We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Resort at Pedregal
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This place was incredible. The view from the room was perfect. The private plunge pool was amazing. Loved the infinity pool on the beach. Everything about the resort was amazing. The people and the services were fine, but no where near the level promised. More on that...

I have since stayed at the Capella Ixtapa resort. They don't come close to Pedregal as far as location and beauty, but as far as service, they were unsurpassed.

Our driver picked us up at the airport and called in our welcome drink order...no welcome drink upon arrival. Our personal concierge had zero recommendations as far as things we should see and do while we were there. We talked to another concierge that was there one day and he handed us a couple brochures...laziness in my opinion. Our afternoon drink/chip service was nice, until I stayed at Ixtapa. They offer you different daily choices...I requested a different special margarita every day of my trip and my boyfriend had beer. This choice was not mentioned at Pedregal and we both loved having the option.

The restaurants at Pedregal were amazing and even eating breakfast at the resort every morning never got boring.

The resort does have a kids pool and we were very disappointed when they allowed a family with a screaming child and a baby in diapers to swim in the adult pool. When we complained, they offered to give us an order of nachos. I didn't want nachos, I wanted peace and quiet. Management did not take care of the problem.

Room Tip: Our room was third level right next to the El Farallon restaurant and I loved the privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sheabens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapellaManagement, Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Sheabens
Thank you for your kind comments in your review about Capella Pedregal as well as for your compliments and recommendation about our sister resort, Capella Ixtapa.

I also appreciate your suggestions that you have made for how we can continue to improve our resort. We truly value your thoughts and suggestions and continue to look for ways that we can further enhance and improve our hotel and the services offered. Your experience with the child in the adult’s pool is unacceptable, and I have taken the time to address your comments with our pool team so that they can better respond should they encounter this situation in the future.

Thank you for choosing Capella Pedregal for your vacation. I hope to be able to welcome you back during a future visit to Cabo.

Best regards,
John Volponi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,807)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

866 - 872 of 1,807 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

My wife and I returned from Capella last week we spent 5 days and this is a outstanding resort. I usually lean on Trip Advisor for places to stay. So when we looked this place up and it was ranked #1 in Cabo and all the reviews were excellent it made us want to book.

Our personal assistant Reynolds was great he made dinner reservations for us every night a few weeks prior to our visit. The hotel offers 2 nice restaurants for dinner. El Farron and Don Manuels . El Farron is outside located right over the Pacific Ocean so your dinning while looking over to the Ocean and you get to see and hear the waves. Seafood is unreal and so fresh. Don Manuels also offers lunch and breakfast. The lunch is fabulous the breakfast was about aveage.

All rooms have an ocean view. We were upgraded to a 2 Bedroom Suite when we arrived. Most rooms have a infinity pool located on the balcony which is heated. From the service to the rooms this hotel gets it right in every way, It is a little pricey but you get what you pay for. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapellaManagement, Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Wally D
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your visit to Capella Pedregal. I am so pleased that Reynolds and the rest of the team were able to make your visit so special and personal.

Thank you for your recommendations of El Farallon and Don Manuel’s Restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back on your next trip to Cabo.

Best regards,
John Volponi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This place is great without a doubt paradise. The service provided is fantastic. I would give this a higher rating then 5 but thats the limit. Would come back any day for a another wonderful vaction with the family.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapellaManagement, Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Jim A
Thank you for sharing your comments with our Trip Advisor community. All of us were so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your visit.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you and your family back sometime in the near future.

Best regards,
John Volponi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Lets just get it out of the way early why I didnt give this place 4 stars

1) 4 days of a backhoe pushing sand around the beach with 1 days notice to guests, virtually shutting down the south pool and overcrowding the north
2) the Umbrellas....its windy on the pacific....and if its too windy, the staff lowers ALL umbrellas so they dont topple over. Problem is....everyone is then exposed to the VERY potent sunshine. I tried to put my umbrella back up ( winds werent that bad) and the pool waiter told me if i do... " I am liable for any injury to any guest" Ok....didnt know the pool staff had jurisdiction over my legal remifications towards other pool guests. My suggestion GET BETTER UMBRELLAS WITH HEAVIER BASES!!
3) Wedding guests: there was a wedding the weekend we stayed here....and the wedding party AND all their non Capella staying guests, enjoyed the pool , pool bar etc and were loud for an entire day. Hey....if they want to bring their guests, they should have to spend $1000 a night to drink at the pool just like I did.

Overall, the grounds are immaculate. The staff is courteous, though you need to stay on top of the PA's as they do not verify much with you in terms of reservations.

Excellent location. Stay closer to the El Farralon restaurant side of the resort for less noise and more privacy. Top floor rooms really are the way to go.

Also, make sure you bring small $1 bills for cab fare. anywhere you go is $25 and they never have change for a 2 $20s...so you end up paying a lot more.

Great resort, impecible surroundings and weather, but is not up to Four Seaons service.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank OhioTravel26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapellaManagement, Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Ohio Travel 26
Thank you for sharing your thoughts and comments here on Trip Advisor. I do apologize that the backhoe disturbed your visit. A recent tropical storm had caused the waves to push a great deal of sand up against the beach side pools which had to be removed to avoid any intrusion of sand into the pools which would have necessitated closing the pools down entirely. We attempted to complete this work as quickly as possible and I regret that this overshadowed your experience.

I would agree with you that our staff could have relayed their concerns about the umbrellas in a different manner and have reviewed your comments with them so that can have a better response in the future. Being situated alongside the Pacific Ocean, when it is windy or stormy, we can get surprised by gusts of wind that can topple umbrellas and obviously be dangerous. This is a rare occurrence and we usually find that the bases are adequate for most situations, except of the periods of exceptionally strong wind gusts. Your safety is important to us as is the safety of our other guests, so I hope that you will forgive us for being somewhat cautious.

Thank you for your visit. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back once again during a future visit to Cabo.

Best regards,

John Volponi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and I wish it were for 40. Everything about this resort is top notch and the service is among the best anywhere. Every server answers with 'My pleasure' when you thank them and they genuinely mean it. The entire staff's attention to detail is what makes this resort so special.
The rooms are gorgeous, spotless, and well-appointed. Our room had a plunge pool and a hammock which just added to the feeling of relaxation and extravagence. While you cannot swim in the ocean, the beautiful pools more than make up for it.
The gym and spa are 5 star so pack your sneakers and book an appointment if that interests you. The best out of any resort I have ever stayed at.
I cannot say enough about this fabulous resort and hope we will be able to go back in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NJtraveler16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapellaManagement, Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear NJ Traveler 16
Thank you for your wonderful review. I very much appreciate your recognition of the staff and it was a pleasure to be able to share your comments with them.

From your description, it sounds like you were enjoying one of our beach front suites with their own hammocks and beach cabana.

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacation. We look forward to welcoming you back once again in the near future.

Best regards,
John Volponi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This past March, our family traveled to Cabo for Spring Break and were thrilled with our stay at Capella Pedregal. The hotel exceeded our expectations on many levels. From everything that we'd read about Cabo, we thought that Cabo San Lucas was more for college students on spring break and were originally booked into the more refined San Jose del Cabo La Palmilla One & Only resort. But after our horrendous experience at the One & Only resort in the Bahamas, we did not want to give them our business to them in Cabo. This was an extremely busy time for travel to Cabo and our options were limited and quite pricey. In fact, with the special ...stay 5 nights, get 1 night free... our rooms were still as expensive as the One & Only rooms we had booked and we were worried about staying in the more rowdy Cabo San Lucas town. Our drive from the airport through the town of Cabo San Lucas only reinforced our fears. BUT... once we drove through the long tunnel carved through the beachside cliff into Capella Pedregal, we knew right away that we had made the right decision. It was LOVELY. The service was amazing throughout our stay from the warm welcome to moment we left. Our rooms each had a plunge pool on our terrace, complimentary beer/wine and fresh guacamole and chips were served at 4:00 every afternoon....we never had to "fight" for lounges beside the pool and occasionally someone would even appear to pamper us with a complimentary foot massage or a complimentary sunglass wash poolside. The Auriga spa was one of the finest we've ever been too and we happily took advantage of their broad menu of treatments. When our daughter got sunburned, they generously offered a supply of fresh aloe to help her. The breakfast buffet (included in our American Express Platinum package) was huge and absolutely delicious from the full hot and cold buffet options to the freshly prepared juices. And the EL Farall restaurant was perhaps the most uniquely wonderful restaurant we've been to in ages. Perched cliffside, next to the surf, above the beach with the waves crashing into the rocks while you dined on freshly caught fish that you chose on your way into the restaurant. A magical experience! Book this restaurant before you go because it's booked almost all of the time. The only downside with this hotel was the fact that you couldn't swim in the ocean. The hotel even tells you when you check in that the beach is really just there for the view.... but we didn't mind one bit! We would go back to this hotel in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nomad579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapellaManagement, Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Nomad579,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful review with our Trip Advisor readers. We were very happy to learn that we met your expectations and were able to enjoy our Auriga Spa and our special El Farallon restaurant.

So sorry to hear about your daughter’s sun burn, but fortunately, we have plenty of aloe vera growing all around the resort!

We look forward to the pleasure of being able to welcome you and your family back to Capella Pedregal.

Regards,
John Volponi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I just got back from 6 night stay at Capella. We have traveled the world and we always say we need to find "our" place well we have it's Capella. Everything is fabulous from rooms, view, staff, pool, spa, dining everything is 5 star. We knew at the end of our stay we had to come back so the next trip is already booked for February 2015 and we are going to bring our daughter and son-in-law so they to can experience this magnificant place. Diana was our personal assistant and she could of not been nicer or more helpful, thank you! We are counting the days until our next visit. I will never stay any where else in Cabo San Lucas, Capella is #1 all the way!!!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms but Suite 131 is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapellaManagement, Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Cheryl E

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so pleased to learn that we have become “your place”! Diana and the rest of the team look forward to welcoming you back with your daughter and son-in-law next February.

Best regards,
John Volponi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
4.3 mi away
Esperanza - Auberge Resorts Collection
3.2 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#7 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,031 reviews
1.1 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#16 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
1.5 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
0.6 mi away
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
#1 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Pedregal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Pedregal

Address: Camino Del Mar 1, Cabo San Lucas 23455, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: £613 - £1,825 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resort at Pedregal 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your journey begins as you emerge from Dos mares Tunnel, carved through a solid mountain, to discover paradise. The Resort at Pedregal welcomes you with familial Mexican charm. The check-in desk, located below the azure blue sky, illustrates the endless possibilities. 96 rooms and suites, each with a private plunge pool with stunning ocean views, personal assistant service, fireplace, LCD television, iPod docking station and complimentary wireless internet, and complimentary refreshments allow you to rehydrate and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Resort at Pedregal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capella Pedregal Hotel Cabo San Lucas
The Resort At Pedregal Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing