separate service access. The living room has very comfortable furniture and large screen TV.

On the main floor to the side is the master bedroom, with gas fireplace, large screen TV, huge bathroom with walk in shower (rain shower head), a stand-alone claw soaking tub, two sink vanity and separate room with toilet.

On the second floor is a almost duplicate second master bedroom, with outdoor balcony with sun lounge chairs. There is a twin double bed bedroom with bathroom as the third bedroom.

The suite comes with a butler, who can arrange your meals and any request you have. Outside there is bar service from the pool staff, who will walk by regularly.

If you want privacy, you need to tell the staff. If you want privacy from the beach walkers, and the pool, then I suggest a one or two bedroom beach front villa further down.

Once nice thing about the proximity of the villa to the resort center, is that you're only a few steps away from the main resort pool, breakfast, bar and lunch areas.

Sunrises in Cabo are spectacular. There is no sunset, since the big cliffs will hide the setting Sun.

We at many meals at our villa, since it was so beautiful. The exception was eating breakfast, where juices and omelets are made to order.

The highlight of the trip were the beach bonfire and dining at El Farallon, cliffside.

Beach Bonfire: the first night we were there, we opted for a beach bonfire, with room-service dinner and s'mores. They spend hours preparing the beach for the bonfire, and will carry out your outdoor furniture so that you are completely in your comfort zone. When we ordered some tapas and other food entrees, they set up a table next to the s'mores station for us to eat. It was romantic, and fun !

El Farallon: In my opinion, this is one of the best, and most romantic restaurants in the World. Not only does it have a great view (cliffside) of the resort and ocean, but waves are crashing below. The walks are illuminated by lanterns and the entire feeling is overwhelming. They offer you a menu of fresh seafood and steaks, which are on a bed of ice. You choose from the menu, and it is grilled to order. The aroma from the grill is incredible. If you get chilly, they have heat lamps and offer you a Mexican woven blanket table side. The only downside to the dining experience (and I was the only one who noticed) as the loud violin musicians, which we were sitting right in front of (the speakers were loud). I recommend you sit as far away from the musicians as possible - if you want to converse with your dining partners. Both the seafood and steaks were the best I've ever had.

Taxes: My only complaint of the resort are the huge taxes. None of which are included in the base rate when you first book. First there is the 19 percent resort tax, then there is the 15 percent gratuity. You will get sticker shock when you realize that on top of your entire bill, there will be over 1/3 of the bill going to added fees. I suggest at a minimum that include the 15 percent gratuity in the base rate, so that you are not surprised in the end. A better way to present this would be to separate out all the fees, but have one grand total when showing the room rates, instead of a added fee on top of what you're already paying. In other areas, the resort tax (local/federal) is much less, so for value, I recommend looking at that closely when you book. Of course, this is the same in most resort in the area - so at least that's a level playing field.

Overall, the resort is very romantic and I would suggest mainly for couples. There is a timesharing part of the resort on the other side, and there were a few kids. But if you want to impress your date, this is the place to go. The entire resort has some of the best staff in the world, and you'll be relaxed the entire time you're there.

I recommend using the resort offered transportation (extra charge but worth it), since you are warmly greeted with cool towels and refreshments. Upon departure, you are personally guided through flight check-in, security and finally to the VIP room. You are even offered a free 10 minute massage at the VIP room. All first class.

This resort ranks at the top of all the resorts I have been - both in service, accommodation, food/beverage and overall satisfaction. You'll leave completely rested, relaxed, and wanting to come back as soon as possible.

Congratulations Capella - you have made a fantastic experience !

Room Tip: Choose a suite/villa far from the pool area. I recommend beachfront for best view and experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pepe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Cruising Review,

Thank you for your wonderful and very detailed review of your visit to Capella Pedregal. I was so pleased to see that you and your friends enjoyed your visit and all the amenities of our beachfront Presidential Suite. Thank you for providing our readers with such a detailed description of the suite and its amenities.

I am so glad that you enjoyed the service of Ricardo, the butler for our Beach Front Suite. We have just recently added this butler service to our large two and three bedroom beach front suites to provide you and your guests with just a bit more pampering!

Please accept my apologies for the noise with the pool chairs in the morning. I have shared this with our pool team so that they can take greater care in the morning so as not to disturb our guests. I am sorry if the tax rate was a surprise we do make a point of noting this in our reservation confirmations. As of the first of the year, Cabo had to increase its tax rate to be in line with the rest of the country. The service charge is a fairly standard practice at most resorts and is shared throughout the resort with the entire staff.

Once again, thank you for your visit to Capella Pedregal and for your high praise of your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back once again for another Cabo getaway!

Best regards,

John Volponi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This place is like a dream. It is an absolutely beautiful resort. They have spared no expense in making every inch aesthetically pleasing. Everywhere you look you see architecture and natural beauty.

The staff are extremely friendly and accommodating. Nothing is to much. Just ask and they will deliver. We asked for a newer TV which we could plug into our computer to watch movies - within 2 hours it was delivered and installed. We asked them to cover the side of the balcony for privacy and within less than 24 hours we had a beautify curtain giving us total privacy.

The food is truly spectacular. Delicious and gourmet Mexican inspired food presented in artistic format on picturesque restaurant settings.

The spa was beautify and heavenly. So relaxing and luxurious. And the treatments were of a high standard.

We stayed in the basic room and it was far from basic. It was gorgeous, warm, luxurious and inviting.

The location is also perfect. A quiet pristine beach location just a 10 minute walk into the hustle and bustle of town.

This is a very expensive resort, but well worth it for a special occasion or as an indulgent treat.

I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentFlyerAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Frequent Flyer AU

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. I am sol pleased to learn that you had a wonderful experience and that we were able to assist with the special requests for television and some additional curtains for privacy. It would our pleasure to be able to provide these for you.

We very much appreciate your choosing Capella Pedregal for your Cabo getaway, and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back on many future occasions.

Best regards,

John Volponi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
4.2 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,189 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#7 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
847 reviews
1.1 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,572 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
15.6 mi away
One & Only Palmilla
One & Only Palmilla
#3 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Pedregal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Pedregal

Property: The Resort at Pedregal
Address: Camino Del Mar 1, Cabo San Lucas 23455, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resort at Pedregal 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your journey begins as you emerge from Dos mares Tunnel, carved through a solid mountain, to discover paradise. The Resort at Pedregal welcomes you with familial Mexican charm. The check-in desk, located below the azure blue sky, illustrates the endless possibilities. 96 rooms and suites, each with a private plunge pool with stunning ocean views, personal assistant service, fireplace, LCD television, iPod docking station and complimentary wireless internet, and complimentary refreshments allow you to rehydrate and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Resort at Pedregal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capella Pedregal Hotel Cabo San Lucas
The Resort At Pedregal Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing