We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous rooms, views and an easy walk to downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Resort at Pedregal
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa, California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Gorgeous rooms, views and an easy walk to downtown”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Capella Pedregal is the total package...beautiful, spacious, well-decorated rooms, fantastic, ocean-views everywhere and yummy food. The resort has blasted a tunnel through from the Marina area to their front lobby. If you're brave (and I guess we were) you can walk through while dodging some light traffic to get to the marina (recommended for people watching, eating, shopping and drinking).
There's no beach, so leave your snorkel at home. Each room has a private plunge pool that makes up for that, though, and the pools in the resort are tranquil and inviting.
My husband and I went here without kids but there's a "family-friendly" area that we peeked at and loved. Note to travelers...there are no bad rooms but that comes at a price. This is NOT a cheap Mexican vaycay.
Housekeeping will bring a bucket of mini cerveza, guacamole and chips gratis each afternoon. Enjoy it on your balcony while watching for whales. Don't skip the pricey but amazing El Farallon. Perched oceanside, with the fresh fish catch of the day being weighed in front of you, there's nothing better.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindyjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,555
    112
    39
    11
    17
See reviews for
268
1,123
23
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We just stayed at Capella and we had a wonderful time. Yes, the place is pricy, but it is well worth it. I thought they might nickel and dime us on everything when we arrived but the opposite is true. We got free drinks, free afternoon snacks in our room, free water by the pool, a free foot rub, free wi-fi... the list goes on. Their attentiveness is undeniable. These people are just waiting to do something for you, and there are so many of them. Im sure they out number the guests. The atmosphere is quiet (even by the family pool area) and classy. It is not a place for the rowdy, young partier. The food was very good in all of the restaurants. I read reviews of El Farrallon before going and feared the bill but chose to eat there on our first night anyway. Our bill was $250 for four people, granted we didnt drink alcohol or have dessert but we had PLENTY of food. Come and enjoy!!! We will be back!!!

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lynn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southlake, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We just returned yesterday from our vacation at Capella, there to celebrate our 20th anniversary. This was our 3rd time to Cabo, first to stay at Capella. I echo what other reviewers have said about the property...it is simply fantastic and the service begins well before you set foot in the hotel when one of Capella's "Personal Assistants" contacts you weeks before arrival. Patrick was a superb personal assistant, and was helpful to us before and during our trip.

The hotel itself is beautiful and luxurious...not in a "Vegas" way, but in a truly over the top understated sort of way. It is meticulously maintained and it is obvious that excellent service is part of the hotel's culture at every level. The rooms are very well decorated and tasteful, and the beds were quite comfortable. You can use the plunge pools in each room at a pool or hot tub temp - just ask the front desk to adjust for you. The room amenities are top notch and the mini fridge is stocked with complimentary beverages. The staff went above and beyond in making our room look extra special our first night there - when we returned from dinner our room was decked out in rose petals and multiple candles - fantastic!

Our room came with complimentary breakfast each morning. This was definitely a perk as the breakfasts were top notch - both the menu and buffet (not your typical buffet - think made to order fresh juices, exotic fruits, house made granola & yogurt, and a variety of made to order hot specialties, etc). We also enjoyed the pool bar for lunch most days and that menu had a variety of very nice options. Food and drinks were top notch. A favorite drink at the pool was the cucumber jalapeno margarita. Lounge chairs & umbrellas were plentiful at the pool (we used the adult pool), and as expected, service was very attentive. Special touches included samples of different food/drink specialties offered throughout the day and complimentary iced down bottled water.

The spa is expensive, but worth the cost. Definitely arrive 45 minutes to an hour prior to your appointment to take advantage of the grotto area which includes a sauna, steam, ice room and whirpool, followed by your complimentary foot scrub. This doesn't sound like much but these treatments prior to your service are well worth your time.

Also, cabs and golf carts are readily available to take you to through the tunnel (golf cart) or into town. Most days we took the golf cart through to the tunnel and walked the short distance into town for dinner, etc. At the return, the golf cart took us from the gate back through the tunnel to the lobby area.

All in all, this was the perfect resort for our special occasion and we plan on returning for vacation to Capella soon.

Room Tip: Our room was in the "Vistamar" building on the 3rd floor, which is nicely central to the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank texasgal4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

If you go, you have to try the risotto. I am not a risotto fan but believe me when I say Capella's risotto is great. The chef is a master of creating meals with interesting ingredients, varying textures and great flavor. Not inexpensive but worth a trip. Going thorough the flame lit tunnel to reach the restaurant is just the being of your great evening.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We had been looking forward to this trip for some time....I have been to Cancun three times, at different resorts but always wanted to visit Cabo. It is defnitely private and the service is second to none, Marilyn was amazing, but I think we were very low maintenance guests.

The resort is stunning, and looks just like the website photos. The rooms are as described, although it would appear you can't sunbath on your terrace due to the thatched type roof (I have stayed in Cancun with open terraces, so was looking forward to this again being rooftop).

The spa is great, but you should spend a quality amount of time here, before and after your treatment, it was on the high side $900 USD for two massages (60min) and two facials (60 mins), but that is about right for high end resorts such as this. We arrived not long before, and left soon after - but would recommend a few hours either side, there are amazing facilities here.

El Farallón is a must for dinner, and is very good value for money at the resort. It is a beautiful view, second to none - one the of the most special nights we have had. We went into town a few times for dinner, and would recommend Los Tres Gallos, if you want real authentic and great food. Ediths if you want something a little more touristy....but fantastic.

Please note it does get a little windy here at times, but that seems fine with the heat from the sun, we had some stunning weather on our trip.

We chose a rooftop room - which had a description 'perfect for sun worship and stargazing' - the view was amazing but there is a thatched roof over the terrace, so you can't get a tan....so be aware if you are booking this. The point of us choosing a rooftop room was to sunbath by our room, so this was the only major disappointment.

We did query this once with the personal assistant line (not Marilyn as she was not available) - but they never came back to us, we loved the view, so we decided to not follow up on this.

Next time we'd like to try Pamilla One and Only, not because this was not perfect, it was - it's just someone who was staying at the resort recommended Pamilla as they have stayed at both, as it's a little less windy, and closer to Cabo airport.

Room Tip: We chose a rooftop room - which had a description 'perfect for sun worship and stargazing'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank euro79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwest
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We have had the privilege of staying at many nice resorts over the years. This resort is hands-down my favorite. In my opinion it surpasses The One and Only. The rooms are beautifully appointed and thoughtfully designed. The decks are spectacular with full ocean views, comfortable furniture. All rooms have wonderful views, but if possible, get a room in one of the buildings that is set more forward. We were in building 3 and it was a perfect location.

Every wish was anticipated before I could even dream it. From pre-filled water in the coffee machine to the daily delivery of guacamole and coronas to the room. The service is perfect--efficient, friendly, but never intrusive. Anita--who showed us to our room--was so wonderful!

The food is outstanding--for every meal. There is no need to go off property--it would be hard to beat the quality of the food.

The spa experience is over-the-top. They ask that you arrive an hour before your appointment, and your REALLY want to do this so that you can enjoy the sauna, steam, and ice rooms--and also the pre-appointment foot bath.

Everything about this resort is exceptional. My absolute favorite!!

Room Tip: Choose a room in a building that is closer to the ocean vs. being set back; A room on the 3rd or 4th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alberta121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapellaManagement, Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Alberta121,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review. You have obviously spent a great deal of time traveling to a variety of nice hotels, so I very much appreciate that you have singled out our hotel for such high praise!

I was so happy to read that you enjoyed your room view, the location, the food which is creating by our fabulous Chef´s to provide a culinary unique experience for you and all the special details that we provide to all of our guests, and perhaps more importantly that you found our service perfect--efficient, friendly, but never intrusive, Thank you for your special recognition of Anita, who showed you to your room, she was pleased to be part of your experience.

I am glad you truly had experienced our Auriga Spa, every single detail is created for you to enjoy a relaxed time.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back on many more occasions here at home, in your favorite place in Cabo.

Best regards,

John Volponi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Grove, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I just returned from my second visit to Capella. The place, service, food and setting is amazing. I've had the pleasure of visiting my places and i rate this a 10! They left no stone unturned. I enjoyed the quiet time and the 5 minute walk to the marina and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapellaManagement, Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Joe C,

Thank you for being part of our Capella Pedregal Family.
We are glad we had the opportunity to assist you for your second visit.
We look forward to welcoming you back for a relaxing and quiet future time in Capella and Cabo!

Best regards,

John Volponi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
4.2 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,201 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#7 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
888 reviews
1.1 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,595 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
15.6 mi away
One & Only Palmilla
One & Only Palmilla
#3 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Pedregal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Pedregal

Property: The Resort at Pedregal
Address: Camino Del Mar 1, Cabo San Lucas 23455, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resort at Pedregal 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your journey begins as you emerge from Dos mares Tunnel, carved through a solid mountain, to discover paradise. The Resort at Pedregal welcomes you with familial Mexican charm. The check-in desk, located below the azure blue sky, illustrates the endless possibilities. 96 rooms and suites, each with a private plunge pool with stunning ocean views, personal assistant service, fireplace, LCD television, iPod docking station and complimentary wireless internet, and complimentary refreshments allow you to rehydrate and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Resort at Pedregal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capella Pedregal Hotel Cabo San Lucas
The Resort At Pedregal Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing